Doug Brenner in his Chevron B15B at Riverside late 1970.  Copyright Doug Brenner 2012.  Used with permission.

Southern Pacific SCCA Formula B 1970

Max Mizejewski found that his 1967 ex-F2 Lola T100 was the most potent car in Southern Pacific Formula B, winning the divisional title from Greg Gosar who started the season in an equally aged Lotus 41C, probably one of the twin cam-propelled 41Cs that came to the US in 1967. The early-season pace setters were Jay Jamison in his newly-acquired Brabham BT29, Doug Brenner in the brand new Chevron B15B with which Reine Wisell had won the Sebring Pro race at the end of December, and Jack Byers in his usual McLaren M4A. All three left the series after the first three races, Jamison and Brenner to follow the Pro FB series and Byers to move up to Formula 5000 with a Lola T190.

With the big guns following the Pro series, the two summer Riverside rounds fell to young David Jaques' "Mattel", the ex-Hap Sharp Brabham BT2 rebuilt after Earl Jones' accident in it in 1965, and 1969 FC champion Tito D'Oporto in the one-off ex-F3 LeGrand Mk 5, but when Mizejewski and Gosar returned for the fall races, they quickly took control. Mizejewski was second in class at Bonneville behind NPDiv invader Mike Hansen and then won the class at Ontario and Phoenix. Gosar had acquired a Winkelmann over the summer but was still no match for the Lola, finishing second in each of the final two races. The points he earned out of division meant he remained in touch, forcing Mizejewski to take in the final NPDiv National at Stead AFB to ensure he could not be caught.

Final standings

1. Max Mizejewski Lola (T100) CSCC 39 pts *
2. Greg Gosar Lotus 41C and Winkelmann Arizona 32 pts *
3. David Jaques Mattel (Brabham BT2) CSCC 24 pts
4. Douglas Brenner Chevron (B15B) CSCC 18 pts
5. Jack Byers McLaren (M4B) SD 14 pts
6. Tito D'Oporto LeGrand (Mk 5) CSCC 12 pts
7. Jay Jamison Brabham (BT29) SD 12 pts
8. Wayne Messier Lotus CSCC 6 pts
9. Stefan Rzesnowiecky Winkelmann CSCC 6 pts
10. Steve Cole Lotus CSCC 6 pts
11. Joe Alves Chevron (B14) CSCC 4 pts
12. Terry Hogan Brabham CSCC 4 pts
13. John Coolick Brabham CSCC 4 pts
14. Robert Ilg Winkelmann Utah 3 pts
15. Ed MacGrotty Lotus CSCC 3 pts *
16. John Kube Merlyn Ariz Bdr 1 pt
17. Dino Dioguardi LeGrand CSCC 1 pt
18. Judd Margurian McLaren CSCC 1 pt
19. W.J. Dunbar Merlyn Arizona 1 pt
20. Charles Kissinger Beach CSCC 1 pt

Data correct at 12 October 1970.

* Indicates total includes points earned out of home divisions.

1970 Schedule

01 Feb 1970Holtville AerodromeSan Diego Region
01 Mar 1970Phoenix International RacewayArizona Region
15 Mar 1970Willow SpringsCal Club Region
31 May 1970RiversideCal Club Region
05 Jul 1970RiversideCal Club Region
07 Sep 1970Bonneville Raceway Park Utah Region
20 Sep 1970Ontario Motor SpeedwayCal Club Region
27 Sep 1970Phoenix International RacewayArizona Region

Southern Pacific Division sources

Although Los Angeles was one of the homes of American motor racing, we have few sources of information for southern Californian FB racing in this period. Competition Press & Autoweek had some regional coverage up to 1973 and Formula magazine then took over for a period in the mid-1970s. However, we are keen to acquire or borrow 1960s, 1970s and 1980s copies of SCCA regional publications from this Division. The key ones are:

  • California Sportscar [1960s] (California Sports Car Club)
  • Post Grid [1969-1970] (California Sports Car Club Region)
  • Finish Line [from 1971] (California Sports Car Club Region)
  • Gridlines (San Diego Region)

We are also keen to get scans of entry lists from SCCA Nationals for this division.