Scottish Hill Climb Championship 1972

Iain McLaren had a new car for 1972, the ex-Sir Nick Williamson Brabham BT35X with its 1800cc Cosworth FVC engine, and won three rounds of the championship to take a second title. Gray and Agnes Mickel also had a new car, a brand new Brabham BT35 with Ford twin cam engine, and Gray won two rounds. Kenny Allen had the ex-Iain McLaren Chevron B15, Ted Dzierzek transferred his Ford twin cam into a newer Brabham BT21 and John Barr had a Brabham BT28 still with its 1-litre Ford engine. Doug Thomson continued to be competitive in the old Ecosse Imp and Stuart Lawson had a Formula Ford Hawke DL2B.

With more single-seaters appearing, it was harder for the Special Saloons to qualify for the Top 10. Resisting that trend were John Fyda in the Agra Imp and Barrogill Angus in a Shannon Imp. In the Sports/GT clases, an Austin Healey Sprite, a Lotus 7 and even an MG Midget qualified for the Top 10 runoff at least once.

The races

25 Mar 1972 > Kinkell

30 Apr 1972 > Doune

13 Aug 1972 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

27 Aug 1972 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

07 Oct 1972 > Kinkell

1972 Burmah-Castrol Scottish Hill Climb Championship table

1Iain McLaren(libre) 1.8-litre Brabham BT35X - Cosworth FVC398.4 pts 


Class structure for 1972

Single Seat Racing Cars

Class 1: up to 1300cc & F/Ford

Class 2: over 1300cc

Sports Racing Cars

Class 3: up to 1600cc

Class 4: over 1600cc

Production Sports Cars (i.e 'Prodsports')

Class 5: up to 1300cc

Class 6: 1301cc to 2000cc

Class 7: over 2000cc

Touring Cars and Improved Touring Cars (i.e. 'Special Saloons')

Class 8: up to 1000cc

Class 9: 1001cc to 1300cc

Class 10: over 1300cc

Class 11: Vintage Cars built prior to January 1931