British Sprint Championship Round

Bassingbourne, 1 Oct 1972

1 Bob Rose (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-12] - Chevrolet V8
2 Johnty Williamson (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10A/B [300-08] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 1)
3 John Ravenscroft 1.6-litre Brabham BT21A [9] - Ford
(see note 2)
4 Rob Turnbull (libre) 1.6-litre Alexis - Ford twin cam
(see note 3)
5 John Bailey (FF) 1.6-litre Alexis Mk15 - Ford
6 David Render (GT) 3.5-litre Ginetta G12 [5] - Buick V8
7 Les Edmunds (FF) 1.6-litre Alexis Mk15 - Ford
8 John King (sports racing) 1.2-litre Landar R6 - BMC
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M10A/B [300-08] (Johnty Williamson): See full history: McLaren M10A 300-08.
  2. Brabham BT21A [9] (John Ravenscroft): Bought new by Tony Griffiths (Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire) and used in British hillclimbs in 1967. Retained for 1968, running a Vegantune twin-cam in the 1600cc class of the British Hill Climb Championship. Used again at the start of 1969 then sold to Chris Court, who continued to hillclimb it through the rest of 1969. Advertised by John Brown (Padiham, Lancashire) in April 1970, and again in September, still with its Vegantune engine, and then to John Ravenscroft for Sprints in 1971 and 1972, winning two rounds of the British Sprint Championship in 1972. To Richard Hartley for 1973, again being used in sprints. To Geoffrey Jackson April 1974 and then via Peter Bloore c1981-82 to Chris Crawford of ADA Engineering. During ADA's ownership, the car was rebuilt to F3 specification and raced by Mike Wilds in HSCC Historic F3. Then to Max Lane (Sydney, NSW, Australia) 1984. Retained until 1991 and then via Mike Broso (Junee, Australia) to Ron Coath (Yarralumla, Canberra, Australia) 1999. Raced regularly by Coath in historic racing until sold to Graeme Noonan (Phillip Island, Australia) August 2014.
  3. Alexis (Rob Turnbull): Rob Turnbull (Walmley, Warwickshire) ran an "F2" Alexis with Ford twin cam engine in sprints and hillclimbs in 1971, 1972 and 1973. Its previous history remains uncertain but Neil McCrudden has established that the car he currently owns, plated TR2, was Turnbull's car. He understands that it started life as a development F3 Mk9 in 1967, and was converted to F2 Mk10 specification probably in 1967. It is unknown from then until 1971. It went from Turnbull to Andy Turnock for 1974 before disappearing for another 20 years.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

The British Sprint Championship results were originally provided by Paul Parker and Steve Wilkinson and are based on material drawn from Motoring News, Autosport and Speedscene magazines plus results sheets and programmes provided by former competitors and by the organising clubs.

The identification of individual cars is based on the Formula 1, Formula 2, Formula 5000 and Formula Atlantic research work presented elsewhere on the site.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.