Roy Klomfass in the March 79B at Kyalami in 1979.  Copyright David Pearson 2012.  Used with permission.

South African Formula Atlantic 1976

This addition to the January sales window brought all the major constructors to South Africa in 1976. Chevron had two brand new Chevron B34s in South Africa, one for local Tony Martin and the second for visiting Canadian champion Bill Brack while reigning champion Dave Charlton had chosen a Modus M3 from Teddy Savoury's ambitious operation and March were represented by Ian Scheckter in a new March 76B. Newer constructors also had a stake: Ralt had a new RT1 in the hands of Roy Klomfass and Alex Blignault had bought a new Wheatcroft R18 for Nols Nieman to drive.

Scheckter immediately proved quickest, taking pole position in each of the six races before the mid-winter break and winning four of those. The Chevron B34s were initially his closest competition but it was Roy Klomfass and the Ralt that first interrupted his winning sequence, taking the chequered flag at Aldo Scribante in March and again at Brandkop in May. Charlton's Modus was no match for the March and in August he bought a 76B of his own, then winning at Kyalami in October and taking pole at Killarney two weeks later, the only time all season that Scheckter was beaten in practice.

The races

24 Jan 1976 > Cape South Easter Trophy at Killarney

14 Feb 1976 > Goldfields "100" at Goldfields Raceway (Welkom)

27 Mar 1976 > PE Summer Races at Aldo Scribante

17 Apr 1976 > Coronation "100" at Roy Hesketh

08 May 1976 > Brandkop Winter Trophy

05 Jun 1976 > Republic Day Trophy at Kyalami

31 Jul 1976 > Rhodesian Grand Prix at Donnybrook

07 Aug 1976 > Rand Winter Trophy at Kyalami

05 Sep 1976 > Natal Spring Trophy at Roy Hesketh

02 Oct 1976 > Rand Spring Trophy at Kyalami

16 Oct 1976 > False Bay "100" at Killarney

South African Formula Atlantic Championship events shown in bold

1976 South African Formula Atlantic Championship table

1Ian ScheckterMarch 76B - Ford BDA Swindon
March 76B - Ford BDA Nicholson
69 pts7 wins
2Roy KlomfassRalt RT1 - Ford BDA Cosworth44 pts2 wins
3Dave CharltonModus M3 - Ford BDA Nicholson
March 76B - Ford BDA Nicholson
39 pts1 win
4Tony MartinChevron B34 - Ford BDA Nicholson25 pts 
5Nols NiemanWheatcroft R18 - Ford BDA Nicholson20 pts 
6Guy TunmerChevron B34 - Ford BDA Hart18 pts 
7Basil van RooyenChevron B34 - Ford BDA Swindon
Chevron B34 - Ford BDA Nicholson
14 pts 
8John GibbChevron B29 - Ford BDA Swindon12 pts 
9Len BooysenChevron B29 - Ford BDA Swindon5 pts 
10Mike DomingoModus M3 - Ford BDA Nicholson3 pts 

Points table from Autocourse 1976-77 p249. The formal name of the championship was the Philips Car Sound Atlantic Championship but historically this was the South African Drivers Championship and was organised by the South African Motor Racing Club (SAMRaC).