ECAR Formula Atlantic Championship Round

Summit Point, 7 Jul 1985

1 Steve Shelton Ralt RT4/83 [82-352] - Ford BDD
2 Michael Angus Ralt RT4/83 - Ford BDD Jennings
3 James Oppermann Ralt RT4/83 [404] - Ford BDD
4 Richard Mullins Ralt RT1 - Ford BDD
5 Dennis Austin Chevron B34 [34-76-26] - Ford BDD
#9 (see note 1)
6 Louis Baldwin March 81A [2] - Ford BDD
7 Paul Poore March 79B - Ford BDD
8 Gene Griesel Ralt RT4 - Ford BDD
9 J. Gregory Knittel March 78B [20] - Ford BDD
10 Peter Heckmann Lola T860 [HU1] - Ford BDD Jennings
#3 (see note 2)
11 John Timken Ralt RT4/84 [508] - Ford BDD
12 Gary Gonda March 81A [1] - Ford BDD
13 Joe Ostrowski Chevron B39 [39-77-08] - Ford BDD
#72 (see note 3)
14 Kenneth Smith March 78B - Ford BDD
15 Tom Skaff March 79B - Ford BDD
16 Ken Valan March 81A - Ford BDD
17 John Clark Ralt RT4/81 - Ford BDD

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Atl unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Steve Shelton150.18.25.5097.693 mph
2James Oppermann15
3Richard Mullins15
4Michael Angus15
5John Timken15
6Peter Heckmann15
7Louis Baldwin15
8Dennis Austin15
9Paul Poore15
10J. Gregory Knittel
11Joe Ostrowski
12Gary Gonda
13Tom Skaff
14Gene Griesel12
15Ken Valan6
John ClarkDid not start
Kenneth SmithDid not start
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1Michael Angus150.18.50.5194.861 mph
2Steve Shelton15
3James Oppermann15
4Richard Mullins15
5Dennis Austin15
6Gene Griesel15
7Louis Baldwin15
8Paul Poore15
9Kenneth Smith14
10J. Gregory Knittel
11Gary Gonda
12Tom Skaff
13Joe Ostrowski
14Peter Heckmann2
15John Timken1
John ClarkDid not start
Ken ValanDid not start
1 Steve Shelton (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/83 [82-352] - Ford BDD 1.12.017
2 James Oppermann (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/83 [404] - Ford BDD 1.12.872
3 Richard Mullins (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT1 - Ford BDD 1.14.370
4 John Timken (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/84 [508] - Ford BDD 1.14.663
5 Peter Heckmann (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Lola T860 [HU1] - Ford BDD Jennings 1.15.798
6 Louis Baldwin (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 81A [2] - Ford BDD 1.16.124
7 Gene Griesel (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4 - Ford BDD 1.16.402
8 Kenneth Smith (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 78B - Ford BDD 1.17.286
9 Dennis Austin (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Chevron B34 [34-76-26] - Ford BDD 1.17.939
10 Gary Gonda (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 81A [1] - Ford BDD 1.19.851
11 Ken Valan (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 81A - Ford BDD 1.19.882
12 J. Gregory Knittel (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 78B [20] - Ford BDD 1.20.203
13 Tom Skaff (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 79B - Ford BDD 1.21.358
14 Joe Ostrowski (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Chevron B39 [39-77-08] - Ford BDD 1.21.750
15 Michael Angus (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/83 - Ford BDD Jennings 1.23.049
16 John Clark (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/81 - Ford BDD 1.23.803
17 Paul Poore (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 79B - Ford BDD no time

Notes on the cars:

  1. Chevron B34 [34-76-26] (Dennis Austin): New to Bill Scott Racing for Howdy Holmes, replacing 76-09 burnt out at Laguna Seca. Sponsored by Jiffy Mixes. Raced by Holmes for most of the season, but by Tom Pumpelly in the final IMSA round at Road Atlanta. Crashed here and said to have been "destroyed" but likely to have been rebuilt. This is presumably the "ex-Howdy Holmes" Chevron B34 raced by Jim Lyles (Columbia, MD/Palm Beach, FL) in SCCA Regionals and Nationals from 1977 onwards. In late 1983 it was damaged in a racing accident and sold unrepaired to Dennis Austin in late 1983/early 1984. He rebuilt it and used it in the ECAR series in 1985 and 1986. Sold to Ron Parks (Florida) in 1987.
  2. Lola T860 [HU1] (Peter Heckmann): Invoiced to Carl Haas 25 June 1981. Tested by Jacques Villeneuve Sr at Mid-Ohio in early August 1981, but not raced until Juan Cochesa drove it at Road America in July 1982. To Bob Katz for SCCA racing in 1983. Peter Heckman (Green Oaks, IL) then raced the car in ECAR Formula Atlantic in 1985. The car was advertised in 1987, but its subsequent history is unknown. At some point it was acquired by Noah Lacona (Des Moines, Iowa) and remained with him until his death in 2017. In 2024, the car was acquired from his estate by his grandson Jim Knox in north Texas.
  3. Chevron B39 [39-77-08] (Joe Ostrowski): New to Fred Opert Racing and used in the Labatts Formula Atlantic Championship. One of two cars run by the team for Keke Rosberg, this one having narrower track, but Rosberg used a B34 at four races that season and exactly how he used this B39 remains uncertain. Retained by Fred Opert Racing for the 1978 New Zealand series, where it was Rosberg's main race car as he easily won the championship. Then believed to be the car raced by Divina Galica at Long Beach in early 1978. It was sold to Dean Lundgreen (Franklin, MN) later in 1978 and raced in SCCA Nationals, scoring 13 points that season. He scored 15 points in 1979, and continued to race the car in 1980 and 1981. Advertised by Lundgreen in April 1982 and February 1983 as "Rosberg's Tasman winner". Sold to Mike Rand (Amherst, Massachusetts) later in 1983, then sold on to Joe Ostrowski (Trenton, NJ) who raced it from 1984 to 1986 at least. The car remained in Ostrowski's garage until 2004, when he sold it to Mark Wehrman. It was then sold to Lee Brahin (Philadelphia, PA) in 2006 and raced by him in red bodywork with non-standard sidepods in 2008 and 2009. Then to Martin Lauber (Tiburon, CA) in August 2011 and raced by him in pink Excita livery (but still with the same distinctive sidepods) from 2012 to 2019. It was sold to Laurent Parmentier (Los Angeles, CA) in January 2020, and raced by him in 2020 and 2021.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

North American Formula Atlantic race results have been compiled by Chris Townsend based on material in On Track and Sports Car, plus results sheets where available.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.