Scottish Hill Climb Championship 1973

Iain McLaren successfully defended his crown by trading the Brabham BT35X for the ex-John Wingfield F2 Brabham BT36, into which he fitted his Cosworth FVC engine. The Mickels had their Brabham BT35 twin cam again, and Doug Thomson performed remarkably well in the old Ecosse-Imp. Alongside Thomson in the 1-litre class were the familiar Chevron B15 of Kenny Allen and the Vixen VB1 shared by Richard Courtney and Harvey McCaig. There were other single-seater cars but rarely seen, such as Ted Dzierzek's Hawke Atlantic, John Barr's ex-Bernard Hunter Lotus 69 and Murray McGrath's Brabham BT30X with Buick V8 powerplant.

Special Saloon Mini Cooper's still abounded, with Jim Dryden acquiring a Longman Mini for the 1300cc class and Ricky Gauld taking over Dryden's older car. Barrogill Angus typically won the 1000cc Special Saloon class in his Shannon Imp, but Jim Fyda, who now had an ex-F2 BRM P80 engine in his Agra Imp, moved to circuit racing. Duncan Hall posted some impressive results in his Modsports Lotus Elan.

The races

24 Mar 1973 > Kinkell

29 Apr 1973 > Doune

17 Jun 1973 > Doune

08 Jul 1973 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

19 Aug 1973 > Aberdeen & District MC Hill Climb at Fintray

26 Aug 1973 > Caithness Car Club Hill Climb at Rumster

13 Oct 1973 > Kinkell

1973 Esso Uniflow Scottish Hill Climb Championship table

1Iain McLaren(libre) 1.8-litre Brabham BT36 - Cosworth FVC500 pts 


Class structure for 1973 (probably!)

Special Saloons

Class 1: up to 1000cc

Class 1A: over 1000cc

Modified Sports Cars (i.e. 'Modsports')

Class 2: up to 1300cc

Class 3: 1301cc to 2000cc

Class 3A: over 2000cc

GT and Sports Racing Cars

Class 5: 1301cc to 1600cc

Class 6: over 1600cc

Single Seat Racing Cars

Class 7: up to 1100cc

Class 8: up to 1600cc

Class 9: over 1600cc

Road Cars

Class 11: up to 1300cc

Class 12: over 1300cc