Scottish Hill Climb Championship 1971

There were still only a few regular runners in the single-seater classes, and the most potent turned out to be Iain McLaren, who won two rounds with his ex-F3 1-litre Chevron B15 and secured his first Scottish title. Ted Dzierzek also won one round in his Lola T55 with Ford twin cam engine, and Ian Smillie also had a 'twink' in his venerable Lotus 22. Gray and Agnes Mickel had moved on to the ex-Roy Lane Techcraft-Buick, and Gray won in this car at Fintray in August. Brian Harrison was another regular in his Imp-powered Vixen VB5 and won the season opener.

Special Saloon Mini Coopers filled out the Top 10s, as they had in 1970, but John Fyda and Barrogill Angus both impressed in Hillman Imps in the smaller 1000cc Special Saloon class. Sandy Watson showed the potential of the Mallock Mk 8 in the sports racing class.

The races

25 Apr 1971 > Lothian Car Club Hill Climb at Doune

30 May 1971 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

04 Jul 1971 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

01 Aug 1971 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

22 Aug 1971 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

09 Oct 1971 > Kinkell

1971 Burmah-Castrol Scottish Hill Climb Championship table

1Iain McLaren(libre) 1-litre Chevron B15 - Ford398.98 pts 


Class structure for 1971

Single Seat Racing Cars

Class 1: up to 1300cc & F/Ford

Class 2: over 1300cc

Sports Racing and Limited Production GT

Class 3: up to 1600cc

Class 4: over 1600cc

Production Sports Cars (i.e 'Prodsports')

Class 5: up to 1300cc

Class 6: 1301cc to 2000cc

Class 7: over 2000cc

Touring Cars and Improved Touring Cars (i.e. 'Special Saloons')

Class 8: up to 1000cc

Class 9: 1001cc to 1300cc

The two classes with te most entrants at the start of 1971 were the smaller racing car class, with 10 entries, the smaller Prodsports class with 14, and the smaller Special Saloon class with 17.