New Zealand Formula Pacific 1987

Australian Gold Star champion Graham Watson brought his pair of Ralt Australia RT4/86s to New Zealand for the 1986/87 seasons, one for himself and the other for David Brabham, son of Sir Jack. The quickest of the locals was Ken Smith, who had a new Ralt RT4/86. Another local lad, Paul Radisich, had a 1983 Ralt RT4 and he peformed exceptionally well in the older car. Graeme Lawrence had also acquired a new RT4/86, and entered it for Davy Jones to drive, the American who had impressed in New Zealand two seasons earlier.

The New Zealand season started with three races in the Global Sports Formula Pacific series, but these only attracted seven starters and effectively acted as support races for touring cars races.

Mita Copiers stepped in to sponsor the main series of Internationals, and top of the bill for these was Mike Thackwell, a New Zealander who had been racing in Europe. Despite winning the 1984 F2 title, Thackwell had been unable to take his chances in F1 and CART in 1984, and had been racing in F3000 for the last two seasons. He took over Graham Watson's Ralt RT4/86 for the Mita Copiers series and won the first three races. Kiwi veteran Brett Riley drove Lawrence's car at Baypark, but Jones then took it over again to win three of the next four races.

The final pair of races was at Wigram. Jones' car misbehaved all weekend and he was well off the pace. With Thackwell only needing second places to clinch the title, Radisich won both Wigram races to take second place in the series.

The races

30 Nov 1986 > Manfeild

07 Dec 1986 > Baypark Raceway

14 Dec 1986 > Pukekohe

28 Dec 1986 > Baypark Raceway

28 Dec 1986 > Baypark Raceway

04 Jan 1987 > Pukekohe

04 Jan 1987 > New Zealand Grand Prix at Pukekohe

11 Jan 1987 > Manfeild

11 Jan 1987 > Manfeild

18 Jan 1987 > Wigram

18 Jan 1987 > Lady Wigram Trophy

Mita Copiers International Formula Pacific Series events shown in bold

1987 Mita Copiers International Formula Pacific Series table

1Mike ThackwellRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD49 pts3 wins
2Paul RadisichRalt RT4/83 - Ford BDD38 pts2 wins
3Davy JonesRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD34 pts3 wins
4Ken SmithRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD24 pts 
5David KudraveRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD16 pts 
6David BrabhamRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD12 pts 
7Chris KneifelRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD6 pts 
8=Calvin FishRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD4 pts 
8=Brett RileyRalt RT4/86 - Ford BDD4 pts 
10=Michael GreenfieldRalt RT4/83 - Ford BDD3 pts 
10=Peter HaskettRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD3 pts 
10=Tony GeorgeRalt RT4/84 - Ford BDD3 pts 
10=Bob CreasyRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD3 pts 

Previous: New Zealand 1986

Previous: Australia 1986

Points table from On Track 16 Feb 1987 p29.