British Formula Ford 1972

Formula Ford was growing very strongly in Britain in 1972, with entries of over 100 cars at some events competing for only 25 places on the grid. The main championship was the British Oxygen (BOC) title, won by Ian Taylor in a Dulon, the 25-year-old Berkshire driver ending the season with a coveted Grovewood Award. Taylor also won the Daily Express title, while the BARC's Sunbeam Electric title was won by veteran driver Syd Fox, and the Brands Hatch championship by Bob Arnott.

Tim Brise, 18-year-old brother of Tony, had been very competitive at the start of the season in a special 1972 Merlyn with side radiators and snub nose, but he moved up to Formula 3. Another brother of an up-and-coming star, Ian Scheckter, decided to return to South Africa, leaving Wolverhampton's Derek Lawrence to be Taylor's main competitor. Later in the season, Mexican Johnny Gerber had a lot of success in an Elden with special bodywork by Dennis Falconer, and he won the high-profile World Championship Formula Ford Final at Brands Hatch in October.

BARC Sunbeam Electric Formula Ford

26 Mar 1972 > Snetterton

16 Apr 1972 > Silverstone

21 May 1972 > Brands Hatch

28 May 1972 > Croft

30 May 1972 > Oulton Park

11 Jun 1972 > Silverstone

16 Jul 1972 > Cadwell Park

30 Jul 1972 > Thruxton

20 Aug 1972 > Brands Hatch

02 Sep 1972 > Brands Hatch

24 Sep 1972 > Thruxton

08 Oct 1972 > Mallory Park

14 Oct 1972 > Oulton Park

29 Oct 1972 > Thruxton

1972 BARC Sunbeam Electric Formula Ford Championship table

1Syd FoxHawke DL9 - Ford Kent Holbay67 pts3 wins
2Ken BaileyTitan Mk6 - Ford Kent Titan46 pts2 wins
3Derek LawrenceTitan Mk6 - Ford Kent Titan42 pts4 wins
4Bob ArnottMerlyn Mk 20A - Ford Kent Scholar32 pts3 wins
5Rob WickenMerlyn Mk 17A - Ford Kent Piper12 pts 
6Robert CooperMerlyn Mk 20A - Ford Kent Scholar10 pts 
7David FerrisMerlyn Mk 20A - Ford Kent Rowland9 pts 
8Peter FinlayPalliser WDF2 - Ford Kent Rowland9 pts1 win
9David OxtonMerlyn Mk 11A - Ford Kent Scholar9 pts 
10Peter HarringtonCougar 72F - Ford Kent Scholar8 pts 

Points table from Autosport 2 November 1972 p6.

Johnny Gerber's prize was a new Formula 3 Brabham BT41, but he and Ippokampos Racing had little success in F3 in 1973. Ian Taylor acquired a March 733, and won six F3 races and won the BARC Forward Trust F3 Championship, before his career was derailed by an abortive season in Formula 5000. Tim Brise had a huge accident in F3 in August 1972, and his career never really got going after that. Derek Lawrence joined the Ehrlich team and became a regular in F3, but never advanced further up the ladder. Syd Fox moved up to F3 with R.A. McKinistry's Huron, a poor choice in hindsight, and Ken Bailey, second to Fox in the BARC series, bought a second-hand March 722 for Formula Atlantic.