Victorian Trophy

Calder, 11 Apr 1963

1 Lex Davison (libre) 2.7-litre Cooper T62 ["CTA/BM/2"] - Climax FPF 4
25 19m 56.4s
2 Bib Stillwell (libre) 2.7-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-3-62] - Climax FPF 4
(see note 1)
25 19m 57.0s
3 David McKay (libre) 2.5-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] - Climax FPF 4
Scuderia Veloce (see note 2)
25 20m 38.8s
4 Bryan Thomson (libre) 2.4-litre Cooper Mk IV 'T51' [F2-14-59] - Climax FPF s/c 4
(see note 3)
R Frank Matich (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Elfin Junior [627] - Ford
6 engine
UNK Pat Hawthorn (libre) 3-litre Aston Martin DBR4/250 [4] - DBR1/300 6

UNK Peter Boyd-Squires (libre) 2-litre Cooper Mk III 'T45' [F2-21-58] - Climax FPF 4

UNK Ern Tadgell (libre) 1-litre Lynx - Ford s/c 4

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT4 [IC-3-62] (Bib Stillwell): New to Bib Stillwell for the Australian Internationals in February 1963. Used by Stillwell to win the 1963 Australian Gold Star and then, having acquired the 2.7-litre engine from Jack Brabham's BT4, he won the Gold Star again in 1964. Sold to Bill Thomasen in New Zealand and used in NZ Gold Star in 1964/65 before it was sold to Ecurie Palm Court who ran it for Ian Green and John Riley in late-season 1964/65 races and in Australian Gold Star races in August 1965. To Robbie Francevic in time for the 1965/66 NZ season and then quickly sold again, this time to Syd Jensen. Jenson leased it to Jim Boyd for the 1967 Internationals and then sold it to Bryan Faloon in March 1967. Raced and crashed many times by Faloon before he joined the Rorstan team for 1969/70 and the BT4 was finally retired. Sold by Faloon's estate to David Manton in 1981, then to Richard Hook (Auckland, NZ), who restored the car to its original Tasman specification and used it in historic racing in 1990. Then through four other historic racers until bought by the Minshaw family in 2005. Raced by Jason Minshaw from 2005 onwards.
  2. Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] (David McKay): New for Jack Brabham to drive at the November 1962 Australian GP. Used by Brabham in the New Zealand Internationals in January 1963, winning at Levin, then sold to Dave McKay's Scuderia Veloce for the Australian International races the following month. Raced by Graham Hill for McKay in the 1964 Tasman series, winning the Longford race in March. To Len Southward's Lesco Racing Team for Kerry Grant to drive during the 1964/65 season, and for Neil Whittaker in 1965/66. Sold to John McCormack (Davenport, Tasmania) and raced on through the next three seasons. From McCormack to John Blanden (Adelaide, South Australia) in 1978 and extensively rebuilt. To Ken Messenger (Adelaide) March 1982, then to Art Valdez (Torrance, CA) in 1986, and remained in his collection for many years, until sold to a UK consortium in 2017.
  3. Cooper Mk IV 'T51' [F2-14-59] (Bryan Thomson): Delivered to Victa Consolidated Industries (Australia) according to the Cooper Register.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

These results have been compiled by David McKinney from a wide rangle of sources, including his own magazine articles and books. The 1959-1963 results are complete but for the 1957 and 1958 seasons, the only cars currently shown in the results are the F1, Intercontinental and F2 cars that feature elsewhere on this site plus the major Australian specials.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.