Australian Formula Pacific 1983

After starting so well in 1982 with good grids, Formula Pacific slipped back significantly in 1983, due in large part to the FIA's decision to launch a FIA World Cup for "Formula Mondial", a new formula based closely on Formula Atlantic and Formula Pacific and designed to replace both. The changes from Pacific to Mondial were not trivial, standardising the engine on the Cosworth BDA, banning skirts and some minor chassis changes, and this was enough to make some people wary of entering the Mondial category. A South Pacific Zone Mondial championship was held in New Zealand and Australia in January and February, won by Charlie O'Brien, but interest was very low, and CAMS decided to stick with Formula Pacific rules for the national championship in 1983, and move to Mondial in 1984.

Current champion Alfredo Costanzo retained his 1981 Tiga, and main contenders John Smith, Andrew Miedecke and John Bowe all retained their 1981 Ralts, but the most interesting additions to the field were the locally built Cheetah Mk8s of ANF3 and ANF2 stalwarts Brian Sampson and Peter Macrow. After Costanzo quickly wrapped up his fourth consecutive national title, the Gold Star round at Winton in October attracted only seven Formula Pacifics, plus six ANF2 cars, mostly Cheetahs, to make up the grid.

The Grand Prix was another success, with 11 Internationals and a total of 24 cars on the grid. The talented Roberto Moreno won again, with John Smith holding off Jacques Laffite to take an impressive second place.

The races

10 Jul 1983 > Adelaide International Raceway

24 Jul 1983 > Lakeside

21 Aug 1983 > Oran Park

11 Sep 1983 > Sandown Park

16 Oct 1983 > Winton

13 Nov 1983 > Australian Grand Prix at Calder

1983 Australian Gold Star table

1Alfredo CostanzoTiga FA81 - Ford BDD42 pts4 wins
2John SmithRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD25 pts 
3Andrew MiedeckeRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD22 pts1 win
4Paul RadisichRalt RT4/83 - Ford BDD17 pts 
5Peter MacrowCheetah Mk8 - Ford BDD11 pts 
6=John BoweRalt RT4/81 - Ford BDD6 pts 
6=Alan JonesRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD6 pts 
8Peter WilliamsonToleman TA860 - Toyota 2T-G5 pts 
9Charlie O'BrienRalt RT4/83 - Ford BDD4 pts 
10=Lucio CesarioRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD3 pts 
10=Doug MacarthurRalt RT4/82 - Ford BDD3 pts 

Previous: Australia 1982

Next: Australia 1984

Previous: New Zealand 1983

Next: New Zealand 1984