Jacques Couture in his Lotus 69 at Mont-Tremblant in August 1971.  Copyright Bruce Stewart 2017.  Used with permission.

Molson Quebec Formula B 1971

The Molson Quebec series continued into 1971 but it has proved difficult to get a complete picture of the season. The main contenders, as in the new national FB series, were Jacques Couture and Dave McConnell in a pair of new Lotus 69s (called 69Bs) and Brian Robertson in a Fred Opert Canada Brabham BT35. The three were virtually inseparable over the season but the March 71BMs also proved very quick.

A table after the 15 August race showed a seven-round series with races on 16 May, 31 May, 4 Jul, 15 Aug, 29 Aug, 12 Sep and 9 Oct. Dominic St-Jean's excellent autocourse.ca has been our sources for the September and October races, the season-decider being a race at the new Circuit Ste-Croix at Ste-Croix de Lotbinière, Québec. David McConnell had won the penultimate round from teammate Couture and held a one-point advantage for the title. Like the Players round the weekend before at Westwood, the Ste-Croix race was held in pouring rain and again Couture failed to make the start, this time because of an accident. So McConnell cruised to victory against a very weakened field and clinched the Molson title.

The races

16 May 1971 > Mont-Tremblant

30 May 1971 > Mont-Tremblant

04 Jul 1971 > Mont-Tremblant

15 Aug 1971 > Mont-Tremblant

29 Aug 1971 > Trois-Rivières

12 Sep 1971 > Mont-Tremblant

10 Oct 1971 > Circuit Ste-Croix

1971 Molson Championship (Quebec Region Formula Cars) table

1David McConnellLotus 69 'B' - Ford twin cam109 pts 
2Jacques CoutureLotus 69 'B' - Ford twin cam88 pts 
3Brian RobertsonBrabham BT35 - Ford twin cam75 pts 
4Ian CoristineMarch 71BM - Ford twin cam54 pts 
5John PowellChevron B17B - Ford twin cam50 pts 
6Randy FraserMarch 71BM - Ford twin cam38 pts 
7Bill EaglesChevron B15 - Ford twin cam26 pts 
8Bill Alsup(Formula Ford) Caldwell20 pts 
9Wilson SouthamMarch 71BM - Ford twin cam18 pts 
10Eligio SiconolfiLotus 59 - Ford twin cam17 pts 

With the success of the Players national championship, the Molson series did not continue in 1972.