Scottish Daily Express National Trophy

Turnberry, 23 Aug 1952

1 Reg Parnell BRM V16 Mk I 'P15' [No 3] - s/c V16
#53 BRM Ltd (see note 1)
20 26m 33.0s
79.5 mph
2 Tony Gaze (libre) 3-litre Maserati 8CM [3011] - s/c 8
#51 L W Boyce
3 Graham Whitehead ERA C Type [R8C] - s/c 6
#44 (see note 2)

4 Geoff Richardson (libre) 1.8-litre RRA - ERA s/c 6
#45 (see note 3)

5 Alastair Birrell ERA A Type [R1A] - s/c 6
#49 Alba Union (see note 4)

6 Bill Dobson (F2) 2-litre Ferrari 125 [10C] - V12
#38 Scuderia Ambrosiana (see note 5)

7 Bill Skelly (F2) 2-litre Frazer-Nash F2 [421 200 180S] - Bristol 6

R Horace Richards (F2) 2-litre HAR ['1'] - Riley 6
9 engine
R Mike Hawthorn Ferrari 375 Thin Wall Special [375-10] - V12
#54 G A Vandervell
8 fire
R Ken Wharton BRM V16 Mk I 'P15' [No 2] - s/c V16
#52 BRM Ltd (see note 6)
7 steering
R Ron Flockhart (libre) 2-litre ERA D Type [R4D] - s/c 6
#48 Alba Union (see note 7)
7 supercharger drive
R John Barber (F2) 2-litre Cooper-Bristol Mk I 'T20' [CB-7-52] - Bristol 6
6 distributor drive
UNK Jimmy Somervail ERA B Type [R12B] - s/c 6
#46 (see note 8)

UNK Peter Mould (libre) 2-litre Alta IFS - s/c 4

UNK Louis Manduca Alta IFS [69IS] - s/c 4
#50 (see note 9)

UNK Kenneth McAlpine (F2) 2-litre Connaught A [A1] - Lea-Francis 4

UNK Ken Downing (F2) 2-litre Connaught A [A3] - Lea-Francis 4

UNK David Murray (F2) 2-litre Cooper-Bristol Mk I 'T20' [CB-6-52] - Bristol 6
#40 Ecurie Ecosse

UNK André Loens (F2) 2-litre Cooper-Bristol Mk I 'T20' [CB-5-52] - Bristol 6
#29 Fraser-Hartwell Synd

DNS Dennis Poore (libre) 3.8-litre Alfa Romeo 8C-35 [50013] - s/c 8
#36 alternative entry
Did not start
DNS Dennis Poore (F2) 2-litre Connaught A [A4] - Lea-Francis 4
Did not start
DNS Stirling Moss (F2) 2-litre ERA G Type [R1G] - Bristol 6
#43 ERA Ltd
Did not start

All cars are 1.5-litre s/c F1 or 4.5-litre F1 unless noted.

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. BRM V16 Mk I 'P15' [No 3] (Reg Parnell): Raced by Ken Wharton 1952-53. Car very heavily damaged in his crash at Albi May 1953 and the wreck was scrapped. A car with this number has been in the Donington Collection since the mid 1990s.
  2. ERA C Type [R8C] (Graham Whitehead): Built in 1938 using mechanical parts from R8B and raced by Earl Howe 1938 and until a crash in the 1939 International Trophy. Then to Reg Parnell for 1946, Cuth Harrison from 1947 to 1951, Brian Shawe-Taylor 1951 and 1952; then a chain of other owners until acquired in 1977 by Bruce Spollon. Rebuilt to correct C-type specs and raced from 1981 to 2003.
  3. RRA (Geoff Richardson): Built by Geoff Richardson using mechanical parts of an ex-works Riley raced before the war by Percy Maclure, in a new Richardson-built frame. Raced initially with the engine from the White Riley, and sometimes therefore called the ERA-Riley. Richardson continued to race the car, mainly in small English events, until 1955, replacing the engine with a 2.5 Riley in 1954 and a 2.0 Alta in 1955. The car was then dismantled but reassembled by Keith Knight, still with Alta engine, in 1965. Retained by Knight into this century.
  4. ERA A Type [R1A] (Alastair Birrell): The original 1934 prototype, this car was driven by Mays, Cook, Seaman and others before the war. Later to John Heath (HW Motors) 1946, Reg Parnell's team 1947, David Hampshire 1948-51 and then to Alistair Birrell and Ron Flockhart in Scotland in 1952. Into historic racing when it was owned by Sandy Murray from 1959 to 1982 and frequently raced by Tony Merrick. Then through a further chain of owners until acquired by Dean Butler in 2005.
  5. Ferrari 125 [10C] (Bill Dobson): Peter Whitehead bought 10C new for 1949 and used it through 1949 and 1950 before buying a newer ex-works 125. This car was raced by Dobson in 1951 and later sold to David Murray. Whitehead later bought a 1949/50 LWB Tipo 125 renumbered 0114; it is this latter car that spent many years in the Donington Collection.
  6. BRM V16 Mk I 'P15' [No 2] (Ken Wharton): Raced by Peter Walker 1950-51, Ken Wharton 1952-54, Gonzalez 1952-53, Moss and Reg Parnell 1952 and by Ron Flockhart once in 1954. Damaged during Wharton's win at Glover Trophy, Goodwood Apr 1954, stripped and scrapped.
  7. ERA D Type [R4D] (Ron Flockhart): The sole D-Type, built in 1938 using mechanical parts from R4C and raced by factory drivers Mays and Dobson 1938-39. Sold to Mays when he left the team and raced by him until 1950. Then via Ron Flockhart, Ken Wharton and a chain of other owners into historic racing in 1966. Via further UK and Indian owners to Mac Hulbert in 2001.
  8. ERA B Type [R12B] (Jimmy Somervail): Built by White Mouse Stable in 1939 on a new factory B-Type chassis and using the mechanical parts from R12C. Raced by Bira 1946-47 as 'Hanuman II' then to David Hampshire and David Murray for 1949 and 1950. Through a chain of mainly Scottish owners and then to Sam Tingle in Rhodesia in 1957. Then via Allan Gillespie back to Britain for Bill Morris in 1962. Campaigned by Morris up to 1998 then to David Wenman in 1999. Retained 2007.
  9. Alta IFS [69IS] (Louis Manduca): Alta chassis 69IS was a single-seat Alta with independent suspension all round built for Lady Mary Grosvenor in 1939. It was not completed before the outbreak of war and was later built up post war and raced by Gordon Watson and Robert Cowell. It was rebodied with post-war bodywork and, according to Denis Jenkinson writing in 1987, then disappeared. Ted Walker has identified 69IS as the car driven by The Noble Louis Count Manduca, a member of the Maltese nobility, in 1952 and 1953 but suggestions that it was the car that went to Gib Barrett in Australia do not appear to be correct. In 2006, it was said to be owned by Paul Jaye.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.