British Sprint Championship 1971

The two main contenders in 1971 were Bob Rose in his Formula 5000 McLaren M10B and Johnty Williamson in the mighty ex-Martin Brain Cooper T81B-Chrysler. Rose won four of the first six rounds, including two at his Curborough kingdom, but his focus changed to the hillclimb championship just as Williamson moved in the other direction, and the Cooper driver was easily able to overhaul his points total. Also highly competitive was David Render in his gorgeous Ginetta G12 GT car, into which a 3.5-litre Buick V8 engine had somehow been crammed.

Among the hillclimb regulars who found themselves scoring points were Tony Griffiths who won the Weston Speed Trials, Roy Lane for a win at Yeovilton, John McCartney for a win at Blackpool, and Curborough challenger John Ravenscroft. A strong 1600cc class included Spencer Elton in his Brabham BT18.

The races

28 Mar 1971 > Yeovilton

18 Apr 1971 > Curborough

09 May 1971 > Santa Pod

06 Jun 1971 > Curborough

13 Jun 1971 > Blackpool

20 Jun 1971 > Gaydon

09 Aug 1971 > Thruxton

15 Aug 1971 > Lydden Hill

12 Sep 1971 > Duxford

02 Oct 1971 > Weston-Super-Mare Speed Trials

1971 RAC British Sprint Championship table

1Johnty WilliamsonCooper T81B - Chrysler RB 440 V862 pts2 wins
2Bob RoseMcLaren M10B - Chevrolet V840 pts4 wins
3David RenderGinetta G12 - Buick V840 pts 
4Spencer EltonBrabham BT18 - Ford twin cam Vegantune34 pts1 win
5John SaundersAlexis Mk14/15 - Ford Kent23 pts 
6Dave HartleyBrabham BT18 - Buick V820 pts 
7Tony GriffithsBrabham BT35X - Repco V819 pts1 win
8Roy LaneMcLaren M10B - Chevrolet V819 pts1 win
9John RavenscroftBrabham BT21A - Vegantune17 pts 
10Peter RyanAldon Viper A - BMC s/c14 pts 
11John McCartneyTechCraft 4WD - BRM P60 V814 pts1 win
12Tom EltonCooper MkX - JAP11 pts 
13Tony HarrisonMcLaren M12C/M6B - Chevrolet V89 pts 
14David PullenBrabham BT21B - Ford twin cam Cosworth Mk 139 pts 
15Frank AstonChevron B19 - Ford BDA6 pts 
16Tony BradwellBrabham BT21 Quattro - Oldsmobile V85 pts 
17Dave CaulkinMini Cooper S - Mini2 pts 

The points system for the championship remained the same as that used for the Hill Climb championship, awarding 10 points for the fastest time in the runoff, then 9 for second and on down to one point for tenths place. An additional point was awarded to each driver that improved on the best time for the course prior to the meeting.