Levin International

Levin, 4 Jan 1964

1 Denis Hulme Brabham BT4 [IC-2-62] - Climax FPF 4
#3 Motor Racing Developments (see note 1)
28 24m 36.8s
2 Tim Mayer Cooper T70 [FL-1-64] - Climax FPF 4
#2 Bruce McLaren Motor Racing (see note 2)
28 24m 52.2s
3 Bruce McLaren Cooper T70 [FL-2-64] - Climax FPF 4
#1 Bruce McLaren Motor Racing (see note 3)
28 24m 55.8s
4 John Youl Cooper T55 [F1-10-61] - Climax FPF 4
28 25m 20.8s
5 Tony Shelly Lotus 18/21 ['P1'] - Climax FPF 4
28 25m 22.4s
6 Jim Palmer Cooper T53 ["F2-13-58"] - Climax FPF 4
#41 G J Palmer
28 25m 39.6s
7 Rex Flowers (Tasman) 1.5-litre Lotus 20B [20-J-953] - Ford pushrod
8 Roly Levis (Tasman) 1.65-litre Lotus 22 [22-J-47] - Ford pushrod
9 Neil Whittaker (Tasman) 2-litre Cooper Mk II 'T43' [F2-17-57] - Climax FPF 4
10 Andy Buchanan (Tasman) 1.6-litre Brabham BT6 [FJ-18-63] - Ford twin cam
#8 (see note 4)
11 Peter Slocombe (Tasman) 1.3-litre Lotus 18 [18-J-733] - Ford pushrod
12 Bill Thomasen (Tasman) 2-litre Cooper Mk IV 'T51' [F2-4-59] - Climax FPF 4
#9 Corsair Racing Team (see note 5)
oil pipe
R Bruce Abernethy (Tasman) 1.5-litre Cooper Mk I 'T41' ['F2-4-56' or 'F2-P-56'] - Climax FWB
#13 (see note 6)
R Chris Amon Lola Mk4A [BRGP-44] - Climax FPF 4
#4 Reg Parnell Racing Team
17 gearbox
DNS Bryan Thomas (Tasman) 1.3-litre Gemini Mk 3A - Ford pushrod
Did not start
DNS Dene Hollier (NZ 1.5) 1.5-litre Cooper FJ Mk I 'T52' - Ford pushrod
Did not start
DNQ Ken Sager (libre) 1.5-litre Lotus 20 - Ford pushrod
#7 J H Sager
Did not qualify
DNQ Ken Smith (NZ 1.5) 1.5-litre Lola Mk2 - Ford pushrod
#20 M Smith
Did not qualify
DNA Frank Matich Brabham BT7A [IC-1-63] - Climax FPF 4
#6 Team Total
Did not arrive
DNA David Young (NZ 1.5) 1.5-litre Cooper FJ Mk III 'T59' - Ford pushrod
Did not arrive
DNA Graham Pierce (Tasman) 2-litre Cooper Mk III 'T45' [F2-20-58] - Climax FPF 4
#12 Carlton Motors
Did not arrive

All cars are 2.5-litre Tasman unless noted.

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT4 [IC-2-62] (Denis Hulme): New for Jack Brabham to drive in the Australian Internationals in February 1963. Then left with Repco over the Australian winter and used by Denny Hulme in the 1964 Tasman series. Sold to veteran Australian Lex Davison for the 1964 Australian Gold Star but heavily damaged in the accident that took Davison's life at Sandown Park early 1965. Sold with all Davison's equipment to Wally Mitchell and some parts used in the RM1 sports car in which Mitchell was later killed. The frame of the Brabham was not used in the RM1 and this was sold to Fred Wheelhouse and rebuilt as a complete car. Owned by David Sternberg in Tasmania in 1968 and probably the "rebuilt Brabham Climax" that Dave Powell Jnr raced in Tasmania in 1969. Then unknown until reported to be owned by Austin Miller (Launceston, Tasmania) in 1983. Still with Miller in 1995 but by 2000 it had moved to the UK and was owned by John Coombs, who sold it to Frank Sytner. Raced by Sytner from 2001 to 2008 and then sold to David Jacobs (Boulder, CO) and raced in the US until sold to Terry Rush in New Zealand in February 2011.
  2. Cooper T70 [FL-1-64] (Tim Mayer): New for Tim Mayer to drive as a Bruce McLaren Motor Racing entry in the 1964 Tasman Cup. Mayer finished second at Levin and Teretonga, and third at Pukekohe. For Warwick Farm, he swapped cars with team leader Bruce McLaren and McLarne took FL-1-64 to second place at Warwick Farm and at Longford, winning the Tasman Championship by six points from his great rival Jack Brabham, Retained for the 1965 Tasman Cup to be driven by Phil Hill but raced by McLaren at Pukekohe after he damged his new T79 in the Heat. Hill toook three podium finishes in this car. Sold to Bill Patterson and entered for John McDonald in Australian Gold Star events in 1965, in the 1966 Tasman series and in Gold Star again in 1966. Sold to Don O'Sullivan in 1967 and raced in event in Western Australia, primarily at Caversham, by O'Sullivan in 1967 and by Gordon Stephenson in 1968. Sold to Ken Jones in 1969, then Ken Barnard in 1970 and then Richard Berryman in 1974. Remained with Richard Berryman until 1985 when it passed to his son Adam Berryman (Melbourne, Australia). An extensive restoration began in 2001 which was finally completed in early 2010. Raced by Adam in the NZ Motor Racing Festival in January 2010, at Winton in August 2010, and at Phillip Island and the Australian Grand Prix historic demonstration in 2011. Now numbered FL/2/64.
  3. Cooper T70 [FL-2-64] (Bruce McLaren): New for Bruce McLaren to drive as a Bruce McLaren Motor Racing entry in the 1964 Tasman Cup. Bruce won at Pukekohe, Wigram and Teretonga Park in New Zealand but for the Warwick Farm race, he swapped cars with teammate Tim Mayer. Mayer was third at Warwick Farm and retired from the next race at Lakeside. During practice for the final round, at Longford, Mayer spun and his car hit a tree, killing him instantly. The car was destroyed in the accident.
  4. Brabham BT6 [FJ-18-63] (Andy Buchanan): A very late-1963 car for Andy Buchanan to race in Australian 1500cc racing with a Ford twin cam engine. Retained for 1965 then to Bill Caldwell for 1966 then to Peter Yock for 1967. Yock is known to have returned the car to England for repairs but its history after is still being researched.
  5. Cooper Mk IV 'T51' [F2-4-59] (Bill Thomasen): "Works Car No. 2" according to the Cooper Register. Believed to be Jack Brabham's main car during the early part of 1959 and then became a spare car when 27-59 appeared at Zandvoort. According to Doug Nye's Cooper Cars, this would then appear to be Jack Brabham's 1960 NZ GP car.
  6. Cooper Mk I 'T41' ['F2-4-56' or 'F2-P-56'] (Bruce Abernethy): The first of the Cooper Mk Is, this car was fitted with a single cam 1460cc Coventry-Climax FWB engine and raced by Roy Salvadori at the 1956 British GP support race and on three further occasions in August and September. It was then sold to Syd Jensen in New Zealand, still with its FWB engine, and later passed through the hands of Ron Frost, Tony Shelly, Bruce Abernethy and Bill Clark. The chassis number of this car is unclear. It may not have had one. (Sources: Cooper Cars, Nye; Historic Racing Cars of New Zealand, Vercoe)


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.

Individual sources for this event

There were two heats for this race.