New Zealand Formula Pacific 1982

After the confusion of 1981, the 1982 Aurora AFX Formula Pacific Championship was simplified, and now consisted of four races, each held as two heats. Several overseas visitor arrived for this season, Brazilian F3 star Roberto Moreno having already warmed up by taking Greg Siddle's Ralt RT4/82 to wins in Australian Grand Prix at Calder in November 1981, and the Selangor Grand Prix at Batu Tiga two weeks later. Moreno was in a class of his own at the opening Baypark round, but the two visitors from the San Francisco Bay area, Mike Rosen and John David Briggs, also went well. The leading locals were again Steve Millen and David Oxton, the reigning champion. All the main contenders were in 1981 or 1982 Ralt RT4s, but some variety was added by Briggs's March 81A and the vintage March 782/79B of local hero Kenny Smith.

The diminutive Brazilian was in scintillating form again at Pukekohe for the New Zealand Grand Prix, taking another comfortable victory. At Manfeild, he took his habitual pole position, won Heat 1 by a country mile, and was leading Heat 2 by a safe distance when he spun off into the rough at the start of the pit straight, handing Oxton an easy victory. With Millen coming fifth, the championship race closed right up going into the final round. Moreno surprised nobody by taking pole and winning the first heat, but there was some tension in Heat 2 when his engine lost power and Oxton closed to within a few seconds. In the end, Moreno had enough in hand, and took a thoroughly deserved championship. The win also gave him an unassailable lead in the FISA Pacific Basin Championship, with one Australian round still to run.

The races

03 Jan 1982 > Baypark Raceway

09 Jan 1982 > New Zealand Grand Prix at Pukekohe

16 Jan 1982 > Manfeild

24 Jan 1982 > Lady Wigram Trophy

1982 Aurora AFX Formula Pacific Championship table

1Roberto MorenoRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDA Nicholson60 pts3 wins
2David OxtonRalt RT4/80 - Ford BDA51 pts1 win
3Steve MillenRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDA46 pts 
4Dave McMillanRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDA24 pts 
5Ken SmithMarch 782/79B - Ford BDA22 pts 
6Robert HandfordRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDA19 pts 
7Graham WatsonRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDA16 pts 
8Mike RosenRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDA13 pts 
9Eric MorganRalt RT1 - Ford BDA12 pts 
10Peter GreenfieldRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDA12 pts 

Previous: the 1981 season

Next: the 1983 season