Australian Formula 2 Race

Hume Weir, 10 Jun 1973

1 Leo Geoghegan Birrana 272 [272-002] - Ford twin cam
#2 Peter Brock
2 Tony Stewart Birrana 273 [273-007] - Ford twin cam
#21 5AD/City State Team
3 Chas Talbot Elfin 600B [7124] - Ford twin cam
4 Bob Holden Brabham BT35 [36] - Ford twin cam
(see note 1)
5 Bob Johns Lotus 59 [59-FB-14] - Ford twin cam
(see note 2)
6 Michael Stillwell Elfin 622 [72420] - Ford twin cam
B.S. Stillwell-Ford
57 pit stop, but continued
R Ray Winter Mildren 'Mono' - Ford twin cam
(see note 3)
R Bob Skelton Bowin P6 [P6-119-72] - Ford twin cam Hart

R Kurt Seeberg Elfin 600B [6802] - Ford twin cam
R Paul Hamilton Elfin 600 [6801] - Ford twin cam
UNK Clive Millis Elfin 600B [7019] - Ford twin cam
flat tyre, pit stop, no clutch
UNK Denis Lupton Brabham BT36 ["BT30-27"] - Ford twin cam
(see note 4)
collision with Stillwell, but continued
UNK Alfredo Costanzo Elfin Mono Mk IID [MD6756] - Ford twin cam
pit stop, but continued
DNS Malcolm Ramsay Birrana 272 [272-002] - Ford twin cam
Did not start
(gave car to Geoghegan)
DNS Ian Cook Brabham "BT23D" (Jane) - Ford twin cam
(see note 5)
Did not start
(broken upright)
T Leo Geoghegan Birrana 273 [273-006] - Ford twin cam
(Only used in practice)

All cars are 1.6-litre ANF2 unless noted.

1 Tony Stewart (ANF2) 1.6-litre Birrana 273 [273-007] - Ford twin cam 45.4
2 Leo Geoghegan(T) (ANF2) 1.6-litre Birrana 273 [273-006] - Ford twin cam 45.9s
2 Michael Stillwell (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 622 [72420] - Ford twin cam 46.2s
3 Ray Winter (ANF2) 1.6-litre Mildren 'Mono' - Ford twin cam 48.3s
4 Alfredo Costanzo (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin Mono Mk IID [MD6756] - Ford twin cam 49.0s
5 Chas Talbot (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600B [7124] - Ford twin cam 51.5s
6 Kurt Seeberg (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600B [6802] - Ford twin cam 51.7s
7 Bob Holden (ANF2) 1.6-litre Brabham BT35 [36] - Ford twin cam 52.0s
8 Bob Johns (ANF2) 1.6-litre Lotus 59 [59-FB-14] - Ford twin cam 52.8s
9 Paul Hamilton (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600 [6801] - Ford twin cam 53.0s
10 Denis Lupton (ANF2) 1.6-litre Brabham BT36 ["BT30-27"] - Ford twin cam 53.9s
11 Ian Cook * (ANF2) 1.6-litre Brabham "BT23D" (Jane) - Ford twin cam 56.0s
12 Malcolm Ramsay * (ANF2) 1.6-litre Birrana 272 [272-002] - Ford twin cam 56.4s
13 Bob Skelton (ANF2) 1.6-litre Bowin P6 [P6-119-72] - Ford twin cam Hart DNP
14 Clive Millis (ANF2) 1.6-litre Elfin 600B [7019] - Ford twin cam DNP
15 Leo Geoghegan (ANF2) 1.6-litre Birrana 272 [272-002] - Ford twin cam DNP
* Did not start

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT35 [36] (Bob Holden): First known when a new F3 Brabham "BT35-36" was advertised by Bill Thompson from London and Brentwood telephone numbers in Autosport in November 1971. Although "BT35-36" could refer to a BT35 updated to Bt36 specification, that makes no sense for a brand new F3 car, so it must be assumed this was a reference to chassis number BT35-36. The advert said that the car had not been raced. This car was next seen 18 months later when it was raced in ANF2 specification by Bob Holden in Australia. It is understood to have been owned by Australian sometime MRD mechanic Ray Pounder at or just before this. It passed to Brian Cameron for 1974, and was raced by him and by Ken Hastings in early 1974. Then to Kurt Seeberg and raced by him from July 1974 to 1981 at least. Later sold to Brian Sampson (Melbourne) in 2003.
  2. Lotus 59 [59-FB-14] (Bob Johns): New to Australia Lotus importer Leo Geoghegan, replacing his very successful but ageing Lotus 39-Repco. The Lotus was fitted with a 2-litre Waggott TC4V engine and used in Australian National Formula 1 and Tasman events in 1970 and 1971.  He won two Australian Gold Star race in this car, at Warwick Farm in September 1970 and at Mallala a few weeks later.  After spending 1972 on the sidelines, the Lotus was sold to Bob and Gary Johns for 1973, fitted with a Ford twin cam engine, and used in Australian Formula 2 from 1973 to 1975. By 1985, it had been acquired by John Holmes (Toowoomba, Queensland), and was restored to its original Waggott configuration.
  3. Mildren 'Mono' (Ray Winter): Designed by Len Bailey and built by Alan Mann Racing for Alec Mildren Racing in Australia in late 1968, when it was raced by Frank Gardner using one of 2.5-litre Alfa T33 V8 engines from the team's Brabham BT23D. Raced by Gardner in the 1969 Tasman series, then by Kevin Bartlett in the 1969 Gold Star series. Later in 1969 it was fitted a Waggott TC4V engine, and Bartlett used it in this form in the 1970 Tasman and the 1970 Gold Star. It was sold to Bob Muir at the end of 1970 and raced by him through 1971 and early 1972, both with his 2-litre Waggott engine and with a Ford twin cam engine for Southeast Asian events. Then to Ray Winter and used in ANF2 in 1973 and 1974. Winter used the car again on occasion in 1975 and 1976. Later on, when the new single-cam Australian F2 was introduced, the old Mildren was raced in that category by Greg Ferrall. Then unknown until acquired by Lionel Ayres and restored. The car was retained by Bruce Ayres after his father Lionel's death in 2013.
  4. Brabham BT36 ["BT30-27"] (Denis Lupton): Built for Bob Jane to BT36 specification intended for the new Jane 2-litre engine and shipped to Australia in April 1971. Due to delays with the engine, the car was finally built up with a 2-litre Waggott TC/4V engine and FT200 gearbox, and was debuted at the Australian Grand Prix meeting in November 1971 where it was driven by John Harvey. Replaced in 1972 by the team's new Bowin-based F5000 car, and sold to Denis Lupton who converted it to ANF2 specification for Ian Cook to drive. The car was wrecked in the accident which killed Cook at Sandown in June 1973, and was rebuilt by Lupton on a new chassis fabricated by Bob Britton. Later said to be owned by Peter Whelan and then with Peter Johnson (Sydney, NSW, Australia) by 2006. Offered by sale by Johnson in August 2009 when said to be undergoing full restoration with a Waggott engine. With Bruce Hamilton of (Monkton, MD) in 2010.
  5. Brabham "BT23D" (Jane) (Ian Cook): Built by Bob Jane's team using a frame supplied by Bob Britton to the Brabham BT23 pattern. The car was a replacement for the team's Brabham BT23E, and had a lower nose and higher cockpit than its predecessor, and triangular sidepods. It first raced at Lakeside's Gold Star round on 7 Jun 1970, driven by John Harvey, and Harvey later won a Gold Star race at Sandown Park in September. It was unused during 1971 and then sold to Fred Wheelhouse (St Albans, Victoria), rebuilt to ANF2 specification and registered with CAMS as a "Brabham BT23D". Sold to Rod Housego 1974 and moved to Western Australia, then sold in 1975 to Dominic Mannello (Perth), who fitted Brabham BT36 bodywork and a 1600cc Fiat twin cam engine for the 1978 ANF2. Retained by Mannello until sold to West Australian Racing Museum owner Neil McCrudden in 2001. Used in historic racing between 2007 and 2015 by Lance Carwardine as the "Brabham Jane".


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.