Australian Formula Pacific 1982

The first season with Formula Pacific as the formula for the Gold Star saw good grids and highly competitive fields. Pacific pioneers John Smith, Andrew Miedecke, John Bowe and Charlie O'Brien won the first four races, but then F5000 convert Alfredo Costanzo got his unusual Tiga FA81 sorted out, and won at Calder and at Winton. Costanzo was then was the first Australian finisher in the Grand Prix, taking him past Bowe's points total to win the inaugural Formula Pacific Gold Star title.

The Australian Grand Prix was also a big success, with 26 cars on the grid and a large group of guest star drivers, including Alan Jones, Nelson Piquet and Alan Prost. Renault F1 star Prost won from his countryman Laffite.

The races

25 Apr 1982 > Oran Park

04 Jul 1982 > Adelaide International Raceway

11 Jul 1982 > Wanneroo Park

25 Jul 1982 > Lakeside

01 Aug 1982 > Calder

12 Sep 1982 > Sandown Park

24 Oct 1982 > Winton

07 Nov 1982 > Australian Grand Prix at Calder

1982 Australian Gold Star table

1Alfredo CostanzoTiga FA81 - Ford BDD42 pts2 wins
2John BoweRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD38 pts2 wins
3Andrew MiedeckeRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD25 pts1 win
4John SmithRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD
Ralt RT1 - Ford BDD
19 pts1 win
5Charlie O'BrienRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD17 pts1 win
6Richard DavisonRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD12 pts 
7Robert HandfordRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD7 pts 
8=Graham WatsonRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD6 pts 
8=Bruce AllisonRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD6 pts 
8=Alan JonesRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD6 pts 

Previous: Australia 1981

Next: Australia 1983

Previous: New Zealand 1982

Next: New Zealand 1983