British Sprint Championship Round

Bassingbourne, 8 Aug 1976

1 Simon Riley (libre) 3-litre Brabham BT33 [3] - Cosworth DFV V8
2 David Render (F1) 3-litre Lotus 76 [2 JPS10] - Cosworth DFV V8
3 Dave Harris (libre) 5-litre McLaren M10B/M14D [400-06 (A)] - Chevrolet V8
4 Johnty Williamson (libre) 5.7-litre Surtees TS11 [02] - Chevrolet V8
5 Richard White (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10A/B [300-08] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 1)
6 Clive Bracey (libre) 5-litre Vebra Mk1 - Chevrolet turbo
7 Peter Fisk (1600cc class) 1.6-litre March 702 - Ford BDA
(see note 2)
2nd in 1600cc class
8 John Corfield (G6 2.0) 1.9-litre Martin BM10 [BM9-1?] - Ford BDA
(see note 3)
9 Les Edmunds (1600cc class) 1.6-litre Royale RP11A/X - Ford
1st in 1600cc class
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M10A/B [300-08] (Richard White): See full history: McLaren M10A 300-08.
  2. March 702 (Peter Fisk): Peter Fisk (Cambridge) raced a March 702 in speed events from 1974 to 1979. The car was fitted with a BDA engine, and Fisk sometimes shared with Robert Glass, also of Cambridge. Fisk advertised the car in October 1980. Subsequent history unknown.
  3. Martin BM10 [BM9-1?] (John Corfield): A new car built by Brian Martin late in 1972 and only raced on a handful of occasions. It was sold to John Corfield in 1973 as the BM10 and raced by Corfield and Peter Andrews with a 1600cc FVA engine for the next four years in the orange-and-black livery of Bradshaw Plant Hire. It was then acquired by Richard Simms (Ossett, West Yorkshire) and rebodied as a Skoda Super Saloon. It debuted in this guise at debut at Croft on Easter Monday 1978 and raced in Super Saloons for three seasons: firstly with Simms, then with Malcolm Johnstone from Sep 1978 onwards and then Ian Drew in 1980. It was acquired by Richard Brown in 1982 and restored back to Martin BM10 specification. He sold it to Peter-Paul Durig in Switzerland, apparently in exchange for the Martin BM9C, and he retained it until 1999 when it was sold back to England to George Douglas. Retained by Douglas and used in Orwell Supersports Cup races in 2003 and 2005.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

The British Sprint Championship results were originally provided by Paul Parker and Steve Wilkinson and are based on material drawn from Motoring News, Autosport and Speedscene magazines plus results sheets and programmes provided by former competitors and by the organising clubs.

The identification of individual cars is based on the Formula 1, Formula 2, Formula 5000 and Formula Atlantic research work presented elsewhere on the site.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.