Ian Flux in the Ehrlich RP5B during the 1982 season.  Copyright Alan Cox 2010.  Used with permission.

British Formula Atlantic 1982

Ray Mallock moved on again after dominating the 1981 season so the stage was left to Alo Lawler, who retained his Ralt RT4 for a third season, and the new cars from Tiga and Chevron. Unfortunately for the championship, the new Chevron B56 was a complete flop and the new Tigas were only midfield runners.

Lawler's domination was almost total: eight wins from ten events and pole position at each of the first nine races. His only defeats came at Silverstone in June when Ian Flux in the evergreen Ehrlich RP5B took the chequered flag and at Oulton Park in October when Trevor Templeton visited from Ireland with a much newer Ralt RT4/82 and dominated the event. Mike Catlow returned with his five-year-old ex-hillclimb Ralt RT1 which was quick enough and reliable enough to take a series of minor placings and secure second place in the championship.

The races

12 Apr 1982 > Castle Combe

03 May 1982 > Silverstone

31 May 1982 > Mallory Park

06 Jun 1982 > Silverstone

03 Jul 1982 > Aintree

01 Aug 1982 > Brands Hatch

14 Aug 1982 > Oulton Park

30 Aug 1982 > Mallory Park

19 Sep 1982 > Brands Hatch

16 Oct 1982 > Oulton Park

1982 British Formula Atlantic Championship table

1Alo LawlerRalt RT4/80 - Ford BDD Smith143 pts8 wins
2Mike CatlowRalt RT1 - Ford BDD92 pts 
3Ian FluxEhrlich RP5B - Ford BDD83 pts1 win
4John SheldonTiga FA81/82 - Ford BDD Nicholson74 pts 
5Duncan BainMarch 78B - Ford BDD Nicholson69 pts