British Formula Atlantic Championship Race

Brands Hatch, 25 May 1981

1 Ray Mallock Ralt RT4/81 [218] - Ford BDA Swindon
#6 Cliff Smith Racing
42 34m 43.5s
87.35 mph
2 Ian Taylor Tiga FA81 [164] - Ford BDA Nelson
#3 Queensgate Racing
42 34m 56.95s
3 Alo Lawler Ralt RT4/80 [199] - Ford BDA Smith
#1 L&B Excavations
42 35m 30.13s
4 Kim Mather March 792 [31] - Ford BDA Swindon
5 Mike Catlow Ralt RT1 [71?] - Ford BDA Hart
6 Wil Arif Chevron B42 [42-78-15] - Ford BDA

7 Nick Adams March 80A [18] - Ford BDA Swindon
Neil Edwards Racing

R Phil Dowsett March 81A [15] - Ford BDA Nicholson
#5 Industrial Control Services/Pinch Plant

R Colin Lees Argo JM9 [057-FA] - Ford BDA Smith
#7 Carcover with Goodwin Racing

UNK Richard Hawkins Ralt RT1 [9] - Ford BDA Nicholson
#22 The Lep Group of Companies

UNK Geoff Byman Lola T760 [HU1] - Ford BDA Smith

UNK Ian Flux Ehrlich RP5B - Ford BDA Ehrlich
#15 Dr J.Ehrlich

UNK Charlie Kirby March 78B [782-14] - Ford BDA Nicholson
#31 (see note 1)

UNK David Duffield Ralt RT4/80 [185] - Ford BDA Swindon
#20 Caledon Coal Co.

UNK Daniel Lebacq Lebacq FA4 - Ford BDA Swindon

UNK Carlos Ulibarri March 80A [18] - Ford BDA Swindon

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Atl unless noted.

1 Ray Mallock (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/81 [218] - Ford BDA Swindon

Notes on the cars:

  1. March 78B [782-14] (Charlie Kirby): Eddie Cheever's car at Thruxton 27 Mar 1978 and presumably all season. To Dick Bennetts Racing and converted to Formula Atlantic for Eje Elgh to race in New Zealand in January 1979. Then to Charlie Kirby as a 78B and raced in Atlantic from 1979 to 1981. Offered for sale in On Track in 1981 by Kirby's Transatlantic Racing Services (Norcross, GA). Next seen with Andy Falbo (Detroit, MI) who raced it in US Formula Atlantic in 1983, and again in 1986 and 1988. Retained by Falbo and still owned by him in 2015.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

The British race results have been compiled by Chris Townsend based on material in Autosport and Motoring News reports in the UK plus the information supplied by a wide range of contributors.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.