Rothmans F5000 Championship round

Snetterton, 9 Apr 1971

1 Frank Gardner Lola T192 [HU28] - Chevrolet V8
#3 Lola Cars Ltd
25 34m 41.6s
117.17 mph
2 Brian Redman McLaren M18 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8
#1 Sid Taylor (see note 1)
25 34m 42.0s
3 Ray Allen McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8
#8 Team Trojan
25 35m 53.8s
4 Mike Walker Lola T192 [HU26] - Chevrolet V8
#77 Doug Hardwick
25 37m 07.2s
5 David Prophet McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet Bartz V8
#21 David Prophet
6 John Myerscough McLaren M10B [400-18S] - Chevrolet V8
#4 John Butterworth
7 Roland Heiler Lola T190 [190/F1/4-2] - Chevrolet V8
#16 Roland Heiler (see note 2)
R Fred Saunders Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
#66 Fred Saunders
16 stub axle
R Rob Taylor (F5000) 4.7-litre Kitchiner K3A [1] - Ford Shelby Cobra 289 ci V8
#99 Tony Kitchiner
15 misfire
R Trevor Taylor Leda LT25 [001] - Chevrolet V8
#11 Malaya Garage
11 ignition
R Tim Schenken McLaren M18 [500-04] - Chevrolet V8
#12 Barrie Newman Racing (see note 3)
6 head gasket
DNS Lingard Goulding Beattie P1100B ['1'] - Chevrolet Traco V8
(see note 4)
Did not start
DNSC Graham McRae McLaren M18 [500-02] - Chevrolet V8
#6 Team Trojan (see note 5)
Did not start (crashed)
DNSC Gordon Spice McLaren M10B [400-05] - Chevrolet V8
#44 Gordon Spice (see note 6)
Did not start (crashed)
DNQ Jake Allport (F5000) 3.5-litre McLaren M10A [300-16] - Rover V8
(see note 7)
Did not qualify
DNP Mike Hailwood Surtees TS8 [005] - Chevrolet Morand V8
#15 Team Surtees Ltd (see note 8)
Did not take part in official practice
  Jock Russell Lotus 70 [06] - Ford V8
#5 Jock Russell (see note 9)
On entry list
  Ulf Norinder McLaren M18 [500-05] - Chevrolet V8
#7 Team Trojan (see note 10)
On entry list
  Keith Holland McLaren M10B [400-06] - Chevrolet Bartz V8
#25 Keith Holland Racing
On entry list

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

1 Brian Redman (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8 1.22.8
2 Frank Gardner (F5000) 5-litre Lola T192 [HU28] - Chevrolet V8 1.23.0
3 Mike Walker (F5000) 5-litre Lola T192 [HU26] - Chevrolet V8 1.24.8
4 Trevor Taylor (F5000) 5-litre Leda LT25 [001] - Chevrolet V8 1.25.2
5 David Prophet (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-04] - Chevrolet Bartz V8 1.25.6
6 Tim Schenken (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18 [500-04] - Chevrolet V8 1.26.0
7 Ray Allen (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8 1.26.2
8 John Myerscough (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-18S] - Chevrolet V8 1.30.0
9 Roland Heiler (F5000) 5-litre Lola T190 [190/F1/4-2] - Chevrolet V8 1.31.6
10 Fred Saunders (F5000) 5-litre Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8 1.33.0
11 Rob Taylor (F5000) 4.7-litre Kitchiner K3A [1] - Ford Shelby Cobra 289 ci V8 1.34.6
12 Lingard Goulding * (F5000) 5-litre Beattie P1100B ['1'] - Chevrolet Traco V8 1.36.0
13 Jake Allport * (F5000) 3.5-litre McLaren M10A [300-16] - Rover V8 1.44.0
* Did not start

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M18 [500-01] (Brian Redman): See full history: McLaren M18 500-01.
  2. Lola T190 [190/F1/4-2] (Roland Heiler): New to Jo Bonnier and raced at Sebring 28 Dec 1969. To Daniel Rouveyran 1970 for French hillclimbs but crashed. Returned to Bonnier and rebuilt on new T190 tub. Sold to Roland Heiler (Germany) and loaned back to Bonnier again for 1971 Argentine GP. Peter Wiechert (Germany) and Heiler UK 1971. Likely to be the car raced by Hans Furian (Austria) in Swiss Championship events in 1973 and at the F5000 races at Snetterton and Brands Hatch in October 1973. Subsequent history unknown.
  3. McLaren M18 [500-04] (Tim Schenken): See full history: McLaren M18 500-04.
  4. Beattie P1100B ['1'] (Lingard Goulding): Built mid-1970 for Lingard Goulding to race in Formula 5000, and in occasional libre races. Retained for 1971 in 'P1100B' specification, but crashed heavily by Goulding at Mallory Park in early July and written off.
  5. McLaren M18 [500-02] (Graham McRae): See full history: McLaren M18 500-02.
  6. McLaren M10B [400-05] (Gordon Spice): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  7. McLaren M10A [300-16] (Jake Allport): See full history: McLaren M10A 300-16.
  8. Surtees TS8 [005] (Mike Hailwood): Built for 1971 season. Team Surtees (UK) 1971: raced by Mike Hailwood (won on debut; F1 Register also identify this as Hailwood's 1972 Tasman car - Herve Bayard (Belgium) 1972 with works spare car: raced in early UK F5000 races only; used in European Hill Climb Championship and converted one car to Cosworth DFV engine after opening round (finished second overall in championship). Bayard practiced 05 with a DFV at the Rothmans 50,000 on 28 August 1972 but was far too slow to qualify. Subsequent history unknown but possibly the Robin Darlington car in 1973. May have been owned by Alex Seldon at some point. Next seen when acquired by John Foulston in 1989. After Foulston's death, the TS8 passed to Noel Butler 1998. Appeared at Silverstone July 1998. Bought at auction by Robin Darlington 1999. To Mike Wrigley (Ashbourne, Derbyshire) 2002 and then sold to Dr John Monson (Hull) in 2004. Raced by Monson in the HSCC's Derek Bell Trophy (DBT) events in 2005 and 2006. To Stephen Gibson Mar 2007 and raced in DBT in 2008, 2009 and 2010. The car returned to the DBT in 2014 when owned by Chris Atkinson.
  9. Lotus 70 [06] (Jock Russell): Jock Russell (Ford V8) UK 1970 (debut Mallory Park May 1970), UK 1971, UK 1972 (first rounds only); retained by Russell for many years - Peter Denty (date unknown): restored and raced in UK by Peter's son, James Denty. Raced by James at the Silverstone Classic in 2005 and at Watkins Glen in 2008. Offered for sale by Peter Denty (Thetford, Norfolk) in 2010. Raced again by James Denty at Watkins Glen in 2012 but on behalf of new owner Nick Grewal (Gilford, NH).
  10. McLaren M18 [500-05] (Ulf Norinder): Built for 1971 season. Run by Team Trojan in the British F5000 series for Ulf Norinder in four races in May and June 1971. Then to Jackie Epstein's Speed International Racing for 1972 and raced by Ray Allen at most races in the British series, but also by David Prophet at Mallory Park in March and by Gijs van Lennep at Oulton Park in October. Not seen in 1973 and ended up being used by Shell as a show car. To dealer Jon Bradburn (Wolverhampton) by 1984 and sold by him to Gerry Walton, who raced for many years in HSCC racing before crashing it at Oulton Park. Repaired but then damaged when a lorry reversed into it! Subsequently sold to Martin Cowell (Hereford) in 1995 or 1996. The car's last outing with Cowell was at Shelsley Walsh in August 2005, and it was sold by him to Dave Roberts (Worcester) in December 2017.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.