Australian Gold Star Race

Symmons Plains, 3 Mar 1969

1 Kevin Bartlett Mildren 'Mono' - Alfa Romeo Tipo 33 V8
#6 Alec Mildren Racing
2 Leo Geoghegan Lotus 39 [R12] - Repco V8
#1 Geoghegan Racing Division
3 Niel Allen (ANF2) 1.6-litre McLaren M4A [M4A/2] - Cosworth FVA
#2 N.E.Allen (see note 1)
4 Glyn Scott (ANF2) 1.6-litre Bowin P3 [P3-101-68] - Cosworth FVA
#20 Glyn Scott Motors
5 Henk Woelders (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600B [6806] - Ford twin cam
#18 Bill Patterson Motors
R Alfredo Costanzo (ANF2) 1.6-litre McLaren M4A [M4A/1] - Cosworth FVA
#3 Argo Racing (see note 2)
big end
R John McCormack Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] - Climax FPF 4
John McCormack (see note 3)
R Max Stewart (ANF2) 1.6-litre Mildren (Rennmax) - Waggott Ford
#8 Alec Mildren Racing
32 fuel metering
R Brendan Tapp Wren - Climax FPF 4
Brendan Tapp
28 gearbox seal
R John Harvey Brabham BT23E [1] - Repco V8
#7 Bob Jane Racing (see note 4)
28 oil pressure
R David Sternberg Lotus 32B [32-FL-8] - Climax FPF 4
David Sternberg
28 halfshaft
R Peter Waters (ANF3) 1.1-litre Elfin Junior [6312] - Ford
Peter Waters
16 overheating
R Ian Haynes (F?) Lynx - Ford
Ian Haynes
4 engine

All cars are 2.5-litre Tasman unless noted.

1 Kevin Bartlett (Tasman) 2.5-litre Mildren 'Mono' - Alfa Romeo Tipo 33 V8 54.8s
2 Leo Geoghegan (Tasman) 2.5-litre Lotus 39 [R12] - Repco V8 55.1s
3 Niel Allen (ANF2) 1.6-litre McLaren M4A [M4A/2] - Cosworth FVA 56.5s
4 John Harvey (Tasman) 2.5-litre Brabham BT23E [1] - Repco V8 57.1s
5 Max Stewart (ANF2) 1.6-litre Mildren (Rennmax) - Waggott Ford 57.8s
6 Alfredo Costanzo (ANF2) 1.6-litre McLaren M4A [M4A/1] - Cosworth FVA 57.9s
7 John McCormack (Tasman) 2.5-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] - Climax FPF 4 59.6s
8 Glyn Scott (ANF2) 1.6-litre Bowin P3 [P3-101-68] - Cosworth FVA 1m 00.1s
9 David Sternberg (Tasman) 2.5-litre Lotus 32B [32-FL-8] - Climax FPF 4 1m 00.7s
10 Brendan Tapp (Tasman) 2.5-litre Wren - Climax FPF 4 1m 03.3s
11 Peter Waters (ANF3) 1.1-litre Elfin Junior [6312] - Ford 1m 03.8s
12 Ian Haynes (F?) Lynx - Ford 1m 14.9s
13 Henk Woelders (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600B [6806] - Ford twin cam DNP

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M4A [M4A/2] (Niel Allen): Entered by John Coombes for Piers Courage in F2 in 1967. Crashed at Brands Hatch in August 1967 and believed to have been rebuilt on a new tub before its next race at Albi four weeks later, but Autosport makes no mention of a rebuild nor of it being a new car. Raced by Piers Courage in the 1968 Tasman series. Sold to Niel Allen and raced in Australian events in 1968 until Allen crashed heavily at Lakeside in July, reportedly requiring another new tub to be fabricated. Raced again by Allen in 1969, then to Pat Burke for drivers Len Goodwin 1970-71 and Warwick Brown 1971. Sold by Burke and Peter Malloy to Erol Richardson but bought back by Pat Burke around 1982. Restored by Molloy for Burke and retained until sold to John Hugenholtz. To David Coplowe (England) by 1994. Raced in the HSCC Historic Formula Racing Car Championship in 1995. Still being raced by Coplowe in 2010 but not seen since. Reported to have been sold by Coplowe around 2012 but new owner unknown.
  2. McLaren M4A [M4A/1] (Alfredo Costanzo): Entered by Bruce McLaren Motor Racing for Bruce McLaren in F2 in 1967. Sold to Jim Palmer (NZ) 1968, then to Tony Osborne's Argo Racing in Australia July 1968, driven by Peter Macrow in 1968 and then Alfredo Costanzo from 1968 to 1971. To Ken Hastings mid-1971, who swapped the FVA for a Ford twin-cam for 1972, and the to John Sheppard August 1973. Fitted with a 1300cc Toyota Corolla engine by Geoff Kennett 1974. Later Tony Armstrong (Victoria, Australia) in November 1982 and rebuilt around 1985. At Christie's Melbourne auction 1990 and sold to Art Valdez (Torrance, California).
  3. Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] (John McCormack): New for Jack Brabham to drive at the November 1962 Australian GP. Used by Brabham in the New Zealand Internationals in January 1963, winning at Levin, then sold to Dave McKay's Scuderia Veloce for the Australian International races the following month. Raced by Graham Hill for McKay in the 1964 Tasman series, winning the Longford race in March. To Len Southward's Lesco Racing Team for Kerry Grant to drive during the 1964/65 season, and for Neil Whittaker in 1965/66. Sold to John McCormack (Glenelg, South Australia) and raced on through the next three seasons. From McCormack to John Blanden (Adelaide, South Australia) in 1978 and extensively rebuilt. To Ken Messenger (Adelaide) March 1982, then to Art Valdez (Torrance, CA) in 1986.
  4. Brabham BT23E [1] (John Harvey): Built for Jack Brabham to use in the 1968 Tasman series and fitted with a 2.5-litre Repco V8. Sold to Bob Jane Racing but crashed by John Harvey in practice at Bathurst in April. Crashed again by Allan Moffat in practice at Sandown Park in September. For Harvey again in the 1969 Australian Gold Star, the 1970 Tasman series (Warwick Farm and Sandown Park only) and for the first race of the 1970 Australian Gold Star (won at Symmons Plains March 1970). Then sold to Bob 'Woody' Curran and fitted with a Ford twin cam for ANF2 racing in Tasmania from 1971 to 1977. From Curran to David Madrers in the early 1980s and started restoration before selling to Bill Marshall in 1983 who completed the restoration and used it in historic racing in Australia. Then sold via Ray Delaney (Melbourne, Australia) to Art Valdez (Torrance, CA) in late 1990.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' orginal results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen if you can add anything.