JAF Formula Pacific Series Race

Mine, 15 Mar 1981

1 Masahiro Hasemi March 79B [792?] - Nissan LZ14
#11 Hasemi Motorsports
40 46m 49.3s
145.0 kph
2 Satoru Nakajima Chevron B40 [40-77-07] - Toyota 2T-G Tom's
#37 I&I Racing Development (see note 1)
40 46m 50.0s
3 Keiji Matsumoto March 782/79B - Nissan LZ14 Tomei
#8 Tomei Jidousha
40 47m 36.8s
4 Kenji Takahashi March 79B - Nissan LZ14 Tomei
#24 Tomei Jidousha (see note 2)
40 47m 48.2s
5 Naohiro Fujita Ralt RT1 - Toyota 2T-G Tom's
#5 Speed Star Wheel Racing Team
R Sakae Obata Ralt RT1 - Ford BDA Hart
#2 Suzuki Racing (?)
R Kazuyoshi Hoshino March 79B - Nissan LZ14
#3 Hoshino Racing

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Pac unless noted.

1 Kazuyoshi Hoshino (F/Pac) 1.6-litre March 79B - Nissan LZ14 1m 09.4s
2 Masahiro Hasemi (F/Pac) 1.6-litre March 79B [792?] - Nissan LZ14 1m 09.7s
3 Satoru Nakajima (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Chevron B40 [40-77-07] - Toyota 2T-G Tom's 1m 09.9s
4 Keiji Matsumoto (F/Pac) 1.6-litre March 782/79B - Nissan LZ14 Tomei 1m 10.9s
5 Naohiro Fujita (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT1 - Toyota 2T-G Tom's 1m 11.3s
6 Kenji Takahashi (F/Pac) 1.6-litre March 79B - Nissan LZ14 Tomei 1m 11.6s
7 Sakae Obata (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT1 - Ford BDA Hart 1m 17.6s

Notes on the cars:

  1. Chevron B40 [40-77-07] (Satoru Nakajima): Shown in Chevron records as sold to Le Mans Co for Tetsu Ikuzawa. Raced by Ikuzawa in Japanese Formula 2 in 1977, using BMW engines. Used again by Ikuzawa for one race at the beginning of 1978. This is almost certainly the car converted to Formula Pacific specification and raced by Satoru Nakajima in the Japanese Formula Pacific series in 1980 and early 1981 using Toyota engines. Subsequent history unknown, but in 2014 a Chevron B40 was acquired from "a guy who used to work at Kojima" by Warwick Mortimer in New Zealand. This car had the chassis plate "40-77-07" but was said to be "ex-Hasemi" and had been Nissan-powered and then BMW-powered.
  2. March 79B (Kenji Takahashi): Takao Wada drove a March 79B in Japanese Formula Pacific in 1979, entered by Tomei Jidousha. The car replaced a Falcon 78A that Wada had raced earlier in the season, and both cars were fitted with Nissan LZ14 engines. Wada retained the 79B for the early part of 1980, and then swapped to a Hayashi 80P. Kenji Takahashi then raced a 79B for Tomei Jidousha for the remainer of the 1980 season, so it is likely that this was the ex-Wada car. Raced again by Takahashi in 1981 and in 1982. Later in 1982, Akira Hagiwara raced a 79B entered by Tomei Jidousha and this is assumed to be the same car. Subsequent history unknown.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

Japanese race results have been provided by Michael Ferner. His main sources have been the "Japan Automobile Federation" website (www.jaf.or.jp) and Tooru Kitajima's "Formula Nippon Data Center" (http://isweb34.infoseek.co.jp/motor/fndc/).

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.