Mita Copiers New Zealand International Formula Pacific race

Manfeild, 11 Jan 1987

1 Davy Jones Ralt RT4/86 [664] - Ford BDD
#4 G Lawrence Motorsport
27 29m 07.82s
2 Ken Smith Ralt RT4/86 [659] - Ford BDD
#11 K Smith
27 29m 19.09s
3 David Brabham Ralt RT4/86 [592] - Ford BDD
#2 Ralt Australia
27 29m 32.01s
4 Tony George Ralt RT4/84 - Ford BDD
#8 Dave White Motorsport
5 Bob Creasy Ralt RT4/82 [81-279] - Ford BDD
#76 B Creasy
6 Stuart McChesney March 77B ["763-U3"] - Ford BDD
NZ Couriers/Hammond International
(see note 1)
R Calvin Fish Ralt RT4/86 [594] - Ford BDD
#55 A McCall
22 Engine
R Stu Murphy Ralt RT4/81 - Ford BDD
#20 S Murphy
22 Engine
R Craig Coleman Ralt RT4/82 [81-275] - Ford BDD
#5 Shell Oil/Team CRC (see note 2)
16 Engine
R Mike Thackwell Ralt RT4/86 [591] - Ford BDD
#1 Ralt Australia
6 Misfire
R Paul Radisich Ralt RT4/83 - Ford BDD
#89 Mogal Group/89FM/Focus on Fish
6 Electrics
DNS David Kudrave Ralt RT4/86 - Ford BDD
#6 Dave White Motorsport
Did not start
DNA Michael Greenfield Ralt RT4/83 - Ford BDD
#87 Cameron Motorsport
Did not arrive

All cars are 1.6-litre F/Pac unless noted.

1 Davy Jones (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 [664] - Ford BDD
2 Mike Thackwell (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 [591] - Ford BDD
3 Paul Radisich (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/83 - Ford BDD
4 Ken Smith (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 [659] - Ford BDD
5 David Brabham (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 [592] - Ford BDD
6 David Kudrave * (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 - Ford BDD
7 Calvin Fish (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/86 [594] - Ford BDD
8 Tony George (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/84 - Ford BDD
9 Craig Coleman (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/82 [81-275] - Ford BDD
10 Bob Creasy (F/Pac) 1.6-litre Ralt RT4/82 [81-279] - Ford BDD
* Did not start

Notes on the cars:

  1. March 77B ["763-U3"] (Stuart McChesney): Brett Riley took delivery of a March 77B in December 1977 that is believed to have carried the chassis number 763-U3 when it arrived in New Zealand. Riley raced it in Formula Pacific in 1978, 1979 and 1980 before selling it to Tom Donovan who progressively modified it and ran it in hillclimbs as well as F/Pacific up to 1983. He then won the 1984 and 1985 NZ hillclimb championships running a 1800cc Cosworth engine in the car. It was sold to Stuart McChesney in 1985 and again used in hillclimbs. It then went to Kenny Smith around 1987 and then to John Mackinlay (Christchurch) around 1993 who restored it and raced it in historic racing 1994-1996. It passed to Garry Cliff (Magnum Motors, Christchurch) in November 1996 then Peter Finlay in Australia in August 1998 in exchange for a Reynard Formula Holden. It was sold to Kevin Miller in May 1999. Retained May 2003.
  2. Ralt RT4/82 [81-275] (Craig Coleman): Ralt sales record says sold to Mallock, delivered 2 Oct 81. [Tub no: gearbox: FT1476; fuel cell: JM36737 6/81]. Ray Mallock's car for Australian GP, 1981 and this number observed on Mallock's car in the NZMA report of that race, [NZMA 23 Nov 81 p4]. Dave McKinney's report of that race says that the car had been shaken down in a Formula Libre race in Britain. Chassis number given for the car of Hubert Phipps at the 1982 AGP. It is presumed the car was in fact owned by Bob Jane [owner of Calder] and leased to Mallock, and later to Phipps. [CT]


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

The New Zealand race results have been provided by Chris Townsend based on material in Autosport and Motoring News reports in the UK, Motoraction in New Zealand plus the information supplied by a wide range of contributors.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.

Individual sources for this event

On Track 16 Feb 1987 pp28. Results were compiled by Andrew Horrox using from New Zealand Motoring News, Australian Auto Action, On Track Magazine and official series programme.