Jim Clark Memorial F2 race at Hockenheim. Piers Courage in the Williams/Brabham BT23 leads Henri Pescarolo, Matra MS7 and Hubert Hahne, BMW. Copyright Jim Culp 2016. Used with permission.

Formula 2 1969

The Matra MS7 maintained its stranglehold on Formula 2 with Johnny Servoz-Gavin taking the title in the Ken Tyrrell's second Matra International entry. Graded drivers took 70% of the podium places in 1969 with Servoz-Gavin's teammate Jackie Stewart winning two races and the title and Jochen Rindt also bagging a brace in his works Lotus 59B. The only other ungraded drivers to achieve regular success were Hubert Hahne in BMW's Lola T102 and François Cévert in one of the works Tecnos. So five different constructors had success in F2 in 1969, Matra, Brabham, Lotus, Tecno and Lola.

A hypothetical team championship would have been won by Ken Tyrrell's Matra International with the Lotuses of Roy Winkelmann Racing and the works Matras of Matra Sports tied for second, Frank Williams Racing Cars in fourth, Bayerische Motoren Werke fifth and Tecno Racing Team sixth.

The races

07 Apr 1969 > BARC 200 at Thruxton

13 Apr 1969 > Jim-Clark-Gedächtnis-Rennen at Hockenheim

20 Apr 1969 > Grand Prix de Pau

27 Apr 1969 > Eifelrennen at Nürburgring

11 May 1969 > Gran Premio de Madrid at Jarama

08 Jun 1969 > Grote Prijs van Limburg at Zolder

15 Jun 1969 > Rhein-Pokalrennen at Hockenheim

22 Jun 1969 > Gran Premio della Lotteria at Monza

29 Jun 1969 > Grand Prix de Reims

12 Jul 1969 > Flugplatzrennen at Tulln-Langenlebarn

03 Aug 1969 > Grosser Preis F2 von Deutschland at Nürburgring

24 Aug 1969 > Gran Premio del Mediterraneo at Enna-Pergusa

14 Sep 1969 > Grand Prix d'Albi

12 Oct 1969 > Gran Premio di Roma at Vallelunga

26 Oct 1969 > Flughafenrennen München-Neubiberg

European Trophy for F2 Drivers events shown in bold

1969 European Trophy for F2 Drivers table

1Johnny Servoz-GavinMatra MS7 - Cosworth FVA37 pts1 win
2Hubert HahneLola T102 - BMW M12
BMW F269 - BMW M12
28 pts 
3François CevertTecno 68/F2 - Cosworth FVA21 pts 
4Henri PescaroloMatra MS7 - Cosworth FVA13 pts 
5=Derek BellFerrari Dino 166
Brabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA
11 pts 
5=Peter WestburyBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA11 pts 

Previous: the 1968 season

Next: the 1970 season

The BMW and Ferrari teams were the only ones not run Cosworth FVA engines.

All but the final championship race were won by graded drivers, by Rindt (twice), Jean-Pierre Beltoise (works Matra MS7), Stewart (twice) and Piers Courage in Frank Williams' Brabham BT30. Maximum points in those races were awarded to Pescarolo, Hahne (twice), Servoz-Gavin (twice) and Cévert. They are not included in the win totals above.