British Sprint Championship 1977

Dave Harris had acquired the ex-Roy Lane McRae GM1 at the end of the previous season and was dominant in 1977. With only nine scores needed out of the 14 events, he had amased an unbeatable score by mid-August. Simon Riley, second in the Brabham BT33, and David Render, third in the Lotus 76, were the only others to appear at enough rounds to drop scores. Terry Smith in the now ancient ex-Lane McLaren M14D won one round, as did Curborough specialist John Ravenscroft in his Token RJ02. Several hillclimbers impressed on their rare appearances, David Franklin winning three times in only four appearances, and Martyn Griffiths, Alan Richards and Godfrey Crompton also taking one win each, the latter in his tatty old Leda LT25 at Weston.

The races

20 Mar 1977 > Longridge

27 Mar 1977 > Yeovilton

02 Apr 1977 > Oulton Park

17 Apr 1977 > Upwood

24 Apr 1977 > Curborough

07 May 1977 > Wellesbourne

12 Jun 1977 > Curborough

26 Jun 1977 > Blackpool

31 Jul 1977 > Wroughton

14 Aug 1977 > Upwood

03 Sep 1977 > Oulton Park

10 Sep 1977 > Brighton Speed Trials

25 Sep 1977 > Wroughton

01 Oct 1977 > Weston-Super-Mare Speed Trials

1977 RAC British Sprint Championship table

1Dave HarrisMcRae GM1 - Chevrolet V885 pts5 wins
2Simon RileyBrabham BT33 - Cosworth DFV V877 pts1 win
3David RenderLotus 76 - Cosworth DFV V869 pts 
4Terry SmithMcLaren M14D - Chevrolet V844 pts1 win
5Arthur HindsMallock U2 Mk 8B - Ford42 pts 
6Alan RichardsSurtees TS8 - Chevrolet V840 pts1 win
7David FranklinMarch 742/772 - BMW Euroracing39 pts3 wins
8John RavenscroftToken RJ02 - Cosworth DFV V838 pts1 win
9Paul EdwardsBrabham BT38 - Cosworth BDE33 pts 
10Martyn GriffithsMarch 74P - Hart 422R18 pts1 win
11Richard WhiteMcLaren M10A/B - Chevrolet V817 pts 
12=Godfrey CromptonLeda LT25 - Chevrolet V816 pts1 win
12=Richard LesterLola T100 - Ford BDA16 pts 
14Allan HumphriesMarch 762 - Hart 421R14 pts 
15=Rob TurnbullRalt RT1 - Ford BDG13 pts 
15=Peter FiskMarch 702 - Ford BDA13 pts 

The points system for the championship remained the same as that used for the Hill Climb championship, awarding 10 points for the fastest time in the runoff, then 9 for second and on down to one point for tenth place (R.A.C Motor Sport Year Book 1976 p102).