Alo Lawler in his Ralt RT4 in 1982.  Copyright Alan Cox 2010.  Used with permission.

British Formula Atlantic 1983

As the MCD's attention was absorbed with their "flagship" British Open Championship, the remaining Formula Atlantic competitors turned to the BRDC and BRSCC and lobbied them to run a Formula Atlantic championship for 1983. Alo Lawler returned with the Ralt RT4/80 with which he had dominated 1982 and was joined by former Ehrlich driver Ian Flux in Duncan Bain's Abdex Racing Ralt RT4/81 and Trevor Templeton with his RT4/82. Nobody else got a look in.

It was very tight between the three Ralt drivers and all had a chance of the title going into the last race. Templeton took pole position but then buzzed his engine. By mid-distance, Flux seemed to be in charge but a misfire allowed Lawler to take the lead, and retain his title.

It was a last moment of drama for Formula Atlantic in Britain. There would be no championship in 1984.

The races

10 Apr 1983 > Silverstone

02 May 1983 > Silverstone

22 May 1983 > Donington Park

05 Jun 1983 > Silverstone

26 Jun 1983 > The Nova Trophy at Brands Hatch

23 Jul 1983 > Oulton Park

04 Sep 1983 > Silverstone

1983 British Formula Atlantic Championship table

1Alo LawlerRalt RT4/80 - Ford BDD77 pts3 wins
2Ian FluxRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD Swindon74 pts3 wins
3Trevor TempletonRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD Swindon68 pts1 win
4Mike CatlowRalt RT1 - Ford BDA Racing Fabrications43 pts 
5Neil CrangTiga FA82 - Ford BDD Alan Smith38 pts 

The points system was based on the traditional 9-6-4-3-2-1 system but added a point for fastest lap. To keep competitors from losing interest, additional points were given to each race starter on a rising scale, so 1 point for starting round 1, 2 for starting round 2, 3 for round 3 and so on.