Scottish Hill Climb Championship 1975

After Doug Thomson's title winning GRD 273 had been written off at the end of 1974, the single-seater ranks were pretty thin in 1975. Most of the old Brabhams had disappeared, with the exception of Jim Campbell in the old ex-Mickel Brabham BT35 twin cam, so the door was open for Doug's brither Alan Thomson to dominate the season in his Chevron B17 with its Holbay twin cam engine. Of the other single-seaters, Ted Dzierzek returned with his ageing Hawke Atlantic and took two second places before his season ended early, Bill Leith and Bill Smith picked up minor placings in their shared Ginetta G17-Imp, and Jim Sword impressed with his home-built Jasag.

This meant that the Modsports and Special Saloons were now contenders for overall wins, and Barrogill Angus took advantage with wins at Kinkell and Rumster in his 1-litre Davrian-Imp. Special Saloon Mini Coopers and Imps filled the lower placings, and Norrie Galbraith again impressed in a Modsports Ginetta G15.

The races

23 Mar 1975 > Kinkell

27 Apr 1975 > Doune

25 May 1975 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

22 Jun 1975 > Doune

29 Jun 1975 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

10 Aug 1975 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

24 Aug 1975 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

05 Oct 1975 > Kinkell

1975 Scottish Hill Climb Championship table

1Alan Thomson(libre) 1.6-litre Chevron B17 - Ford twin cam Holbay600 pts 


Class structure for 1975

Road Saloons

Class 1: up to 1000cc

Class 2: 1001cc to 1300cc

Class 2A: over 1300cc

Special Saloons

Class 3: up to 1000cc

Class 4: over 1000cc

Road Sports Cars

Class 5: up to 1300cc

Class 6: over 1300cc

Modified Sports Cars (i.e. 'Modsports')

Class 7: up to 1300cc

Class 8: over 1300cc

Racing Cars

Class 10: up to 1100cc and Formula Ford

Class 11: over 1100cc