Guards F5000 Championship round

Salzburgring, 12 Jul 1970

1 Mike Hailwood Lola T190 ["A"] - Chevrolet V8
2 Howden Ganley McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8
#12 (see note 1)
3 Roy Pike Leda LT20 [3] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8
4 Ulf Norinder Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] - Chevrolet V8
#7 (see note 2)
5 Gordon Spice (F5000) 4.7-litre Kitchiner K3A [1] - Ford Shelby Cobra 289ci V8
6 Davey Powell Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet V8
#77 (see note 3)
7 David Prophet McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8
8 Kaye Griffiths Lola T142 [SL142/35] - Chevrolet Traco V8
9 Fred Saunders (F5000) 3.5-litre Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
10 Bob Miller (F5000) 4.7-litre Dulon LD8 [1] - Ford V8
11 Peter Gethin McLaren M10B [400-06] - Chevrolet V8
12 Mike Walker McLaren M10B [400-03] - Chevrolet V8
DNSC Trevor Taylor Surtees TS5A [009] - Chevrolet Bartz/Lucas V8
[Team Surtees]
Did not start (crashed)

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Mike Hailwood250.31.05.33127.06
2Howden Ganley250.31.36.47
3Roy Pike250.31.46.12
4Ulf Norinder250.31.58.28
5Davey Powell24
6Gordon Spice24
7David Prophet23
8Fred Saunders23
9Kaye Griffiths21
10Bob Miller16
11Mike Walker15Water hose
12Peter Gethin6Flat battery
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1Mike Hailwood250.30.32.62129.33
2Howden Ganley250.30.56.15
3Ulf Norinder250.31.06.75
4Roy Pike250.31.08.06
5Kaye Griffiths24
6Gordon Spice23
7Davey Powell22
8David Prophet22
9Bob Miller21
10Fred Saunders21Accident
11Peter Gethin18Battery
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M10B [400-05] (Howden Ganley): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  2. Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] (Ulf Norinder): New for Ulf Norinder and raced in the 1970 Tasman series. Then raced in the UK 1970 but crashed in practice for R4 Zandvoort 19 April 1970 and rebuilt on the 11th T190 tub as 190/F1/2-2. Raced again by Norinder for five more races then raced by Tony Lanfranchi at two races but crashed on the warm-up lap at the Oulton Park Gold Cup on 22 August. The car broke its back on landing and was not seen again. Presumed destroyed.
  3. Lola T190 [190/F1/7] (Davey Powell): New to Doug Hardwick's Henley Forklift for the 1970 UK F5000 series. Raced by Mo Nunn (2 races), Davey Powell (7 races + 2 DNS) and Trevor Taylor (6 races) in 1970, then Kaye Griffiths (2 races + 1 DNQ), Terry Sanger (1 race only), Ian Ashley (3 races) and Tony Trimmer (1 race only) in 1971. To Rocky Plumridge for 1972 and raced by Ian Ashley (9 races + DNQ for Rothmans £50,000). Subsequent history unknown.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen if you can add anything.