Irish Formula Atlantic 1975

Patsy McGarrity was not ready to loosen his grip on Irish Formula Atlantic and bought a new Chevron B29 for 1975. With this car he won nine of the fifteen Formula Atlantic races to be held in the island that year, and retained his RIAC All-Ireland Formula Atlantic Championship title, and also won the 500 MRCI's new Northern Ireland Formula Atlantic Championship. Unfortunately, we know little of these two championships, and would welcome any information confirming the championship rounds and the final points table.

Des Donnelly retained his March 73B and won three races. The other race winners were Harold McGarrity and John Pollock, both driving 1973 Chevron B25s, and Alo Lawler who brought his Chevron B29 over from Lancashire for a race at Kirkistown in July. Ken Fildes and Walter Kinnear in ageing Lotus 69s, Bill Gowdy in a March 74B and John Smith in his March 722 were all competitive runners.

The races

17 Mar 1975 > Mondello Park

31 Mar 1975 > Mondello Park

20 Apr 1975 > Mondello Park

26 Apr 1975 > Kirkistown

11 May 1975 > Mondello Park

31 May 1975 > Kirkistown

02 Jun 1975 > Mondello Park

15 Jun 1975 > Mondello Park

05 Jul 1975 > Texaco Ulster Trophy at Kirkistown

20 Jul 1975 > Mondello Park

23 Aug 1975 > Kirkistown

24 Aug 1975 > Mondello Park

31 Aug 1975 > John Player Grand Prix at Phoenix Park

14 Sep 1975 > Texaco Leinster Trophy at Mondello Park

27 Oct 1975 > Mondello Park

28 Dec 1975 > Mondello Park

BP Formula Atlantic Championship of Ireland events shown in bold

1975 BP Formula Atlantic Championship of Ireland table

1Patsy McGarrityChevron B29 - Ford BDA Fred Smith  

1975 Northern Ireland Formula Atlantic Championship table

1Patsy McGarrityChevron B29 - Ford BDA Fred Smith