Highveld "100"

Kyalami, 27 Jan 1979

1 Ian Scheckter March 79A [1] - Ford BDD Nicholson
#1 Team Lexington
32 44m 08.33s
2 Roy Klomfass March 79B [P] - Ford BDD
#2 Team Texan [Alex Blignaut]

3 Mike Domingo March 76B ['1A'] - Ford BDD Nicholson
#8 Team Domingo

4 Trevor van Rooyen March 79B - Ford BDD Nicholson
#3 Team Gunston

5 Yunus Domingo Modus M3 [022(A)] - Ford BDD Nicholson
#11 Team Domingo

6 Evan Boddy Chevron B34 [34.76.02] - Ford BDD Nicholson
#16 South Coast Racing

R Clive Cooke March 78B/79B - Ford BDD
#7 B.P. Racing/Rally Motors
R Bobby Scott March 77B ["17A"] - Ford BDD
#4 Sportsman Lager Racing [Andrew Thompson]
22 Piston
R Tony Martin Chevron B45 [45.78.01] - Ford BDD
#5 Lucky Strike Racing/South Coast Motors
(see note 1)
1 Dropped valve
T Roy Klomfass March 77B [11] - Ford BDD
#12 Team Texan [Alex Blignaut]
(Only used in practice)
T Trevor van Rooyen March 77B [8] - Ford BDD
#6 Team Gunston
(Only used in practice)
DNA Len Booysen Donnelly JD201 - Ford BDD
#17 Donnelly Racing Cars
Did not arrive
DNA Geoff Frizell Chevron B34 [B29 75-25?] - Ford BDD
#18 Geoff Frizell
Did not arrive
DNA Sarel Pienaar Chevron B29 [29.75.15] - Ford BDD
#10 Sarel Pienaar
Did not arrive
DNA Bernard Tilanus Wheatcroft R18 [003] - Ford BDD
#9 D.A.W. Supplies
Did not arrive

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Atl unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Ian Scheckter
2Roy Klomfass
3Mike Domingo
4Trevor van Rooyen
5Yunus Domingo
6Evan Boddy
7Clive Cooke
8Bobby Scott
9Tony Martin
10Len Booysen
11Geoff Frizell
12Sarel Pienaar
13Bernard Tilanus
1 Trevor van Rooyen (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 79B - Ford BDD Nicholson
2 Tony Martin (F/Atl) 1.6-litre Chevron B45 [45.78.01] - Ford BDD
3 Ian Scheckter (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 79A [1] - Ford BDD Nicholson
4 Clive Cooke (F/Atl) 1.6-litre March 78B/79B - Ford BDD

Notes on the cars:

  1. Chevron B45 [45.78.01] (Tony Martin): New to Tony Martin and used in the South African Formula Atlantic series in 1978, initially wearing Chevron B39 bodywork. Retained for 1979, but Martin also had an older Chevron B34 which was used at several races. The B45 was then fitted with a 3-litre Ford V6 engine for the new Formula South Africa that started in July 1979. The car was retained for 1980, but destroyed in a garage fire.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

The South African race results have been compiled by Chris Townsend based on material in Autosport and Motoring News plus information supplied by a wide range of contributors.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.