Goodrich Trofén

Kinnekullering, 6 May 1978

1 Thorbjörn Carlsson Ralt RT1/76 [12] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
15 13m 31.1s
137.8 mph
2 Stanley Dickens Ralt RT1/76 [14] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#9 Zachry/Duckhams
15 13m 35.4s
3 Bo Martinsson March 753 [3] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#12 Bearcat Industridäck
15 13m 40.0s
4 Jan Ridell Van Diemen 376 - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#24 Hans Wängstre
15 13m 48.5s
5 Magnus Häggstam Ralt RT1/76 [15] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#7 Pastejköket
15 13m 49.6s
6 Lars Svensson Brabham BT41 [14] - Ford twin cam Novamotor
#28 (see note 1)
15 13m 59.8s
7 Bonde Hallenmark Brabham BT38C [21?] - Ford twin cam
#19 (see note 2)
15 14m 26.6s
8 Mats Peterson Paninder March 753 [19] - Renault Carlström
#18 Wilco Kemiprodukter
15 14m 27.4s
9 Kaal Wirgin Brabham BT38C [14] - Ford twin cam Vegantune
#5 (see note 3)
10 Dick Berg GRD 372 [010] - BMW M10 Billgren
#11 Häkans Bildelar AB (see note 4)
11 Tryggve Grönvall GRD 375 [373-047“K”] - Ford ohc
R Ronny Persson Brabham BT41 [32] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#21 Seatrain Racing Team
R Dragutin Ovcar March 743 [21] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#6 O Sole Mio Racing Team
R Egert Haglund March 733 [16] - Ford twin cam Holbay
DNA Pär Olsson Chevron B38 [38.77.12] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#22 (see note 5)
Did not arrive
DNA Christian Häggstam Brabham BT28 [30] - Ford twin cam
#27 Pastejköket
Did not arrive

All cars are 2-litre F3 unless noted.

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT41 [14] (Lars Svensson): New to Ulf Svensson in 1973.
  2. Brabham BT38C [21?] (Bonde Hallenmark): Bonde Hallenmark raced a Brabham BT38C in Swedish Formula 3 in 1976, 1977 and 1978. As Ulf Svensson's BT38C/14 and Thorbjörn Carlsson's "ex Magee" BT38C/18 can be traced into 1976 or 1977, this is likely to have been the ex-Conny Andersson BT38C/21. Subsequent history unknown.
  3. Brabham BT38C [14] (Kaal Wirgin): New to Ulf Svensson for European F3 in 1972, using Holbay engines and sponsored by Team Mum for Men. According to Magnus Haggstam, this car went to Lasse Karlsson for 1973 and raced by him in F3 until at least 1975. Then to Kaal Wirgin in 1976, and raced by him Swedish Formula 3 Championship races in 1977 and 1978, before he acquired a newer Argo. The car was next seen in 2000, when it was acquired by Carsten Frimodt (Denmark). It was restored to F2 specification with an 1860cc engine and was raced by Frimodt in Sweden in 2006 and 2007. Frimodt sold it to another Dane who sold it to Dr Sami Hamid (Vienna, Austria) in 2010. It was restored for him by Marcel Biehl of Biehl Racing (Moenchengladbach, Germany) to proper F3 specification. It was sold to John Albiston (Elgin, Scotland) in 2018, who modified it to Formula Atlantic specification and used to win the Scottish Historic Hillclimb and Sprint Championship in 2019 and 2020.
  4. GRD 372 [010] (Dick Berg): Raced by Canadian David McConnell in the 1972 Tasman series, using 2-litre Hart BDA engines. McConnell had a new B72 on order, and his plan was to sell the prototype to Jacques Couture. When that fell through, 010 was converted to F3 and sold to Mo Harness. Harness had won the 1971 Formula Ford Johnsons Wax Euro Trophy but turned down the test drive that had been offered as a prize with Ken Tyrrell and an F2 March. After a brief relationship with GRD, he then used an old BT28 F3 car in the first half of 1972 before acquiring sponsorship from Revolution Wheels and returning to GRD mid-season. Harness raced the GRD in British Formula 3 using Leabro engines. He then sold it to Jac Nellemann for Swedish F3 in 1973. In 1974, the car went to Jan Ridell, who raced it in Swedish 3, now using 2-litre Vegantune engines. Retained by Ridell for 1975, when he used Billgren BMW engines. Retained again by Ridell for 1976. To Dick Berg for Swedish F3 in 1977 and 1978, again with the Billgren BMW engines. Next seen in 1980, when it was raced by Mats Karlsson, now using Vegantune twin cams. Retained by Karlsson for 1981.
  5. Chevron B38 [38.77.12] (Pär Olsson): New to Fernando Spreafico and raced in European F3 in 1977. To Pär Olsson for Swedish F3 in 1978 and 1979. To Søren Aggerholm for the Swedish SSK series in 1980.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.