Lakeside "99"

Lakeside, 23 Feb 1964

1 Jack Brabham Brabham BT7A [IC-2-63] - Climax FPF 4
66 1h 06m 46.4s
2 John Youl Cooper T55 [F1-10-61] - Climax FPF 4
66 1h 07m 11.4s
3 Bruce McLaren Cooper T70 [FL-1-64] - Climax FPF 4
(see note 1)
66 1h 07m 41.1s
4 Frank Gardner (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Brabham BT6 [FJ-9-63] - Ford twin cam
(see note 2)
5 Tony Shelly Lola Mk4A [BRGP-44] - Climax FPF 4
6 Glyn Scott (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 27 [27-JM-18] - Ford
7 Greg Cusack (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Brabham BT6 [FJ-15-63] - Ford
(see note 3)
8 Rex Flowers (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 20B [20-J-953] - Ford pushrod
R Denis Hulme Brabham BT4 [IC-2-62] - Climax FPF 4
(see note 4)
62 puncture
R Lionel Ayers (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 20 [20-J-959] - Ford
R Arnold Glass (Tasman) 1.7-litre Lotus 27 [27-JM-24] - Ford
R Tim Mayer Cooper T70 [FL-2-64] - Climax FPF 4
(see note 5)
15 engine
R Frank Matich Brabham BT7A [IC-1-63] - Climax FPF 4
8 engine
R Dave Walker (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Brabham BT2 [FJ-12-62] - Ford
(see note 6)
DNS Leo Geoghegan (ANF1.5) 1.5-litre Lotus 27 [27-JM-11] - Ford
Did not start

All cars are 2.5-litre Tasman unless noted.

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Cooper T70 [FL-1-64] (Bruce McLaren): New for Tim Mayer to drive as a Bruce McLaren Motor Racing entry in the 1964 Tasman Cup. Mayer finished second at Levin and Teretonga, and third at Pukekohe. For Warwick Farm, he swapped cars with team leader Bruce McLaren, and McLaren then took FL-1-64 to second place at Warwick Farm and at Longford, winning the Tasman Championship by six points from his great rival Jack Brabham, Retained for the 1965 Tasman Cup to be driven by Phil Hill but raced by McLaren at Pukekohe after he damged his new T79 in the Heat. Hill toook three podium finishes in this car. Sold to Bill Patterson and entered for John McDonald in Australian Gold Star events in 1965, in the 1966 Tasman series and in Gold Star again in 1966. Sold to Don O'Sullivan prior to the Internationals in February 1967, but he failed to qualify at Lakeside or at Warwick Farm. O'Sullivan then raced it in Western Australia, primarily at Caversham, in 1967. It was sold to Gordon Stephenson (Perth, WA) in February 1968 and he raced it eight times that season. In March 1969, he sold it to Ken Jones (Hamilton Hill, WA), and it passed from Jones to Ken Barnard (Sydney, NSW). Barnard sold it to Richard Berryman (Melbourne, Victoria) in 1974. Remained with Richard Berryman until 1985 when it passed to his son Adam Berryman (Melbourne, Victoria). An extensive restoration began in 2001 which was finally completed in early 2010. Raced by Adam in the NZ Motor Racing Festival in January 2010, at Winton in August 2010, and at Phillip Island and the Australian Grand Prix historic demonstration in 2011. Now numbered FL/2/64.
  2. Brabham BT6 [FJ-9-63] (Frank Gardner): Brabham Racing Organisation for Denny Hulme in Formula Junior in 1963. To Alec Mildren Racing, fitted with a 1500cc Ford twin cam engine and raced in Australian national racing by Frank Gardner in 1964. To Roly Levis in November 1964 for New Zealand racing in 1965 and 1966. Entered by Levis for Bill Stone in 1966/67 then sold to Stone who raced it again in 1967/68. Sold to Gerald 'Jiggs' Alexander in September 1968 and raced in the 1968/69 and 1969/70 seasons, after which Alexander stripped the car with the intention of restoring it. However, it remained in this state until 1999 when it was sold to Ian McDonald (Australia) who restored the car and ran it in Australian historic racing from 2001 onwards. Sold to Ed Holly (Sydney, NSW) in July 2006 and raced in the Tasman Revival series from 2006/07 to 2012/13. Sold to Mark Shaw (Edinburgh, Scotland) early 2017, and raced by him at Monterey and Watkins Glen later that year.
  3. Brabham BT6 [FJ-15-63] (Greg Cusack): Sold to Greg Cusack for Australian Formula Junior in 1963, probably via Brabham's new Australian agent Alec Mildren Pty Ltd. Fitted with a 1500cc Ford engine for Australian national racing in 1964 then sold to Kurt Keller near the end of the year. Next seen early 1966,raced by Paul Bolton. Reappeared again in mid-1967 now back in 1100cc form for ANF2 and raced by Henk Woelders. Sold to Jon Davison, son of the late Lex Davison, for 1969 and raced by him for two more seasons. According to John Blanden's 'Historic Racing Cars in Australia, it was sold in 1970 to Harry and Val Forde and retained by them until 1999 when it was sold to Peter Johnson (Sydney, NSW). Raced by Johnson in historic FJ racing in Australia. Sold in 2010 to Tony Simmons (Sydney, NSW) and taken to the UK in 2011 for HSCC events and the Goodwood Revival.
  4. Brabham BT4 [IC-2-62] (Denis Hulme): New for Jack Brabham to drive in the Australian Internationals in February 1963. Then left with Repco over the Australian winter and used by Denny Hulme in the 1964 Tasman series. Sold to veteran Australian Lex Davison for the 1964 Australian Gold Star but heavily damaged in the accident that took Davison's life at Sandown Park early 1965. Sold with all Davison's equipment to Wally Mitchell and some parts used in the RM1 sports car in which Mitchell was later killed. The frame of the Brabham was not used in the RM1 and this was sold to Fred Wheelhouse and rebuilt as a complete car. Owned by David Sternberg in Tasmania in 1968 and probably the "rebuilt Brabham Climax" that Dave Powell Jnr raced in Tasmania in 1969. Then unknown until reported to be owned by Austin Miller (Launceston, Tasmania) in 1983. Still with Miller in 1995 but by 2000 it had moved to the UK and was owned by John Coombs, who sold it to Frank Sytner. Raced by Sytner from 2001 to 2008 and then sold to David Jacobs (Boulder, CO) and raced in the US until sold to Terry Rush in New Zealand in February 2011.
  5. Cooper T70 [FL-2-64] (Tim Mayer): New for Bruce McLaren to drive as a Bruce McLaren Motor Racing entry in the 1964 Tasman Cup. Bruce won at Pukekohe, Wigram and Teretonga Park in New Zealand but for the Warwick Farm race, he swapped cars with teammate Tim Mayer. Mayer was third at Warwick Farm and retired from the next race at Lakeside. During practice for the final round, at Longford, Mayer spun and his car hit a tree, killing him instantly. The car was destroyed in the accident.
  6. Brabham BT2 [FJ-12-62] (Dave Walker): Sold via Brabham's Australian agent Alec Mildren Pty Ltd to David Walker, and raced by Walker in 1963, 1964 and early 1965. Raced by Ralph Sach in 1965 then a Mildren entry with a 1500cc Ford twin cam for Frank Gardner and Kevin Bartlett during the 1965/66 season. To Competition Cars (Aust) for Mike Champion in the 1966 and 1967 Gold Star seasons, then to Brian Page for 1968. Entered by Graham Collier for Jack Bono in 1969. Through Australian owners Chris Farrell 1971, James Crawford 1973, Greg Kinlin 1977 and Graham Healey 1984 to Bryan Miller 1984 who restored it to Alec Mildren late 1965 spec with Ford twin-cam and raced extensively. To Colin Haste (Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia) 1998 and raced extensively in Australian Formula Junior Association events.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.