Randy Zimmer's March 83C holds off Bill Tempero's March 85C at Milwaukee in 1987.  Copyright Randy Zimmer 2001.  Used with permission.

Can-Am Teams 'Thundercar' Championship 1987

The Can-Am Teams championship was very different to the Can-Am series of five years before, and was now heading in a new direction. The leading cars now included the ex-CART March 85Cs of Bill Tempero and Buddy Lazier, powered by six-litre engines, as well as the evergreen Frissbees of Horst Kroll and Al Lamb.

Bill Tempero won the championship but with the Can-Am name no longer available and the sports car bodywork becoming an anachronism, Tempero led the creation of the new championship in 1988, the American Indycar Series (AIS).

The Can-Am series was now finally buried but the SCCA weren't done with the name yet. A Shelby Can-Am concept would appear a couple of years later and has continued racing to the present day.

The races

03 May 1987 > Willow Springs

07 Jun 1987 > Hallett

19 Jul 1987 > Milwaukee (Wisconsin State Fair Park)

16 Aug 1987 > Sanair

06 Sep 1987 > Pueblo

01 Nov 1987 > Phoenix International Raceway

Table 'oldracingcars.watn2' doesn't exist