Swedish Formula 3 Championship Race

Mantorp Park, 11 May 1975

1 Conny Ljungfeldt March 743 [21] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor
#28 Rotel Racing Team
16 29m 27.3s
2 Håkan Alriksson GRD 373 [049-F3] - Ford ohc Holbay
16 29m 32.6s
3 Lars-Åke Olsson Merlyn Mk 22 [440/F3/73] - Ford twin cam Vegantune
#26 (see note 1)
16 29m 39.8s
4 Jan Ridell GRD 372 [010-F3] - BMW M10 Billgren
#6 Autosport (see note 2)
16 29m 51.6s
5 Erkki Salminen Brabham BT41 [21] - Ford twin cam Holbay
#4 Vätterleden Racing
16 29m 57.8s
6 Christer Friberg GRD 375 [102-F3] - Ford twin cam Neil Brown
#29 Hans Wängstre Racing
7 Curt Norrman Brabham BT35 [34] - Ford twin cam
8 Rolf Johansson Brabham BT38C [21] - Ford twin cam
#36 (see note 3)
9 Anders Hermansson Brabham BT41 [20] - Ford twin cam
10 Bonde Hallenmark Brabham BT35 [14] - Ford twin cam
UNK Thorbjörn Carlsson Brabham BT38C [18] - Ford twin cam Holbay
#27 (see note 4)

DNSC Bengt Arvelid GRD 373 [047-F3] - Ford twin cam
#35 Hans Wängstre Racing
Did not start (crashed)
DNA Lars "Lasse" Karlsson Brabham BT38C [14] - Ford twin cam
#16 AB Kanapébageriet Malmö (see note 5)
Did not arrive
DNA Tommy 'Slim' Borgudd Brabham BT41 [14] - Ford twin cam
#34 Autoplast Racing (see note 6)
Did not arrive

All cars are 2-litre F3 unless noted.

1 Conny Ljungfeldt (F3) 2-litre March 743 [21] - Toyota 2T-G Novamotor 1m 32.0s
2 Erkki Salminen (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT41 [21] - Ford twin cam Holbay 1m 34.0s
3 Håkan Alriksson (F3) 2-litre GRD 373 [049-F3] - Ford ohc Holbay 1m 34.1s
4 Lars-Åke Olsson (F3) 2-litre Merlyn Mk 22 [440/F3/73] - Ford twin cam Vegantune 1m 34.9s
5 Jan Ridell (F3) 2-litre GRD 372 [010-F3] - BMW M10 Billgren 1m 35.1s
6 Curt Norrman (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT35 [34] - Ford twin cam 1m 36.9s
7 Rolf Johansson (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT38C [21] - Ford twin cam 1m 39.7s
8 Thorbjörn Carlsson (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT38C [18] - Ford twin cam Holbay 1m 41.1s
9 Anders Hermansson (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT41 [20] - Ford twin cam 1m 42.9s
10 Bonde Hallenmark (F3) 2-litre Brabham BT35 [14] - Ford twin cam 1m 48.6s

Notes on the cars:

  1. Merlyn Mk 22 [440/F3/73] (Lars-Åke Olsson): New to Håkan Dahlqvist for British and European F3 in 1973, and described as a "Mk 22". Dahlqvist won the Swedish F3 title in this car. Retained by Dahlqvist for Swedish F3 in 1974, when it was also driven at one race by Matts Nygren. To Lars-Åke Olsson for Swedish F3 in 1975. To Thomas Gunnarsson for Swedish F3 in 1976. To Thorbjörn Bäck for Swedish F3 in 1977. Subsequent history unknown, but in about 1987 or 1988, Richard Parkin located the car in Sweden and brought it back to England. He sold it to Anthony Taylor about a year later, and Taylor restored it to Formula B specification, using it briefly in HSCC historic racing. Taylor's understanding was that it was Dahlqvist's Swedish F3 championship winning car. The car was later sold via Chris Alford about 1994 or 1995. Richard Taylor, Anthony's son, recalls that it might have gone to Canada.
  2. GRD 372 [010-F3] (Jan Ridell): Raced by Canadian David McConnell in the 1972 Tasman series, using 2-litre Hart BDA engines. McConnell had a new B72 on order, and his plan was to sell the prototype to Jacques Couture. When that fell through, 010 was converted to F3 and sold to Mo Harness. Harness had won the 1971 Formula Ford Johnsons Wax Euro Trophy but turned down the test drive that had been offered as a prize with Ken Tyrrell and an F2 March. After a brief relationship with GRD, he then used an old BT28 F3 car in the first half of 1972 before acquiring sponsorship from Revolution Wheels and returning to GRD mid-season. Harness raced the GRD in British Formula 3 using Leabro engines. He then sold it to Jac Nellemann for Swedish F3 in 1973. In 1974, the car went to Jan Ridell, who raced it in Swedish 3, now using 2-litre Vegantune engines. Retained by Ridell for 1975, when he used Billgren BMW engines. Retained again by Ridell for 1976. To Dick Berg for Swedish F3 in 1977 and 1978, again with the Billgren BMW engines. Next seen in 1980, when it was raced by Mats Karlsson, now using Vegantune twin cams. Retained by Karlsson for 1981.
  3. Brabham BT38C [21] (Rolf Johansson): New to Conny Andersson and raced in European F3 in 1972 using Novamotor engines. Retained at the start of 1973, until Andersson's new March 733 arrived. To Mats Byström, and raced in Swedish F3 in 1973. To Rolf Johansson, and raced by him in Swedish F3 in 1974 and 1975.
  4. Brabham BT38C [18] (Thorbjörn Carlsson): New to Allan McCully and raced as part of the Australian International Racing Organisation (AIRO) in British F3 and some European events in 1972. The car was owned by Larry Sevitt's Tiran Auto Centre, which ran the AIRO F3 operation in the UK. Badly damaged on its debut at Silverstone in April but presumably repaired and the car driven by McCully at Monaco in mid-May. Then raced by Bill McGovern at Brands Hatch two weeks later, and crashed again, after which AIRO split up and McCully flew back to New Zealand. Irishman Damien Magee took over the drive, now entered by Tiran Auto Centre, and finished second at Brands Hatch and third at Thruxton in August. Sevitt was planning to test Ian Taylor and Barrie Maskell in August, but Magee retained the drive until the end of October. The "ex-Magee" car was advertised with Novamotor engine from a Tunbridge Wells number in January 1973. This would presumably be the "ex Magee" BT38C of Leif Spalding in Swedish F3 in 1973. Then with Thorbjörn Carlsson in 1975 and 1976. Subsequent history unknown.
  5. Brabham BT38C [14] (Lars "Lasse" Karlsson): New to Ulf Svensson for European F3 in 1972, using Holbay engines and sponsored by Team Mum for Men. According to Magnus Haggstam, this car went to Lasse Karlsson for 1973 and raced by him in F3 until at least 1975. Then to Kaal Wirgin in 1976, and raced by him Swedish Formula 3 Championship races in 1977 and 1978, before he acquired a newer Argo. The car was next seen in 2000, when it was acquired by Carsten Frimodt (Denmark). It was restored to F2 specification with an 1860cc engine and was raced by Frimodt in Sweden in 2006 and 2007. Frimodt sold it to another Dane who sold it to Dr Sami Hamid (Vienna, Austria) in 2010. It was restored for him by Marcel Biehl of Biehl Racing (Moenchengladbach, Germany) to proper F3 specification. It was sold to John Albiston (Elgin, Scotland) in 2018, who modified it to Formula Atlantic specification and used to win the Scottish Historic Hillclimb and Sprint Championship in 2019 and 2020.
  6. Brabham BT41 [14] (Tommy 'Slim' Borgudd): New to Ulf Svensson in 1973.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.