Guards F5000 Championship round

Anderstorp, 28 Jun 1970

1 Peter Gethin McLaren M10B [400-06] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8
#1 Sid Taylor
42 1h 05m 31.7s
2 Mike Walker McLaren M10B [400-03] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8
#4 Alan McKechnie (see note 1)
42 1h 06m 15.2s
3 Roy Pike Leda LT20 [3] - Chevrolet Bartz/Smith V8
#11 Malaya Garage Racing Division
42 1h 06m 25.0s
4 Mike Hailwood Lola T190 LWB ["A"] - Chevrolet Lola V8
#3 Epstein-Cuthbert Team Lola
42 1h 06m 35.4s
5 Keith Holland Lola T142 [SL142/36] - Chevrolet Traco V8
#63 Alan B. Fraser (see note 2)
6 Kaye Griffiths Lola T142 [SL142/35] - Chevrolet Traco V8
#10 Kaye Griffiths (see note 3)
7 Davey Powell Lola T190 [190/F1/7] - Chevrolet Vegantune V8
#77 Doug Hardwick (see note 4)
8 Howden Ganley McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8
#12 Howden Ganley Racing (see note 5)
9 Bob Miller (F5000) 4.7-litre Dulon LD8 [1] - Ford 289 ci JW V8
#98 Robert Miller
10 Fred Saunders Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
#66 Mermaid Racing
11 Derrick Williams Lola T142 [SL142/42] - Chevrolet V8
#33 Derrick Williams (see note 6)
12 Gordon Spice (F5000) 4.7-litre Kitchiner K3A [1] - Ford 289 ci JW V8
#99 Tony Kitchiner
DNS Ulf Norinder Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] - Chevrolet V8
#7 Ulf Norinder Racing (see note 7)
Did not start
DNA Jock Russell Lotus 70 [06] - Ford Boss 302 Shelby V8
#5 Jock Russell (see note 8)
Did not arrive
DNA John Myerscough (F5000) 4.5-litre Brabham BT11/19 - Oldsmobile Traco V8
#23 John Butterworth
Did not arrive
  Graham McRae McLaren M10B [400-11S] - Chevrolet V8
#2 Graham McRae
On entry list
  Chris Craft McLaren M10B [400-15] - Ford Boss 302 Falconer V8
#6 Sunderland Print Team Broadspeed
On entry list
  Trevor Taylor Surtees TS5A [009] - Chevrolet V8
#14 Team Surtees Ltd
On entry list
  Peter Hawtin Cooper T90 [F1C/2.69] - Chevrolet V8
#16 Peter Hewlin [sic]
On entry list
  Fred Place Cooper T86C [F1-3-68] - Ford Boss 302 V8
#17 Fred Place
On entry list
  David Prophet McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet V8
#21 David Prophet
On entry list
  Mike Woolley Lotus 43 [2] - Ford Boss 302 V8
#50 GW Race Engineering
On entry list

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Peter Gethin210.32.52.396.69
2Mike Walker210.33.09.0
3Roy Pike210.33.10.8
4Mike Hailwood210.33.34.6
5Keith Holland20
6Kaye Griffiths20
7Fred Saunders20
8Derrick Williams20
9Davey Powell20
10Bob Miller19
11Howden Ganley17
12Gordon Spice1Blackflagged: Push start
13Ulf NorinderDid not start (Engine)
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1Peter Gethin210.32.39.496.31
2Howden Ganley210.32.50.9
3Mike Hailwood210.33.00.8
4Mike Walker210.33.07.2
5Roy Pike210.33.14.5
6Keith Holland210.33.55.0
7Davey Powell20
8Kaye Griffiths20
9Bob Miller15
10Gordon Spice1Spun
11Fred Saunders0Accident
12Derrick Williams0Accident
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M10B [400-03] (Mike Walker): Alan McKenchnie for Mike Walker UK 1970. The monocoque was replaced (by 400-18S) so that Walker could get the lower engine mount specification used by Gethin and Ganley. The 400-03 chassis to Roy Lane (Warwick, Warwickshire) and built up with 5.5-litre Chev for the British Hill Climb Championship 1971. To Richard Shardlow (Baslow, Derbyshire) for hillclimbs in 1972 but rolled at Harewood. To John Bailey and rebuilt for Sprints during 1974 and 1975. To Harry Phillips (Coventry) 1976 for libre. Bought from Phillips by Andrew Baber (Lydney, Gloucestershire), who only used the car in demos, and then sold it in early 1984 to Ian Webb (Dorking). Webb sold it almost immediately to Roger Ealand, who raced it in 1985 and 1986. To Paul Palmer and restored by Michael Cane Ltd, then to Ed Hubbard, and then to Ean Pugh (Wales & Monaco) in 1988. However, Ean believed the car he bought was the "ex-Prophet" 400-04, not 400-03. Sold to Keith Norris in June 2020.
  2. Lola T142 [SL142/36] (Keith Holland): New to Alan Fraser for Keith Holland to drive in British F5000 in 1969 and 1970, and by Ray Calcutt when Holland left the team. Then via Harry Linney and Bob Miller to John Bowtell (Witney, Oxfordshire) who raced it in late 1971 and early 1972, entered by Andrew Cavell. Raced at Silverstone in April by Martin Ridehalgh, and by Bowtell again later in the year. To Richard Brown (Chieveley, Berkshire) for hillclimbs in 1973, then to Bob de la Haye for 1974 and 1975. Then unknown until acquired by John Peskett (Leicester) in 1978. Unused and stored until the car was featured on TV program 'Salvage Squad' broadcast in March 2002. Again unknown until advertised by Marcel Roks (Belgium) 2005 (blue with white stripe, #39). To Will Tomkins (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire) 2005 - Roger Deans (Baldock, Herts) 2006 and debuted at Shelsley Walsh in September 2006. See full history: Lola T142 SL142/36.
  3. Lola T142 [SL142/35] (Kaye Griffiths): See full history: Lola T142 SL142/35.
  4. Lola T190 [190/F1/7] (Davey Powell): New to Doug Hardwick's Henley Forklift team for the 1970 British Formula 5000 series. Raced by Mo Nunn (2 races), Davey Powell (7 races + 2 DNS) and Trevor Taylor (6 races) in 1970. To Kaye Griffiths (2 races + 1 DNQ), Terry Sanger (1 race only), Ian Ashley (3 races) and Tony Trimmer (1 race only) in 1971, during which time it was acquired by Rocky Plumridge. Retained by Plumridge for 1972 and raced by Ian Ashley (9 F5000 races, and DNQ for the Rothmans 50,000). Subsequent history unknown.
  5. McLaren M10B [400-05] (Howden Ganley): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  6. Lola T142 [SL142/42] (Derrick Williams): See full history: Lola T142 SL142/42.
  7. Lola T190 [190/F1/2-2] (Ulf Norinder): New for Ulf Norinder and raced in the 1970 Tasman series. Then raced in the UK 1970 but crashed in practice for R4 Zandvoort 19 April 1970 and rebuilt on the 11th T190 tub as 190/F1/2-2. Raced again by Norinder for five more races then raced by Tony Lanfranchi at two races but crashed on the warm-up lap at the Oulton Park Gold Cup on 22 August. The car broke its back on landing and was not seen again. Presumed destroyed.
  8. Lotus 70 [06] (Jock Russell): Jock Russell (Ford V8) UK 1970 (debut Mallory Park May 1970), UK 1971, UK 1972 (first rounds only); retained by Russell for many years - Peter Denty (date unknown): restored and raced in UK by Peter's son, James Denty. Raced by James at the Silverstone Classic in 2005 and at Watkins Glen in 2008. Offered for sale by Peter Denty (Thetford, Norfolk) in 2010. Raced again by James Denty at Watkins Glen in 2012 but on behalf of new owner Nick Grewal (Gilford, NH).


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.