Rothmans F5000 Championship round

Nivelles-Baulers, 9 Apr 1972

1 Graham McRae Leda LT27 [001] - Chevrolet Morand V8
54 1h 11m 25.5s
2 Teddy Pilette McLaren M18/M22 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8
#32 Racing Team VDS (see note 1)
54 1h 12m 07.1s
3 Ray Allen McLaren M18 [500-05] - Chevrolet V8
Speed International Racing (see note 2)
4 Clive Santo McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8
5 Gijs van Lennep Surtees TS11 [02] - Chevrolet V8
#9 Speed International Racing
6 John Coulter Lola T142 [SL142/22] - Chevrolet V8
46 Not classified
7 Gordon Spice Kitchmac [M10B 400-05] - Chevrolet Kitchiner V8
(see note 3)
8 Alan Rollinson Lola T300 [HU9] - Chevrolet V8
9 John Bowtell Lola T142 [SL142/36] - Chevrolet V8
10 John Cannon March 725 [1] - Oldsmobile RES V8
#30 (see note 4)
11 Brian Redman McLaren M10B [400-15] - Chevrolet V8
12 Jock Russell Lotus 70 [06] - Ford V8
(see note 5)
13 Fred Saunders Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8
14 Max Reinhardt Kincraft [FL-012-01] - Ford V8
DNS Steve Thompson Surtees TS8 [007] - Chevrolet V8
(see note 6)
Did not start
(crank pulley)
DNS Ray Calcutt McLaren M18 [500-04] - Chevrolet V8
Speed International Racing (see note 7)
Did not start

All cars are 5-litre F5000 unless noted.

Heat 1 Laps Time Speed
1Gijs van Lennep270.36.04.3167.247
2Teddy Pilette270.36.13.6
3Graham McRae270.36.23.4
4Ray Allen270.36.33.1
5Clive Santo26
6Jock Russell25
7Fred Saunders24
8John Coulter24
9John Bowtell19
10Gordon Spice18
11Alan Rollinson17Upright
12Brian Redman11Fuel vaporisation
13John Cannon3Spun
14Max Reinhardt0Electrics
Heat 2 Laps Time Speed
1Graham McRae270.35.21.2170.645
2Alan Rollinson270.35.42.0
3Teddy Pilette270.35.43.5
4John Cannon270.36.34.4
5Ray Allen26
6Clive Santo25
7Gordon Spice25
8John Coulter22
9John Bowtell22
10Gijs van Lennep21
11Brian Redman19Oil pipe
12Jock Russell4Transmission
Fred SaundersDid not start
Max ReinhardtDid not start (Electrics)
1 John Cannon (F5000) 5-litre March 725 [1] - Oldsmobile RES V8 1.18.3
2 Graham McRae (F5000) 5-litre Leda LT27 [001] - Chevrolet Morand V8 1.19.6
3 Teddy Pilette (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18/M22 [500-01] - Chevrolet V8 1.20.4
4 Gijs van Lennep (F5000) 5-litre Surtees TS11 [02] - Chevrolet V8 1.21.2
5 Brian Redman (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-15] - Chevrolet V8 1.21.3
6 Alan Rollinson (F5000) 5-litre Lola T300 [HU9] - Chevrolet V8 1.21.4
7 Clive Santo (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M10B [400-21] - Chevrolet V8 1.22.3
8 Ray Allen (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18 [500-05] - Chevrolet V8 1.22.4
9 Gordon Spice (F5000) 5-litre Kitchmac [M10B 400-05] - Chevrolet Kitchiner V8 1.23.1
10 Jock Russell (F5000) 5-litre Lotus 70 [06] - Ford V8 1.29.7
11 Steve Thompson * (F5000) 5-litre Surtees TS8 [007] - Chevrolet V8 1.32.7
12 Fred Saunders (F5000) 5-litre Crosslé 15F [C15F/69/42] - Rover V8 1.34.2
13 John Coulter (F5000) 5-litre Lola T142 [SL142/22] - Chevrolet V8 1.36.3
14 Ray Calcutt * (F5000) 5-litre McLaren M18 [500-04] - Chevrolet V8 1.37.6
15 Max Reinhardt (F5000) 5-litre Kincraft [FL-012-01] - Ford V8 1.39.4
16 John Bowtell (F5000) 5-litre Lola T142 [SL142/36] - Chevrolet V8 1.48.7
* Did not start

Notes on the cars:

  1. McLaren M18/M22 [500-01] (Teddy Pilette): See full history: McLaren M18 500-01.
  2. McLaren M18 [500-05] (Ray Allen): See full history: McLaren M18 500-05.
  3. Kitchmac [M10B 400-05] (Gordon Spice): Barry Newman for Howden Ganley: UK 1970 (18 races, five second places) - Gordon Spice: Argentinean GP 1971; UK 1971 (11 races + 1 DNS). Rebuilt as 'Kitchmac' by Tony Kitchiner for 1972 season: driven by Gordon Spice (UK: 7 races + 1 DNS), John Kendall (UK: 2 races; US : 1 race only R3 Watkins Glen), Fred Saunders (UK: 1 DNS only), Alan Rollinson (UK: 1 race only), Roger Williamson (UK: 3 races); UK 1973: driven by Kaye Griffiths ( 1 race only), Richard Knight (5 races + 1 DNS). Not seen again after the end of 1973. It has been reported that this car was wrecked in an accident but it appears to have survived its final race in 1973 intact. Subsequent history unknown.
  4. March 725 [1] (John Cannon): Built for 1972 season for John Cannon and fitted with Oldsmobile engine. Raced in UK and US series 1972. Advertised by Cannon and Patrick Kay (Autosport 9 Nov 1972) and later appeared in Ecurie Santos adverts in 1973 and 1974 but not seen again. It is reported that the 725 was sold as part of a large package of cars to Australian Ray Gibbs but the 725 remained in the UK and was sold to Peter Bloore (Wallingford, Oxfordshire). Bloore later sold it to Ryan Hodges who sold it to his friend Jeff Luff but the dates of these transations are unknown. In 1986 it was sold to Richard Parkin (Retford, Nottinghamshire). Richard has sold the car at least twice, only to buy it back again. Finally sold to Richard Taylor (Rishton, Lancashire) in August 2014.
  5. Lotus 70 [06] (Jock Russell): Jock Russell (Ford V8) UK 1970 (debut Mallory Park May 1970), UK 1971, UK 1972 (first rounds only); retained by Russell for many years - Peter Denty (date unknown): restored and raced in UK by Peter's son, James Denty. Raced by James at the Silverstone Classic in 2005 and at Watkins Glen in 2008. Offered for sale by Peter Denty (Thetford, Norfolk) in 2010. Raced again by James Denty at Watkins Glen in 2012 but on behalf of new owner Nick Grewal (Gilford, NH).
  6. Surtees TS8 [007] (Steve Thompson): New for Peter Revson at the 1971 Questor GP then for Alan Roillinson in UK series. To Alan Brodie 1972 and raced by Brodie and by Steve Thompson. To Servis Appliances Racing Team 1973 and raced by Ray Allan early in the season. Then possibly the Robin Darlington car in Sep 1973 Reappeared with Colin Andrews (Banbury, Oxfordshire) 1974, then to Steve Cuff (Frome, Somerset) 1975 for hillclimbs. To Alan Richards (Cheltenham) and used in sprints and occasional hill climbs in 1976 and 1977. Used in sprints and occasional hill climbs by Bob Clapham in 1978 and 1979. Then unknown until sold by Brian Redman to Dave Swigler (Panama City, FL) in 1986. Dave believes Brian got it from Richard Attwood about two years earlier. Retained until Swigler sold his collection to Harin De Silva (Palos Verdes Estates, CA) in 2009. Restored by Virtuoso Performance and first raced at Laguna Seca in August 2011. Also raced in New Zealand in the 2011/12 Tasman Revival series and at the Phillip Island Classic in March 2013.
  7. McLaren M18 [500-04] (Ray Calcutt): See full history: McLaren M18 500-04.


The identification of individual cars in these results is based on the material presented elsewhere in this site and may in some cases contradict the organisers' original results.

1969-1976 UK results have been researched and collated by Chris Townsend based primarily on material in Autosport and Motoring News. Information has been added from the growing collection of entry lists from programs.

All comments, clarifications, corrections and additions are most welcome. Please email Allen (allen@oldracingcars.com) if you can help in any way with our research.