Formula 2 1970

Five different constructors won F2 races in 1970, BMW and Tecno leading the count with six each, Lotus with four, Brabham three and March one. However, Brabham drivers accounted for nearly half of podium finishes and about half the rest of the grid.

Clay Regazzoni in a works Tecno and Derek Bell in Tom Wheatcroft's Brabham BT30 fought for the title, the Swiss driver clinching it at the final race. However, it was the BMW 270 that was probably the quicker car with Jo Siffert, Jacky Ickx and Dieter Quester all winning rounds of the championship although only the latter was ungraded and qualified for points. Emerson Fittipaldi picked up enough points in his new monocoque Lotus 69 for third pace in the championship table and teammate Jochen Rindt won one race in his sister car.

The races

30 Mar 1970 > BARC 200 at Thruxton

05 Apr 1970 > Grand Prix de Pau

12 Apr 1970 > Jim-Clark-Gedächtnis-Rennen at Hockenheim

26 Apr 1970 > Gran Premio de Barcelona at Montjuich Park

03 May 1970 > Eifelrennen at Nürburgring

24 May 1970 > Grote Prijs van Limburg at Zolder

25 May 1970 > Alcoa London Trophy at Crystal Palace

14 Jun 1970 > Rhein-Pokalrennen at Hockenheim

21 Jun 1970 > Gran Premio della Lotteria at Monza

28 Jun 1970 > Grand Prix de Rouen at Rouen-les-Essarts

26 Jul 1970 > Trophee de France at Paul Ricard

02 Aug 1970 > Preis von Deutschland at Nürburgring

23 Aug 1970 > Gran Premio del Mediterraneo at Enna-Pergusa

30 Aug 1970 > Festspeilpreis Saltzburg at Salzburgring

30 Aug 1970 > Mantorp Park Grand Prix

13 Sep 1970 > Players Trophy at Phoenix Park

13 Sep 1970 > Jochen Rindt Trophy at Tulln-Langenlebarn

27 Sep 1970 > Gran Premio Citta di Imola

11 Oct 1970 > Preis von Baden-Wurttemberg at Hockenheim

25 Oct 1970 > Flughafenrennen München-Neubiberg

22 Nov 1970 > Grand Prix of Israel at Ashkelon

European Trophy for F2 Drivers events shown in bold

1970 European Trophy for F2 Drivers table

1Clay RegazzoniTecno 68/69 - Cosworth FVA
Tecno 70/F2 - Cosworth FVA
44 pts3 wins
2Derek BellBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA35 pts1 win
3Emerson FittipaldiLotus 69 - Cosworth FVA25 pts 
4=Dieter QuesterBMW F269 - BMW M12
BMW F270 - BMW M12
14 pts1 win
4=Ronnie PetersonMarch 702 - Cosworth FVA14 pts 
6=Robin WiddowsBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA9 pts 
6=François CevertTecno 68/69 - Cosworth FVA
Tecno 70/F2 - Cosworth FVA
9 pts 
8Tetsu IkuzawaLotus 69 - Cosworth FVA8 pts 
9Peter WestburyBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA7 pts 
10=Henri PescaroloBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA6 pts 
10=Tim SchenkenBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA6 pts 
12Alistair WalkerBrabham BT23C - Cosworth FVA
Brabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA
5 pts 
13=Hubert HahneBMW F269 - BMW M12
BMW F270 - BMW M12
3 pts 
13=Carlos ReutemannBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA3 pts 
13=Vittorio BrambillaBrabham BT23 - Cosworth FVA
Brabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA
3 pts 
16Jean-Pierre JabouillePygmée MDB15 - Cosworth FVA2 pts 
17=Tommy ReidBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA1 pt 
17=Peter GaydonBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA1 pt 
17=Mike GothBrabham BT30 - Cosworth FVA1 pt 

Previous: the 1969 season

Next: the 1971 season

Points table from Race Report Vol 4 p145.

The BMW team were the only ones not run Cosworth FVA engines.

Three championship races were won by graded drivers, one by Jochen Rindt, one by Siffert and one by Ickx. Maximum points in those races were awarded to Bell, Regazzoni and François Cévert in the second works Tecno . These are not included in the win totals above.