SSK F3 Series Race

Anderstorp, 4 May 1975

1 Lars-Åke Olsson Merlyn Mk 22 [440/F3/73] - Ford twin cam Vegantune
#9 (see note 1)
8 13m 39.2s
2 Erkki Salminen Brabham BT41 [21] - Ford twin cam Holbay
#21 Vätterleden Racing
8 13m 42.5s
3 Henrik Spellerberg GRD 374 [373-043] - Ford twin cam Novamotor
#24 Texaco Racing DK
8 13m 42.7s
4 Lars Svensson Brabham BT35 [20] - Ford twin cam
#2 Skrea Motell
5 Leif Engström Brabham BT28/35 [BT28-43] - Ford twin cam
#1 (see note 2)
6 Thorbjörn Carlsson Brabham BT38C [18] - Ford twin cam Holbay
#15 (see note 3)
7 Nils-Åke Carlborg Brabham BT28 [32] - Ford twin cam Holbay
#5 Aneby Hus Racing Team
8 Thomas Waara (FSV) 1.6-litre Lola T252 [HU39] VW
#11 Bofors Trä
9 C-G Linnaeus Brabham BT28 [4] - Ford twin cam
#23 Auto Alfa AB (see note 4)
10 Bonde Hallenmark Brabham BT35 [14] - Ford twin cam
11 Anders Hermansson Brabham BT41 [20] - Ford twin cam
12 Lars "Lasse" Karlsson Brabham BT38C [14] - Ford twin cam
#19 AB Kanapébageriet Malmö (see note 5)
13 Hans Persson Brabham - Ford
14 Kjell Karlsson Brabham BT35 - Ford twin cam
#16 HEMI
15 Bo Winberg (F3) 1.6-litre Brabham BT35 - Ford twin cam Holbay
#7 Bäcks Racing Team (see note 6)
R Mats Peterson Paninder (FSV) 1.6-litre Kaimann 74 VW
#22 Castrol Trave Line
4 Tndning
DNA Jan Hammarström Brabham BT35 [26] - Ford twin cam
#3 Team Kenitex
Did not arrive
DNA Ronny Hansson March 733 [16] - Ford twin cam Novamotor
#8 H-Fönstret
Did not arrive
DNA Kjell Andersson Merlyn Mk 21 [328/F3/72] - Ford twin cam Vegantune
#18 (see note 7)
Did not arrive

All cars are 2-litre F3 unless noted.

Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Merlyn Mk 22 [440/F3/73] (Lars-Åke Olsson): New to Håkan Dahlqvist for British and European F3 in 1973, and described as a "Mk 22". Dahlqvist won the Swedish F3 title in this car. Retained by Dahlqvist for Swedish F3 in 1974, when it was also driven at one race by Matts Nygren. To Lars-Åke Olsson for Swedish F3 in 1975. To Thomas Gunnarsson for Swedish F3 in 1976. To Thorbjörn Bäck for Swedish F3 in 1977. Subsequent history unknown, but in about 1987 or 1988, Richard Parkin located the car in Sweden and brought it back to England. He sold it to Anthony Taylor about a year later, and Taylor restored it to Formula B specification, using it briefly in HSCC historic racing. Taylor's understanding was that it was Dahlqvist's Swedish F3 championship winning car. The car was later sold via Chris Alford about 1994 or 1995. Richard Taylor, Anthony's son, recalls that it might have gone to Canada.
  2. Brabham BT28/35 [BT28-43] (Leif Engström): A new car for Gustaf Dieden which first appeared at Karlskoga in August 1970 and raced in Scandinavian F3. Then hired by Torsten Palm, who had previously raced a BT28 for Picko Troberg's Mennen Racing Team, and used as a private entry in the Torneio Brasileiro de Formula 3. Retained by Palm in 1000cc form for the start of the 1971 Swedish F3 series as his new 1600cc BT35 was not yet ready. To Leif Engström 1972-1975 then Mats Peterson Paninder 1976 and 1977. Subsequent history unknown.
  3. Brabham BT38C [18] (Thorbjörn Carlsson): New to Allan McCully and raced as part of the Australian International Racing Organisation (AIRO) in British F3 and some European events in 1972. The car was owned by Larry Sevitt's Tiran Auto Centre, which ran the AIRO F3 operation in the UK. Badly damaged on its debut at Silverstone in April but presumably repaired and the car driven by McCully at Monaco in mid-May. Then raced by Bill McGovern at Brands Hatch two weeks later, and crashed again, after which AIRO split up and McCully flew back to New Zealand. Irishman Damien Magee took over the drive, now entered by Tiran Auto Centre, and finished second at Brands Hatch and third at Thruxton in August. Sevitt was planning to test Ian Taylor and Barrie Maskell in August, but Magee retained the drive until the end of October. The "ex-Magee" car was advertised with Novamotor engine from a Tunbridge Wells number in January 1973. This would presumably be the "ex Magee" BT38C of Leif Spalding in Swedish F3 in 1973. Then with Thorbjörn Carlsson in 1975 and 1976. Subsequent history unknown.
  4. Brabham BT28 [4] (C-G Linnaeus): New for Ulf Svensson (Sweden) and raced in European F3 in 1969. Retained for 1970 and entered for Conny Andersson in European F3. Retained early 1971 but then unknown until noted by F1 Register as the car of C-G. Linnaeus in 1976. Subsequent history unknown but a car with this number in historic racing from 1999 onwards.
  5. Brabham BT38C [14] (Lars "Lasse" Karlsson): New to Ulf Svensson for European F3 in 1972, using Holbay engines and sponsored by Team Mum for Men. According to Magnus Haggstam, this car went to Lasse Karlsson for 1973 and raced by him in F3 until at least 1975. Then to Kaal Wirgin in 1976, and raced by him Swedish Formula 3 Championship races in 1977 and 1978, before he acquired a newer Argo. The car was next seen in 2000, when it was acquired by Carsten Frimodt (Denmark). It was restored to F2 specification with an 1860cc engine and was raced by Frimodt in Sweden in 2006 and 2007. Frimodt sold it to another Dane who sold it to Dr Sami Hamid (Vienna, Austria) in 2010. It was restored for him by Marcel Biehl of Biehl Racing (Moenchengladbach, Germany) to proper F3 specification. It was sold to John Albiston (Elgin, Scotland) in 2018, who modified it to Formula Atlantic specification and used to win the Scottish Historic Hillclimb and Sprint Championship in 2019 and 2020.
  6. Brabham BT35 (Bo Winberg): Conny Andersson (Sweden) raced a Brabham BT35 in Formula 3 around Europe in 1971, sponsored by Private Press AB. It was observed as chassis BT35-30, but as that car was also reported in Italy, its identity remains uncertain. Andersson raced the car again in early 1972 until his Brabham BT38C arrived, but appears to have kept the BT35 as a backup, and raced it a few times later in 1972 and in 1973. However, Andersson is also reported to have acquired BT35-34. In May 1973, he acquired a March 733, and was not seen in a Brabham again. According to a chassis plate observation reported by the F1 Register, this car went to Curt-Rune Johansson later in 1973. According to Chris Townsend's research, it was Bo Winberg's car in Swedish F3 in 1975. Subsequent history unknown.
  7. Merlyn Mk 21 [328/F3/72] (Kjell Andersson): New to Håkan Dahlqvist for Formula 3 in Sweden and England. Dahlqvist won at Mantorp Park in June and Knutstorp in September. Retained by Dahlqvist's Karlssons Klister Racing Team as a second car in 1973 and driven by Stig Blomqvist and Conny Ljungfeldt. It was then sold to Mats Byström for 1974. To Kjell Andersson for 1975. Retained by Andersson for 1976 and 1977. Subsequent history unknown.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.