Rothmans F5000 Championship round

Silverstone, 14 Aug 1971

1 Mike Hailwood Surtees TS8 [005] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 1)
25 36m 38.0s
119.85 mph
2 Frank Gardner Lola T300 [P] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 2)
25 37m 15.4s
3 Teddy Pilette McLaren M10B [400-20] - Chevrolet V8
25 37m 48.2s
4 Mike Walker Lola T192 [HU26] - Chevrolet V8
25 38m 01.8s
5 Graham McRae McLaren M10B [400-11S] - Chevrolet V8
25 38m 03.8s
6 David Prophet McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8
7 Fred Saunders Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
8 Alan Rollinson Surtees TS8 [007] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 3)
9 Peter Hawtin Cooper T90 [F1C/2.69] - Chevrolet V8
R Brian Redman McLaren M18 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 4)
22 out of fuel
R Bob Miller Dulon LD8 [1] - Chevrolet V8
21 petrol pump
R Trevor Taylor Leda LT25 [002] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 5)
13 clutch
R Terry Sanger Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 6)
R Gordon Spice McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 7)
5 piston failure
R Jock Russell Lotus 70 [06] - Ford V8
(see note 8)
2 ignition
DNSC Ray Allen McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8
Did not start (crashed)

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

1 Mike Hailwood (F5000) 5-litre Surtees TS8 [005] - Chevrolet V8 1.24.8
2 Frank Gardner (F5000) 5-litre Lola T300 [P] - Chevrolet V8 1.25.2
3 Graham McRae (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-11S] - Chevrolet V8 1.26.6
4 Alan Rollinson (F5000) 5-litre Surtees TS8 [007] - Chevrolet V8 1.27.0
5 Gordon Spice (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8 1.27.6
6 David Prophet (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8 1.28.8
7 Brian Redman (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8 1.29.2
8 Mike Walker (F5000) 5-litre Lola T192 [HU26] - Chevrolet V8 1.33.4
9 Ray Allen * (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8 1.34.0
10 Bob Miller (F5000) 5-litre Dulon LD8 [1] - Chevrolet V8 1.37.8
11 Jock Russell (F5000) 5-litre Lotus 70 [06] - Ford V8 1.40.8
12 Trevor Taylor (F5000) 5-litre Leda LT25 [002] - Chevrolet V8 1.41.0
13 Fred Saunders (F5000) 5-litre Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8 1.43.2
14 Terry Sanger (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet V8 1.45.0
15 Teddy Pilette (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-20] - Chevrolet V8 1.49.4
16 Peter Hawtin (F5000) 5-litre Cooper T90 [F1C/2.69] - Chevrolet V8 1.49.8
* Did not start

Notes on the cars:

  1. Surtees TS8 [005] (Mike Hailwood): Built for 1971 season. Team Surtees (UK) 1971: raced by Mike Hailwood (won on debut; F1 Register also identify this as Hailwood's 1972 Tasman car - Herve Bayard (Belgium) 1972 with works spare car: raced in early UK F5000 races only; used in European Hill Climb Championship and converted one car to Cosworth DFV engine after opening round (finished second overall in championship). Bayard practiced 05 with a DFV at the Rothmans 50,000 on 28 August 1972 but was far too slow to qualify. Subsequent history unknown but possibly the Robin Darlington car in 1973. May have been owned by Alex Seldon at some point. Next seen when acquired by John Foulston in 1989. After Foulston's death, the TS8 passed to Noel Butler 1998. Appeared at Silverstone July 1998. Bought at auction by Robin Darlington 1999. To Mike Wrigley (Ashbourne, Derbyshire) 2002 and then sold to Dr John Monson (Hull) in 2004. Raced by Monson in the HSCC's Derek Bell Trophy (DBT) events in 2005 and 2006. To Stephen Gibson Mar 2007 and raced in DBT in 2008, 2009 and 2010. The car returned to the DBT in 2014 when owned by Chris Atkinson.
  2. Lola T300 [P] (Frank Gardner): Called a T242 at first race but this confused FB T240 owners so car renamed T300 for second race. Frank Gardner: UK 1971 (debuted R10 Thruxton 1 Aug). Raced four times before wrecked at Snetterton and replaced with first production T300.
  3. Surtees TS8 [007] (Alan Rollinson): New for Peter Revson at the 1971 Questor GP then for Alan Roillinson in UK series. To Alan Brodie 1972 and raced by Brodie and by Steve Thompson. To Servis Appliances Racing Team 1973 and raced by Ray Allan early in the season. Then possibly the Robin Darlington car in Sep 1973 Reappeared with Colin Andrews (Banbury, Oxfordshire) 1974, then to Steve Cuff (Frome, Somerset) 1975 for hillclimbs. To Alan Richards (Cheltenham) and used in sprints and occasional hill climbs in 1976 and 1977. Used in sprints and occasional hill climbs by Bob Clapham in 1978 and 1979. Then unknown until sold by Brian Redman to Dave Swigler (Panama City, FL) in 1986. Dave believes Brian got it from Richard Attwood about two years earlier. Retained until Swigler sold his collection to Harin De Silva (Palos Verdes Estates, CA) in 2009. Restored by Virtuoso Performance and first raced at Laguna Seca in August 2011. Also raced in New Zealand in the 2011/12 Tasman Revival series and at the Phillip Island Classic in March 2013.
  4. McLaren M18 [500-01] (Brian Redman): See full history: McLaren M18 500-01.
  5. Leda LT25 [002] (Trevor Taylor): Entered by Malaya Garages for Trevor Taylor in the 1971 European F5000 series. New at Monza in June 1971, where Trevor Taylor finished second. Used at the next four races but then heavily damaged in an accident at Oulton Park in October and written off.
  6. Lola T190 [190/F1/7] (Terry Sanger): New to Doug Hardwick's Henley Forklift team for the 1970 British Formula 5000 series. Raced by Mo Nunn (2 races), Davey Powell (7 races + 2 DNS) and Trevor Taylor (6 races) in 1970. To Kaye Griffiths (2 races + 1 DNQ), Terry Sanger (1 race only), Ian Ashley (3 races) and Tony Trimmer (1 race only) in 1971, during which time it was acquired by Rocky Plumridge. Retained by Plumridge for 1972 and raced by Ian Ashley (9 F5000 races, and DNQ for the Rothmans 50,000). Subsequent history unknown.
  7. McLaren M10B [400-05] (Gordon Spice): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  8. Lotus 70 [06] (Jock Russell): Jock Russell (Ford V8) UK 1970 (debut Mallory Park May 1970), UK 1971, UK 1972 (first rounds only); retained by Russell for many years - Peter Denty (date unknown): restored and raced in UK by Peter's son, James Denty. Raced by James at the Silverstone Classic in 2005 and at Watkins Glen in 2008. Offered for sale by Peter Denty (Thetford, Norfolk) in 2010. Raced again by James Denty at Watkins Glen in 2012 but on behalf of new owner Nick Grewal (Gilford, NH).


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.