British Sprint Championship 1974

Johnty Williamson, John Ravenscroft and Bob Rose, the three drivers to win rounds in 1973, all returned for 1974. Rose had traded up to the ex-Roy Lane 5.7-litre McLaren M14D late the previous year and now had the car performing perfectly. Williamson had an equally large but newer ex-F5000 Surtees TS11, and Ravenscroft had acquired the ex-Rose McLaren M10B, but preferred to compete in club events at Curborough. Dave Harris also moved up to the larger class by acquiring the ex-Chris Oates McLaren M10B, updated with M14D suspension. The 1600cc class was led by David Render with his pair of smaller Brabhams and Rob Turnbull with his similar car.

Harris won three events but he only started seven so was pipped to the title by Rose, who had two wins, two seconds and two thirds. Render, with a win and two seconds, was in contention until the final round. Hillclimb regulars David Franklin won at Yeovilton in his 1600cc Ensign, and Tony Griffiths at Weston in his F1 Brabham BT33.

The races

31 Mar 1974 > Yeovilton

21 Apr 1974 > Curborough

28 Apr 1974 > South Cerney

27 May 1974 > Bassingbourne

09 Jun 1974 > Curborough

30 Jun 1974 > Duxford

24 Aug 1974 > Cadwell Park

24 Sep 1974 > Yeovilton

05 Oct 1974 > Weston-Super-Mare Speed Trials

1974 RAC British Sprint Championship table

1Bob RoseMcLaren M14D - Chevrolet V862 pts2 wins
2Dave HarrisMcLaren M10B/M14D - Chevrolet V860 pts3 wins
3David RenderBrabham BT29X - Ford BDA
Brabham BT35 - Ford BDA
56 pts1 win
4Johnty WilliamsonSurtees TS11 - Chevrolet V848 pts1 win
5Rob TurnbullBrabham BT35 - Ford BDA48 pts 
6John RavenscroftMcLaren M10B - Chevrolet V830 pts 
7David FranklinEnsign LNF3/73 - Ford BDA Holbay22 pts1 win
8Clive BraceyVebra Mk1 - Chevrolet turbo22 pts 
9Martin SteeleMarch 702 - Cosworth FVA20 pts 
10Dave HartleyBrabham BT18 - Buick V811 pts 
11Tony GriffithsBrabham BT33 - Cosworth DFV V810 pts1 win
12Terry SmithVixen VB5 - Imp10 pts 
13Peter BullBrabham BT30 - Ford twin cam Holbay9 pts 
14Tony BradwellBrabham BT18 - Buick V88 pts 
15Alan RichardsGryphon 3AR - Ford s/c7 pts 

The points system for the championship remained the same as that used for the Hill Climb championship, awarding 10 points for the fastest time in the runoff, then 9 for second and on down to one point for tenth place (R.A.C Motor Sport Year Book 1973 p114 and 1976 p102 had no change between them). There was no longer an extra point awarded for beating the course's previous record time. With ten rounds taking place, the best seven results would count (ibid. p102).