Lady Wigram Trophy

Wigram, 23 Jan 1983

1 Allen Berg Ralt RT4/82 [313] - Ford BDD
#4 Graeme Lawrence Racing
32 points
2 Ken Smith Ralt RT4/81 [262] - Ford BDD
#11 (see note 1)
27 points
3 Mike Rosen Ralt RT4/82 [292] - Ford BDD
20 points
4 David Oxton Ralt RT4/81 [263] - Ford BDD
#18 (see note 2)
20 points
5 Hubert Phipps Tiga FA82 [211] - Ford BDD
16 points
6 Dave McMillan Ralt RT4/82 [81-267] - Ford BDD
#41 (see note 3)
15 points
7 Grant Campbell Ralt RT4/81 - Ford BDD
12 points
8 Eric Morgan Ralt RT1/77 [88] - Ford BDD
#6 (see note 4)
7 points
9 Graham Watson Ralt RT4/83 [82-351] - Ford BDD
4 points
10 Tony Batchelor March 74B [1] - Ford BDA
(see note 5)
3 points
11 Ross Cameron March 77B [75B/"8"—2] - Ford BDD
#74 (see note 6)
2 points
12 Christian Danner Ralt RT4/81 [256] - Ford BDD
#7 Andrew Miedecke (see note 7)
2 points
13 Norm Hunter Ralt RT4/83 [355] - Ford BDD

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Pac unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Allen Berg240.28.49.17
2Dave McMillan240.28.52.79
3Ken Smith240.29.07.70
4Mike Rosen240.29.09.70
5Hubert Phipps240.29.18.89
6Grant Campbell240.29.20.60
7Graham Watson240.29.29.27
8Eric Morgan240.29.38.64
9Christian Danner240.31.10.20
10Ross Cameron21
11Tony Batchelor18
12David Oxton8Misfire
13Norm Hunter4Accident
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1David Oxton240.28.32.20
2Ken Smith240.28.32.63
3Allen Berg240.28.58.02
4Mike Rosen240.28.59.40
5Hubert Phipps240.29.15.94
6Grant Campbell240.29.19.60
7Eric Morgan240.29.20.24
8Tony Batchelor23
9Dave McMillan22
10Ross Cameron21Not classified
11Graham Watson20
Christian DannerDNS: Misfire (W)
Norm HunterDNS: Accident damage
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Ralt RT4/81 [262] (Ken Smith): Ralt sales record says sold to Graham Watson/Bob Jane, without delivery date. [Tub no: 81/118; Gearbox FT1356; Fuel cell: JM36679 5/81] Chassis number noted in NZMA report as on the car of Geoff Brabham at the AGP 1981, [NZMA 23 Nov 81 p4]. Chassis number given for Jacques Laffite's car at 1982 AGP. Chassis number given NZMN 21 Jan 83 p16 for the car of Ken Smith at Bay Park, 2 Jan 83. A separate note by Dave McKinney says that this was the car used by Brabham 1981 AGP and Jacques Laffite 1982 AGP. [CT]
  2. Ralt RT4/81 [263] (David Oxton): Ralt sales record says sold to Graham Watson/Bob Jane, without delivery date. [Tub no: 81/119; Gearbox FT1480; Fuel cell: JM36736 6/81] Chassis number given in NZMA report for the car of Alan Jones at the 1981 Australian G.P, [NZMA 23 Nov 81 p4]. A note in A/S concerning Bruce Allison's entry at the Australian Gold Star Round at Calder [1 Aug 82] says that Allison used 'the car run by Jones at the Australian GP' at that race. Chassis number given for Alain Prost's car at the 1982 AGP. [CT]
  3. Ralt RT4/82 [81-267] (Dave McMillan): Ralt sales record says sold to Theodore Racing, delivered 16 Oct 81. [Tub no: 81/135; gearbox FT1488; fuel cell JM37176 10/81] Dave McMillan's car at Bay Park 3 Jan 82 is described by NZMN as Lees's car from Macau, 1981. Chassis number given NZMN 21 Jan 83 p16 for the car of Dave McMillan at Bay Park, 2 Jan 83. Presumed to be the car used by McMillan for the first part of the 1982 North American season, before he was given a 1982 specification car to use [alternatively this may have been RT4-205]. Chassis number given for McMillan's car at 1982 AGP, [AMSYB-82 p167] [CT]
  4. Ralt RT1/77 [88] (Eric Morgan): New to Brian Robertson's Ralt America as a late-season car for the CASC Formula Atlantic series, probably intended for Eddie Cheever to drive at Trois Rivieres, but he did not appear. To Larry Bergman (Los Gatos, CA) for SCCA Formula B in California. Bergman retained the car for 1979, winning the Northern Pacific Division Formula Atlantic title but also competing in most rounds of the North American Formula Atlantic series. Then to Steve Millen in New Zealand, and raced in the Aurora AFX New Zealand Formula Pacific series in January 1980, then in the 1980/81 season. To Eric Morgan for the 1981/82, 1982/83 and 1983/84 seasons. CT
  5. March 74B [1] (Tony Batchelor): New to Ted Wentz (Philadelphia, PA) and raced in the 1974 British Formula Atlantic season. To New Zealander Alan Crocker, who had moved to England to race in the 1975 British series, but a blown engine curtailed his season. Used occasionally in the 1976 Indylantic series and in libre racing. Croker took the car to New Zealand and raced it in the 1977 Formula Pacific series, then sold it there to Ken Smith, who rented it to Ken Sager to drive in the 1977/78 Gold Star series, and to Robbie Booth for the 1978/79 season. It reappeared with Robbie Hislop in 1981/82, then to Tony Batchelor for 1982/83. Last seen when raced by Keith Laney in 1984/85, and sold by him back to Kenny Smith some time before 1988. Later sold by Smith to Richard Carter in Australia to donate parts to Carter's rebuild of March 73B/8. The remains of the car were sold with the 73B to George Makin (Melbourne, Australia) about 2005.
  6. March 77B [75B/"8"—2] (Ross Cameron): Carrying chassis plate 75B-8, this car was bought by Kiwi Dave Saunders from March in 1976, after it had been returned to the works. It is unclear why 75B-8 would have been in England but March records do contain a note saying that its Shierson Racing sister car 75B-2 was returned to England for repairs. Presumably Saunders, who had raced in the UK in 1976, took it back with him to New Zealand because it appears in the first two rounds of the 1977 NZ series, being badly damaged in practice for the second. A NZ vehicle registration document [required for all cars in NZ] dated 10 Nov 77 confirms the plate is chassis number 8. The Pukekohe damage was made good with a new tub, bought not from March but John Thompson's fabrication company, numbered M772PU6. The car is now in Australia, and these documents were forwarded from the owner via Bryan Miller, and had been confirmed with Dave Saunders. Saunders reappeared with the car, now entered as a 77B, in the New Zealand Formula Pacific series in 1980/81, but had major accidents at Pukekohe in January 1981 and in March 1981. The car was then sold to Ross Cameron's Willowbank Motor Court Ltd (Dunedin, NZ) in May 1981. Cameron raced it in the 1981/82, 1982/83 and 1983/84 series. It then went via Ken Smith to Allan Champion, and is believed to be car raced by Geoff Champion in the 1985/86 series. It then passed via Smith again to Gerry Duyvestyn (Australia) in September 1989. It was bought by Howard Blight (Sydney, NSW) in August 1993, and raced in Australian historic events up to 2007. Sold to Robert Foster (Casino, NSW) and raced by him from 2008 onwards.
  7. Ralt RT4/81 [256] (Christian Danner): Ralt sales record says sold to Andrew Meidecke, without delivery date. [Tub no: 81/94; gearbox: FT1423; JM34732 11/80]. The car of Andrew Meidecke in the 1981 Australian season; chassis number given for Meidecke's car in NZMA report of 1981 AGP [NZMA 23 Nov 81 p4]; chassis number given for Meidecke's car at the Selangor GP 29 Nov 81 [NZMA 11 Jan 82 p3]. [CT]


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

The New Zealand race results have been provided by Chris Townsend based on material in Autosport and Motoring News reports in the UK, Motoraction in New Zealand plus the information supplied by a wide range of contributors.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.

Individual sources for this event

Autosport 27 Jan 1983 p52.