Easter "120"

Roy Hesketh, 25 Mar 1978

1 Roy Klomfass March 77B [11] - Ford BDD Swindon
#8 Team Uniewinkels [Martin Flint/Roger Taylor]
42 45m 21.22s
2 Ian Scheckter March 78B - Ford BDD Nicholson
#1 Team Lexington
42 45m 29.75s
3 Bobby Scott March 77B [17] - Ford BDD
#21 Sportsman Lager Racing[Andrew Thompson]
42 45m 33.44s
4 Trevor van Rooyen March 77B [8] - Ford BDD Swindon
#7 Team Gunston
42 45m 58.12s
5 Keith Zeeman Wheatcroft R18 [002] - Ford BDD
#14 A. Blignaut
6 Nols Nieman March 77B [18] - Ford BDD
#4 Benson and Hedges/BP Racing [Alex Blignaut]
7 Mike Domingo March 76B ['1A'] - Ford BDD
#9 Team Domingo
R Tony Martin Chevron B45 [45-78-01] - Ford BDD Swindon
#3 Lucky Strike Racing (see note 1)
8 Engine
UNK Clive Cooke Donnelly JD201 - Ford BDD
#15 Rally Motors/BP Racing

DNA Dave Charlton March 77B - Ford BDD
#6 Golden-Flo Forte
Did not arrive
DNA Joe Domingo Chevron B25 - Ford BDA
#11 Team Domingo
Did not arrive
  Evan Boddy Chevron B34 [34-76-02] - Ford BDD Nicholson
#16 South Coast Motors (see note 2)
On entry list
  Geoff Frizell Chevron B25 - Ford BDD
#18 D. Frizelle
On entry list
  Dorino Trochanni Chevron B29 [29.75.15] - Ford BDD
#20 D. Trecanni
On entry list

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Atl unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Roy Klomfass
2Ian Scheckter
3Bobby Scott
4Trevor van Rooyen
5Keith Zeeman
6Nols Nieman
7Mike Domingo
8Tony Martin
9Clive Cooke
1 Roy Klomfass (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 77B [11] - Ford BDD Swindon 1.02.98
- Tony Martin (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Chevron B45 [45-78-01] - Ford BDD Swindon 1.03.38

Notes on the cars:

  1. Chevron B45 [45-78-01] (Tony Martin): New to Tony Martin and used in the South African Formula Atlantic series in 1978, initially wearing Chevron B39 bodywork. Retained for 1979, but Martin also had an older Chevron B34 which was used at several races. The B45 was then fitted with a 3-litre Ford V6 engine for the new Formula South Africa that started in July 1979. The car was retained for 1980, but destroyed in a garage fire.
  2. Chevron B34 [34-76-02] (Evan Boddy): New to Tony Martin for the 1976 South African Formula Atlantic championship, entered by Team Bic/South Coast Motors. Retained by Martin for 1977 as a spare car to his new B39 and raced only once that season, as a South Coast Motors entry for Evan Boddy at Kyalami in October. Raced by Boddy during 1978, entered again by South Coast Motors Racing. Raced again by Boddy in 1979, again entered by South Coast Motors.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

The South African race results have been compiled by Chris Townsend based on material in Autosport and Motoring News plus information supplied by a wide range of contributors.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.

Individual sources for this event

Entry list from programme kindly provided by Richard Coe.