Central Division SCCA Formula B 1971

Central Division continued to have a a competitive FB category although the number of points scorers dropped from 20 to 12. As in 1970, Brabhams dominated with Chuck Dietrich winning the title in his ex-Chet Freeman BT29 followed by Steve Harris and Michael Hall who had both exchanged their BT29s for newer BT35s.

After the almost complete Brabham dominance in 1970, Chevron, Lola and newcomer March were all successful selling cars into Central Division. Unfortunately, none were entirely convincing.

Final standings

1. Chuck Dietrich Brabham [BT29] NEOhio 48 pts *
2. Steve Harris Brabham [BT35] Ft. Wayne 39 pts *
3. Michael Hall Brabham [BT29,
Brabham BT35]
Chicago 34 pts
4. Carl Liebich Chevron [B18] Milwaukee 19 pts*
5. Dan Carmichael Chevron [B18] Detroit 18 pts *
6. Quin Calhoun Lola [T240] Chicago 16 pts
7. Howard Jackson Lola [T240] Iowa 13 pts *
8. Russ Tyndall Brabham [BT35] Chicago 9 pts
9. Peter Nye Brabham [BT29] NWOhio 6 pts
10. David Thomas Brabham [BT21/BT29?] Land O'Lakes 5 pts
11. Geoffrey Freeman March [71BM] Western Ohio 1 pt
12. Dale Lang March [71BM] Land O'Lakes 1 pt

* Indicates total includes points earned out of home divisions.

Midwestern Council Championship final standings

The MCSCC ran a series of races in 1971, generally at Blackhawk Farms Raceway, and usually opened the meeting with a race for Formula cars. The grids were typically comprised of Formula Ford, Formula Vee and a sprinkling of elderly Formula C cars, but Gerald Geishart turned up once with his Formula A Lola T142, and Rick Koehler raced a Formula B Autodynamics-Porsche twice, finished well behinds the Formula Fords, and was announced as Formula B champion with 24 points.

1. Rick Koehler [Autodynamics-Porsche] MCSCC 24 pts

Central Division sources

Most of our knowledge of CenDiv racing comes from the SCCA's Sports Car magazine and from Competition Press & Autoweek. We are very keen to acquire, borrow or receive copies of 1960s, 1970s and 1980s SCCA regional publications from this Division. There were many such newsletters in this Division, including:

  • Auto-Graph (Indiana Northwest Region)
  • Blower (Northeast Ohio Region)
  • Class Q and later CinChronizer (Cincinnati Region)
  • Clutch Chatter (Indianapolis Region)
  • Clutch Chatter (Northwestern Ohio Region)
  • Crashbox (Golden Triangle Region)
  • Down Shift (Central Illinois Region)
  • Downshift (Kentucky Region)
  • The Drift (Milwaukee Region)
  • Drifting (Des Moines Valley Region)
  • The Fifth Wheel (Northeastern Michigan Region)
  • The Four Wheel Drift (Fort Wayne Region)
  • Iowa Regional News (Iowa Region)
  • Newsletter (Central Kentucky Region)
  • Newsletter (Central Western Michigan)
  • Ohio Valley Regional News and Observers Stand (Ohio Valley Region)
  • Open Exhaust (Detroit Region)
  • Piston Patter (Chicago Region)
  • Pit Board (South Bend Region)
  • The Pit Stop (Southern Indiana Region)
  • The Racket (Tennessee Valley Region)
  • Recaps (Eastern Tennessee Region)
  • Rev Record (Western Ohio Region)
  • S.I.R. SCCA Newsletter (Southern Indiana Region)
  • Smoke Signals (Blackhawk Valley Region)
  • The Tonneau (Land O'Lakes Region)

Also relevant are some non-SCCA publications, notably that of the Midwestern Council of Sports Car Clubs (MCSCC), based in the Chicago area:

  • Klaxon (Midwestern Council of Sports Car Clubs)

We are also keen to get scans of entry lists from SCCA Nationals in this Division.