Guards F5000 Championship round

Thruxton, 9 Aug 1970

1 Frank Gardner Lola T190 [190/F1/14] - Chevrolet V8
#30 Motor Racing Research Ltd
2 Peter Gethin McLaren M10B [400-06] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8
#1 Sidney Taylor
3 Howden Ganley McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8
#12 Howden Ganley Racing (see note 1)
4 Mike Hailwood Lola T190 ["A"] - Chevrolet V8
#3 Epstein-Cuthbert TEAM LOLA
5 Alan Rollinson Surtees TS5A [008] - Chevrolet V8
#70 Alan Rollinson
6 David Prophet McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8
#21 David Prophet
7 Tony Lanfranchi Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] - Chevrolet V8
#7 Ulf Norinder Racing (see note 2)
8 Fred Saunders Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
#66 Mermaid Racing
9 Ray Calcutt Lola T142 [SL142/36] - Chevrolet V8
#63 Alan Fraser
10 Bob Miller (F5000) 4.7-litre Dulon LD8 [1] - Ford 289 ci JW V8
#98 Robert Miller
11 Brian Tarrant Harris RH5 - Chevrolet V8
#90 Ray Harris Ltd.
12 Dave Berry (F5000) 4.5-litre Brabham BT16/21B [F2-19-65] - Rover V8
#28 David Berry (see note 3)
13 Lingard Goulding Beattie P1100 ['1'] - Chevrolet Traco V8
#31 B.+I. Motorway to Ireland (see note 4)
14 Davey Powell Lola T142 [SL142/22] - Chevrolet V8
#78 Doug Hardwick
15 Trevor Taylor Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet V8
#77 Doug Hardwick (see note 5)
16 Kaye Griffiths Lola T142 [SL142/35] - Chevrolet Traco V8
#10 Ulf Norinder Racing
DNS Peter Hawtin Cooper T90 [F1C/2.69] - Chevrolet V8
#16 Peter Hawtin
Did not start
DNSC Roy Pike Leda LT20 [3] - Chevrolet V8
#11 M.F. Bridgeland
Did not start (crashed)
UNKE Graham McRae McLaren M10B - Chevrolet V8
#2 Graham McRae
On entry list
UNKE Mike Walker McLaren M10B - Chevrolet V8
#4 Alan McKechnie
On entry list
UNKE Willie Forbes Lola T142 [SL142/31] - Chevrolet V8
#9 William Forbes
On entry list
UNKE John Myerscough (F5000) 4.5-litre Brabham BT11/19 - Oldsmobile Traco V8
#23 John Butterworth
On entry list

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Peter Gethin150.18.47.2112.87
2Frank Gardner150.18.47.8
3Howden Ganley150.19.03.6
4Alan Rollinson150.19.23.4
5Mike Hailwood150.19.26.0
6David Prophet14
7Fred Saunders14
8Tony Lanfranchi14
9Ray Calcutt14
10Davey Powell14
11Bob Miller14
12Brian Tarrant13
13Dave Berry13
14Trevor Taylor9Handling
15Lingard Goulding8
16Kaye Griffiths4Overheating
17Peter HawtinDid not start (Distributor)
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1Frank Gardner150.18.40.8
2Peter Gethin150.18.41.6
3Mike Hailwood150.18.53.8
4Howden Ganley150.19.04.8
5Alan Rollinson150.19.12.4
6David Prophet150.19.51.8
7Tony Lanfranchi150.19.55.2
8Fred Saunders14
9Ray Calcutt14
10Lingard Goulding14
11Bob Miller14
12Brian Tarrant13
13Dave Berry12
14Kaye Griffiths1Engine
Davey Powell0Did not start (Oil leak)
1 Frank Gardner (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 [190/F1/14] - Chevrolet V8 1.13.6
2 Peter Gethin (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-06] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8 1.13.8
3 Howden Ganley (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8 1.14.0
4 Mike Hailwood (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 ["A"] - Chevrolet V8 1.14.8
5 Alan Rollinson (F5000) 5-litre Surtees TS5A [008] - Chevrolet V8 1.16.2
6 Tony Lanfranchi (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] - Chevrolet V8 1.17.4
7 Trevor Taylor (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet V8 1.18.2
8 David Prophet (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8 1.20.0
9 Fred Saunders (F5000) 5-litre Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8 1.20.2
10 Ray Calcutt (F5000) 5-litre Lola T142 [SL142/36] - Chevrolet V8 1.23.8
11 Bob Miller (F5000) 4.7-litre Dulon LD8 [1] - Ford 289 ci JW V8 1.24.0
12 Lingard Goulding (F5000) 5-litre Beattie P1100 ['1'] - Chevrolet Traco V8 1.25.6
13 Davey Powell (F5000) 5-litre Lola T142 [SL142/22] - Chevrolet V8 1.27.2
14 Brian Tarrant (F5000) 5-litre Harris RH5 - Chevrolet V8 1.27.4
15 Dave Berry (F5000) 4.5-litre Brabham BT16/21B [F2-19-65] - Rover V8 1.27.8
16 Kaye Griffiths (F5000) 5-litre Lola T142 [SL142/35] - Chevrolet Traco V8 1.35.6

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M10B [400-05] (Howden Ganley): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  2. Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] (Tony Lanfranchi): New for Ulf Norinder and raced in the 1970 Tasman series. Then raced in the UK 1970 but crashed in practice for R4 Zandvoort 19 April 1970 and rebuilt on the 11th T190 tub as 190/F1/2-2. Raced again by Norinder for five more races then raced by Tony Lanfranchi at two races but crashed on the warm-up lap at the Oulton Park Gold Cup on 22 August. The car broke its back on landing and was not seen again. Presumed destroyed.
  3. Brabham BT16/21B [F2-19-65] (Dave Berry): Jack Brabham's works SCA-engined BT16, used during the 1965 mid-season and also raced by Chris Irwin when the Honda project was revived. To Robs Lamplough (London) for 1966 and retained for 1967. To John Watson (Craigavad, County Down, Northern Ireland) for Irish racing in 1967 and fitted with a Lotus-Ford twin-cam. Retained for 1968. Sold to Dave Berry (Colwyn Bay, Wales) for 1969 and used in UK libre; then fitted with an Oldsmobile V8 for 1970, 1971 and 1972. Last seen in October 1972.
  4. Beattie P1100 ['1'] (Lingard Goulding): Built mid-1970 for Lingard Goulding to race in Formula 5000, and in occasional libre races. Retained for 1971 in 'P1100B' specification, but crashed heavily by Goulding at Mallory Park in early July and written off.
  5. Lola T190 [190/F1/7] (Trevor Taylor): New to Doug Hardwick's Henley Forklift for the 1970 UK F5000 series. Raced by Mo Nunn (2 races), Davey Powell (7 races + 2 DNS) and Trevor Taylor (6 races) in 1970, then Kaye Griffiths (2 races + 1 DNQ), Terry Sanger (1 race only), Ian Ashley (3 races) and Tony Trimmer (1 race only) in 1971. To Rocky Plumridge for 1972 and raced by Ian Ashley (9 races + DNQ for Rothmans £50,000). Subsequent history unknown.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.