British Sprint Championship Round

Wroughton, 20 Sep 1979

1 David Franklin (F2) 2-litre March 782 [9] - BMW M12/7 Euroracing
(see note 1)
2 Dave Harris (F5000) 5-litre McRae GM1 [012] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 2)
3 Rob Turnbull (libre) 2-litre March 762 [4] - Hart 420R
4 Simon Riley (libre) 3-litre March 741 [1] - Cosworth DFV V8
5 Richard Fry (sports) 2-litre Mallock U2 Mk 20B - Hart 420R
6 Mark Williams (clubmans) 1.6-litre Mallock U2 Mk 11/18 - Ford
7 Ray Rowan (F2) 2-litre March 742 [ex-Musetti] - Ford BDX
8 Bob Penzer (F5000) 5-litre Lola T332C [HU62] - Chevrolet V8
9 Ken Ayers (libre) 1.6-litre March 75/76B - Ford BDA
(see note 3)
10 Tim Moores (Clubmans Class A) 1.6-litre Gryphon C4A - Ford
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. March 782 [9] (David Franklin): Manfred Winkelhock's works car at Thruxton 27 Mar 1978 and presumably all season. He had an all-new chassis at Donington 25 Jun after his Rouen write-off but it presumably retained the same number. To David Franklin for hillclimbs in 1979, 1980 and 1981. Then with Fred Davies in 1982. Later with Bill Morris 1987-1990.
  2. McRae GM1 [012] (Dave Harris): See full history: McRae GM1/012.
  3. March 75/76B (Ken Ayers): Ken Ayers (Twyford, Berkshire) rebuilt his 1978 March "742X" with a 1975 March monocoque and 76B bodywork for the 1979 season, effectively ending its links with the original 713M identity. The new car then damaged again and rebuilt on a third tub using 1976 bodywork. Ayers advertised the car in November 1980 as a "75/76B rolling chassis, completely rebuilt by Lyncar 1980". It is possible that Ayers had acquired the ex-Howard Rose March 75/76B, as Rose was from Wokingham, just three miles from Ayers' team's base at Hurst, near Reading. Subsequent history unknown.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

The British Sprint Championship results were originally provided by Paul Parker and Steve Wilkinson and are based on material drawn from Motoring News, Autosport and Speedscene magazines plus results sheets and programmes provided by former competitors and by the organising clubs.

The identification of individual cars is based on the Formula 1, Formula 2, Formula 5000 and Formula Atlantic research work presented elsewhere on the site.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.