British Sprint Championship 1970

The RAC's new British Sprint Championship had a very low-key debut season, with many of the expected competitors, such as Tony Griffiths and Bob Rose, preferring the national hillclimb championship. The number of calendar clashes prevented any hillclimb regular taking part in the full series. Patsy Burt had been competing mainly in sprints in 1968 and 1969 and made the new championship her main focus for 1970. Her 1966 McLaren-Oldsmobile was still very potent, and she won six of the first seven rounds, securing an unassailable points lead. Tony Harrison in the narrow-bodied road registered ex-Phil Scragg Lola T70 was one of the few serious speed event competitors who had registered for the championship.

'King of Curborough' Bob Rose won when the championship visited 'his' track in September, and he also won the two remaining championship rounds at Moreton-in-Marsh and Fairford.

The races

04 Apr 1970 > Yeovilton

02 May 1970 > Greenham Common

24 May 1970 > Woodvale

14 Jun 1970 > Blackpool

28 Jun 1970 > Cadwell Park

02 Aug 1970 > Thruxton

13 Sep 1970 > Duxford

20 Sep 1970 > Curborough

11 Oct 1970 > Moreton-in-Marsh

18 Oct 1970 > Fairford

1970 RAC British Sprint Championship table

1Patsy BurtMcLaren M3A - Oldsmobile V863 pts6 wins
2Tony HarrisonLola T70L Mk2 - Ford V856 pts1 win
3Paul PycroftBRM P261 - P101 V1240 pts 
4Wridgeway HortonJaguar36 pts 
5Bob RoseMcLaren M10B - Chevrolet V831 pts3 wins
6Maurice GatesHonda S80030 pts 
7Peter DoddsDeep Sanderson 303 - Martin27 pts 
8Len BridgeDeep Sanderson 303 - Martin24 pts 
9Spencer EltonBrabham BT21C - Ford twin cam Vegantune15 pts 
10Pat RyanAldon Viper A - BMC s/c19 pts 
11Mike BarkerAlton 1954/58 - Jaguar 612 pts 
12Richard ThwaitesBrabham BT18 - Buick V89 pts 
13John McCartneyFelday 4 - BRM V89 pts 
14John QuickJaguar E-Type8 pts 
15Arthur DanFord Anglia7 pts 

The points system for the new championship was the same as that used for the Hill Climb championship, awarding 10 points for the fastest time in the runoff, then 9 for second and on down to one point for tenths place. An additional point was awarded to each driver that improved on the best time for the course prior to the meeting.