British Sprint Championship Round

Cadwell Park, 24 Aug 1974

1 Dave Harris 5-litre McLaren M10B/M14D [400-06 (A)] - Chevrolet V8
2 Bob Rose 5.7-litre McLaren M14D [1] - Chevrolet V8
3 David Render 1.6-litre Brabham BT29X [37] - Ford BDA Vegantune
(see note 1)
4 Rob Turnbull 1.6-litre Brabham BT35 [6] - Ford BDA
(see note 2)
5 Johnty Williamson 5.7-litre Surtees TS11 [02] - Chevrolet V8
6 Adrian Moores 1.5-litre Rudeani Ford - Ford
Qualifying information not available

Notes on the cars:

  1. Brabham BT29X [37] (David Render): New to Tony Griffiths (Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands) and fitted with a 1.8-litre Cosworth FVC as the "BT29X" for hillclimbing. Damaged in a practice accident at Silverstone on its debut and said to have been rebuilt on a BT30 chassis, although this is disputed. Raced by Griffiths in British Hill Climb Championship events in 1970, often entered as the BT30Y. Sold to Spencer Elton (Westbury, Wiltshire) by February 1971 but not used until mid-1972, when it had a 1.6-litre Vegantune engine. To David Render (London) as a 1600cc backup to his 2-litre Brabham BT35 and used from 1973 to 1976. Then unknown until acquired by Peter Robinson (Studley, Warwickshire) to replace BT30-26 in late 1979. Sold to Julian Majzub (Shipston-on-Stour, Warwickshire) when Robinson retired c1983 so Majzub could retrive some of the parts from BT30-26. Sold to Richard Jones (Pitchcombe, Nr Stroud) winter 2007/2008.
  2. Brabham BT35 [6] (Rob Turnbull): New to Nick Cook and used in the British Formula Atlantic series in 1971. Retained for early 1972, but Cook does not appear in the UK after the end of April and this is probably the car taken to the USA to use in the SCCA series in 1972. Used by Rob Turnbull in British hillclimbs in 1973, 1974, 1975 and 1976. Sold to Andrew Fraser (Newton Abbot, Devon), and shared by him and Tim Painter in Sprints in 1977. Retained by Fraser for 1978 and 1979, and appeared at Wiscombe Park events in 1980 and 1982. Then via David McLaughlin to Keith Norman about 1984 and used by him in HSCC events in the 1980s and 1990s. To Rob Haze (Netherlands) between 1992 and 1995, and then back to Norman again for Historic F2 in 1999. To John Dunham (Basingstoke, Hampshire) April 2001, then to Ben Tyler 2003, then Peter Shaw 2004, then Dr John Monson 2007.


Note that the identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' published results.

The British Sprint Championship results were originally provided by Paul Parker and Steve Wilkinson and are based on material drawn from Motoring News, Autosport and Speedscene magazines plus results sheets and programmes provided by former competitors and by the organising clubs.

The identification of individual cars is based on the Formula 1, Formula 2, Formula 5000 and Formula Atlantic research work presented elsewhere on the site.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.