Hordern Trophy

Warwick Farm, 1 Dec 1963

1 John Youl (libre) 2.5-litre Cooper T55 [F1-10-61] - Climax FPF 4
#5 J. C. Youl
34 56m 37.9s
2 David McKay (libre) 2.7-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] - Climax FPF 4
#1 Scuderia Veloce (see note 1)
34 57m 36.8s
3 Bill Patterson (libre) 2.5-litre Cooper T53 [F1-5-61] - Climax FPF 4
#3 G. W. Patterson
34 57m 57.5s
4 Bib Stillwell (libre) 2.7-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-3-62] - Climax FPF 4
#6 B. S. Stillwell (see note 2)
5 Greg Cusack (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Elfin Junior [6310] - Ford
#8 Scuderia Veloce
6 Ken Milburn (FJ) 1.1-litre Lotus 20 [20-J-965] - Ford
#14 K. Milburn
7 Terry Rogers (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 20B [20-J-960] - Ford
#11 Southern Cross Car Sales
8 Glyn Scott (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 27 [27 JM 11] - Ford
#12 Glynn Scott Motors
9 Doug Kelley (libre) 1.5-litre Cooper Mk I 'T41' [F2-2-56] - Climax FWB
#22 D. J. Kelly (see note 3)
10 Bob Salter (FJ) 1.1-litre Lotus 22 [22-J-49] - Ford
#15 Salter Motors
11 Bob Holden (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Lynx - Peugeot s/c
#19 Kilburn Motor Garage
R Frank Matich (libre) 2.5-litre Brabham BT7A [IC-1-63] - Climax FPF 4
#2 Team Total
20 accident
R Charlie Smith (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Elfin Junior [625] - Ford
#9 C. G. Smith
R Lex Davison (libre) 2.7-litre Cooper T62 ["CTA/BM/2"] - Climax FPF 4
#4 Ecurie Australie
UNK Tony Osborne (libre) 2.5-litre Cooper T53 [F2-17-60] - Climax FPF 4
#7 A. J. R. Osborne

UNK Bruce Leer (libre) 1.5-litre Cooper Mk II 'T43' [F2-28-57] - Climax FPF 4
#23 J. W. F. Glass

UNK Alan Ferguson (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Elfin Junior [612] - Peugeot
#18 A Ferguson

UNK Tony Reynolds (FJ) 1.1-litre Elfin Junior [621] - Ford
#10 A. J. Reynolds

DNS Peter Williamson (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Rennmax BN1 - Ford twin cam s/c
#17 Peter Williamson P/L
Did not start
(blower problems)
  Kingsley Hibbard (FJ) 1.1-litre Rennmax BN1 - Ford
#16 K. Hibbard
On entry list
  Dave Walker (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Brabham BT2 [FJ-12-62] - Ford
#20 Scuderia Veloce (see note 4)
On entry list
  Barry Collerson (libre) 1.5-litre Jolus [3] - Hilllman 4
#21 J. McGuire
On entry list
1 Frank Matich (libre) 2.5-litre Brabham BT7A [IC-1-63] - Climax FPF 4 1m 37.4s
2 John Youl (libre) 2.5-litre Cooper T55 [F1-10-61] - Climax FPF 4 1m 37.9s
3 Bib Stillwell (libre) 2.7-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-3-62] - Climax FPF 4 1m 38.0s
4 David McKay (libre) 2.7-litre Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] - Climax FPF 4 1m 38.1s
5 Lex Davison (libre) 2.7-litre Cooper T62 ["CTA/BM/2"] - Climax FPF 4 1m 38.5s
6 Greg Cusack (FJ 1.5) 1.5-litre Elfin Junior [6310] - Ford 1m 41.4s

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT4 [IC-1-62] (David McKay): New for Jack Brabham to drive at the November 1962 Australian GP. Used by Brabham in the New Zealand Internationals in January 1963, winning at Levin, then sold to Dave McKay's Scuderia Veloce for the Australian International races the following month. Raced by Graham Hill for McKay in the 1964 Tasman series, winning the Longford race in March. To Len Southward's Lesco Racing Team for Kerry Grant to drive during the 1964/65 season, and for Neil Whittaker in 1965/66. Sold to John McCormack (Davenport, Tasmania) and raced on through the next three seasons. From McCormack to John Blanden (Adelaide, South Australia) in 1978 and extensively rebuilt. To Ken Messenger (Adelaide) March 1982, then to Art Valdez (Torrance, CA) in 1986, and remained in his collection for many years, until sold to a UK consortium in 2017.
  2. Brabham BT4 [IC-3-62] (Bib Stillwell): New to Bib Stillwell for the Australian Internationals in February 1963. Used by Stillwell to win the 1963 Australian Gold Star and then, having acquired the 2.7-litre engine from Jack Brabham's BT4, he won the Gold Star again in 1964. Sold to Bill Thomasen in New Zealand and used in NZ Gold Star in 1964/65 before it was sold to Ecurie Palm Court who ran it for Ian Green and John Riley in late-season 1964/65 races and in Australian Gold Star races in August 1965. To Robbie Francevic in time for the 1965/66 NZ season and then quickly sold again, this time to Syd Jensen. Jenson leased it to Jim Boyd for the 1967 Internationals and then sold it to Bryan Faloon in March 1967. Raced and crashed many times by Faloon before he joined the Rorstan team for 1969/70 and the BT4 was finally retired. Sold by Faloon's estate to David Manton in 1981, then to Richard Hook (Auckland, NZ), who restored the car to its original Tasman specification and used it in historic racing in 1990. Then through four other historic racers until bought by the Minshaw family in 2005. Raced by Jason Minshaw from 2005 onwards.
  3. Cooper Mk I 'T41' [F2-2-56] (Doug Kelley): The fouth and final Mk 1 built for 1956 went to Ken Wharton and was then shipped out to New Zealand for the Internationals. Ater Wharton's death in a sports car race, the Mk 1 returned to the UK and was sold to Bill Whitehouse for the early 1957 races. When Whitehouse took delivery of his Mk II, the ex-Wharton Mk I went to Paul England, on holiday from Australia. England later sold the car to Austin Miller, another Aussie over in Europe and he shipped it back to Australia. It ran as the Miller Special for several seasons and remained in Australia with later owners. (Sources: Cooper Cars, Nye; Historic Racing Cars in Australia, Blanden)
  4. Brabham BT2 [FJ-12-62] (Dave Walker): Sold via Brabham's Australian agent Alec Mildren Pty Ltd to David Walker, and raced by Walker in 1963, 1964 and early 1965. Raced by Ralph Sach in 1965 then a Mildren entry with a 1500cc Ford twin cam for Frank Gardner and Kevin Bartlett during the 1965/66 season. To Competition Cars (Aust) for Mike Champion in the 1966 and 1967 Gold Star seasons, then to Brian Page for 1968. Entered by Graham Collier for Jack Bono in 1969. Through Australian owners Chris Farrell 1971, James Crawford 1973, Greg Kinlin 1977 and Graham Healey 1984 to Bryan Miller 1984 who restored it to Alec Mildren late 1965 spec with Ford twin-cam and raced extensively. To Colin Haste (Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia) 1998 and raced extensively in Australian Formula Junior Association events.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

These results have been compiled by David McKinney from a wide rangle of sources, including his own magazine articles and books. The 1959-1963 results are complete but for the 1957 and 1958 seasons, the only cars currently shown in the results are the F1, Intercontinental and F2 cars that feature elsewhere on this site plus the major Australian specials.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.